Rosie AMPS:63 Did the wrong thing +1:94 +2:79 +3.5:93 +4.75:89 +5.5:83 PMPS:110 +4:85

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA, May 26, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

    Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Yesterday

    Rosie had a preshot of 63 today and that was lower than her bed check of 93.

    If we had been more awake, we would have been thinking more clearly, but DH said he was not comfortable shooting 1u and gave her 0.75. It sounded good since we know she has been on an artificially high dose since the antibiotics and we have been worried she would come down suddenly.

    I realized almost immediately that we should have stalled and retested without feeding. :(

    What should we do now? Get a +1 or +2? She ate a bit over 1/2 small can of Wellness Low carb food.

    Feeling like a jerk but awake now!
     
  2. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Get a test at +1 and see what the numbers tell you. I would monitor closely and let the numbers guide you.
     
  3. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Hey Lydia, yes, get a +1 and steer her as you need to. If the +1 is the same or lower, it could indicate an active cycle and you will need to be vigilant. Do you have HC food on hand?

    No need to feel like a jerk. You know how to keep her safe and if you need to you can always abort the cycle.
     
    jayla-n-Drevon likes this.
  4. Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

    Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Thanks, Sienne. And I have the stickies about low preshot printed out and sitting right where her little mug of syringes is. The spot we draw the shot. I just was not with it.
     
  5. Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

    Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Bobbie, I have high carb in abundance and syrup should it come to that.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  6. Shoeskitty-GA

    Shoeskitty-GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Hang in there. You know how to handle this.
     
  7. Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

    Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Thanks, Sandi! Apparently knowing and doing are two different things! LOL!
     
  8. Mandarin'sMom

    Mandarin'sMom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    And don't forget to take a deep breath! :bighug:
     
  9. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Don't be too hard on yourself. You know how to take care of Rosie. She may just surprise you and surf safe greens today. :bighug:
     
  10. Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

    Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Well, +1 is 94. So I gave her more LC which she ate happily.

    Since she came up this much (or the 63 was a bad test?) in an hour with 6% food, should we test at +2 or wait and do +3?

    I think I answered my own question. We should do the +2 to be safe. :)
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2016
    jayla-n-Drevon and Gill & George like this.
  11. Chrys & Stomper

    Chrys & Stomper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Hope she surfs safely Lydia. I would do the +2 to be safe and then take it from there :bighug:
     
  12. Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

    Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Well, +2 was 79 and she ate some more LC. Will go for a +3.5
     
    Chrys & Stomper likes this.
  13. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Surf safely Rosie ....find a nice calm stream! No harm in shooting the reduced dose...she may be ready for it anyway. Just keep an eye on her as you are and everything will work out.
     
  14. Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

    Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Still on her board at +3.5 but may be considering coming on shore.
     
  15. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    What I found with Boomer when I shot low was that he didn't drop nearly as much as when I shot higher numbers. It doesn't make a lot of sense but I had been told that over and over again and it's absolutely true. Rosie will be fine and you know exactly what to do if her numbers drop. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  16. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Lovely example of shoot low to stay low! :D Amazing how much we work on auto pilot first thing in the morning.
     
  17. Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

    Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I guess we will stay with this stolen reduction unless she goes way up. (Although she may bounce) But we have been expecting her to drop back to her 0.5 dosage soon now that the antibiotics are history.
     
  18. Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

    Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I cannot tell you what a zoo it is here today. For the first time in ages, I could not get the stick to fill so I do not knoq if either of the values are right at +4.75 (89 or 104). DH is testing again at +5.5 then we hope to leave the poor Contessa alone for a while. That's what Rosie said to us, although it was WAY less polite.
     
  19. Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

    Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    And I think the 89 was right, given that we have an 89 at +5.5.
     
  20. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Screw up or not, Miss Rosie sure is looking great today!!!:D:D:D

    Way to hang onto that surfboard Rosie.....let's see how long you can stay up!!
     
  21. jayla-n-Drevon

    jayla-n-Drevon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
  22. Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

    Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Rosie had a lovely day today with a pretty PMPS and a +4 that is nicely green but allows beans to go to bed.

    And she is walking so much better. Perhaps the cosequin is working? She has been on glucosamine/msm supplements before but they were chews and I dsicontinued them when she was diagnosed with diabetes because who knows what's really in them carb wise.
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2016
    Shoeskitty-GA likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page