? Sam's very sick with fever

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sam & Esse

Member
Hello,

Sam's been in remission since last August. This Monday morning his appetite was down, and he was acting tired. By mid-day he stopped eating and drinking, and I was assist feeding him by Monday evening. Tuesday he went into the vet. He had a fever of 105.1, and was given SQ fluids. Labs were drawn, including clotting tests in case one of the neighbors went crazy with rat poison, complete x-rays taken, urinalysis. Also given vitamin K shot just in case. He was prescribed Orbax antibiotic, Bupe (.5ml BID), and I could use the Zofran I have at home at 2mg BID.

The Orbax has given Sam the most terrible diarrhea, that just oozes out of the poor boy beyond his control. He's still not eating on his own, so he was hospitalized for the day yesterday. Fever up to 105.8. IV fluids administered, Onsior given (12mg), metronidazole given. All tests came back good, except very high neutrophils -- it looks like at the expense of every other type of white blood cell :(

He was released back to us last night with his temp down to 101.9, and the IV cath still in. Still on Orbax, metronidazole, bupe, Pepcid, Mirataz, was told to discontinue Zofran. He drank water on his own when he got back home, and took 2 small bites of his friskies. After that, everything's been assisted fed.

Took back to vet this morning, re-hopsitalized with temp of 106. They'll give Onsior once the 24 hour wait time is up. Since Sam's BG has been up this entire time, his doctor discussed me restarting insulin tomorrow morning, although she thinks his increased blood sugar is strictly illness influenced. She also said sometimes cats will get a fever with no known cause. Or no cause that can be discovered...

Does anyone have any experience with this? Anything like this? How long should I try helping Sam battle this fever? The poor boy is miserable, I don't want to subject him to a feeding tube if the fever can't be brought under control... I'm just running out of hope, and praying for a miracle. His QoL just isn't there at this point :arghh: I've updated his labs on his SS.

--And the entire clinic is tip-toeing around the idea of Covid-19, although his lungs are clear on the x-ray. Everyone is so scared. Yesterday, 3 hours after his morning bupe, the vet rated his pain level at 2/4. That breaks my heart.

@Marje and Gracie
@Larry and Kitties
 
Hello,

Sam's been in remission since last August. This Monday morning his appetite was down, and he was acting tired. By mid-day he stopped eating and drinking, and I was assist feeding him by Monday evening. Tuesday he went into the vet. He had a fever of 105.1, and was given SQ fluids. Labs were drawn, including clotting tests in case one of the neighbors went crazy with rat poison, complete x-rays taken, urinalysis. Also given vitamin K shot just in case. He was prescribed Orbax antibiotic, Bupe (.5ml BID), and I could use the Zofran I have at home at 2mg BID.

The Orbax has given Sam the most terrible diarrhea, that just oozes out of the poor boy beyond his control. He's still not eating on his own, so he was hospitalized for the day yesterday. Fever up to 105.8. IV fluids administered, Onsior given (12mg), metronidazole given. All tests came back good, except very high neutrophils -- it looks like at the expense of every other type of white blood cell :(

He was released back to us last night with his temp down to 101.9, and the IV cath still in. Still on Orbax, metronidazole, bupe, Pepcid, Mirataz, was told to discontinue Zofran. He drank water on his own when he got back home, and took 2 small bites of his friskies. After that, everything's been assisted fed.

Took back to vet this morning, re-hopsitalized with temp of 106. They'll give Onsior once the 24 hour wait time is up. Since Sam's BG has been up this entire time, his doctor discussed me restarting insulin tomorrow morning, although she thinks his increased blood sugar is strictly illness influenced. She also said sometimes cats will get a fever with no known cause. Or no cause that can be discovered...

Does anyone have any experience with this? Anything like this? How long should I try helping Sam battle this fever? The poor boy is miserable, I don't want to subject him to a feeding tube if the fever can't be brought under control... I'm just running out of hope, and praying for a miracle. His QoL just isn't there at this point :arghh: I've updated his labs on his SS.

--And the entire clinic is tip-toeing around the idea of Covid-19, although his lungs are clear on the x-ray. Everyone is so scared. Yesterday, 3 hours after his morning bupe, the vet rated his pain level at 2/4. That breaks my heart.

@Marje and Gracie
@Larry and Kitties
I am so very sorry to hear that Sam is so sick and send tons and tons of healing vines.

The only time I’ve had a cat with fever was when my boy, now ten, had an upper respiratory infection as a kitten. There is obviously some kind of infection going on with Sam but it is way outside of my knowledge base. Other than his WBCs, I don’t see anything else in his labs that are terribly out of whack that would point to anything that I would know of.

Antibiotics do need time to work. If he still has diarrhea, you might want to give him probiotics including Saccharomyces boulardi. The link is on an IBD website but the info for giving probiotics is good in terms of dosing for diarrhea. You can mix them up in a syringe with water and a little puréed food as you assist feed and give them but just be sure you give them separated from antibiotics by a couple hours.

From my understanding of COVID19 and pets (I just listened to a webinar last week offered through IDEXX), Sam would have had to come into contact with someone or another pet that had the virus. If he doesn’t go outside at all and no one in your home has tested positive or has been exposed, I’d think it unlikely. Of course, if someone has been unknowingly exposed and has been able to stave off the virus but carries it, it could have been passed to Sam. We are all on such unchartered waters now.

I hope Larry might have more ideas regarding the labs in regard to WBCs. There are so many different things that can cause those levels to be up or down.

I would probably start some insulin as you do not want to also being dealing with ketones and DKA.

Prayers and vines for your little buddy.
 
The only time I’ve had a cat with fever was when my boy, now ten, had an upper respiratory infection as a kitten. There is obviously some kind of infection going on with Sam but it is way outside of my knowledge base. Other than his WBCs, I don’t see anything else in his labs that are terribly out of whack that would point to anything that I would know of.

:bighug::bighug: Thank you for looking. I think I'm hoping that something will magically appear on his labs, that some one will be able to go, Aha! It just tears me apart that a cat that's apparently really healthy might die from a fever with no apparent origin.

Antibiotics do need time to work. If he still has diarrhea, you might want to give him probiotics including Saccharomyces boulardi. The link is on an IBD website but the info for giving probiotics is good in terms of dosing for diarrhea. You can mix them up in a syringe with water and a little puréed food as you assist feed and give them but just be sure you give them separated from antibiotics by a couple hours.

I've been getting some S. boulardii into him twice a day -- two hours after the Orbax in the evening, and again in the morning. But he's been fighting me on it, doing his best to let it run out of his mouth, even when blended with pate. I've also been using the Jackson Galaxy probiotics, but I think that's more to make the food palatable for him. I've never had an antibiotic chew through an animal like this Orbax is. I practically begged Sam's doctor to find some way to prove if the infection was viral or bacterial in the hopes I could stop the Orbax. Even with blood mixed in with the mucus, she was adamant we have to keep him on it :arghh: I will read through the page you linked thoroughly.

From my understanding of COVID19 and pets (I just listened to a webinar last week offered through IDEXX), Sam would have had to come into contact with someone or another pet that had the virus. If he doesn’t go outside at all and no one in your home has tested positive or has been exposed, I’d think it unlikely. Of course, if someone has been unknowingly exposed and has been able to stave off the virus but carries it, it could have been passed to Sam. We are all on such unchartered waters now.

Sam had been spending a lot of time in our back yard hunting gophers (even though he has no teeth). Neighbors (we call them the bad neighbors) have been tossing close to a dozen balls over the wall each day, candy wrappers, papers, tissues!!! and they've been staying in their back yard close to 18 hours each day. :mad: Right now, the valley I'm in is seeing about 50 new cases a day. When I dropped Sam off this morning, we were asked again if anyone in the family was coughing, or had fever. And I replied, "No, but the neighbors have been hacking away :blackeye:" They're the reason we had to check Sam for rat poison. I've begged them not to use it, especially considering the feral colony that lives on the block.

I'll restart insulin in the morning, although I'm not sure how the Tresiba will work starting out. With it being so hard to get food into Sam, I'm thinking .5u to begin with, although it took two weeks for the Tresiba to really take affect when I started him on it last time.

Thank you so much for the prayers and vines. Sam needs as much help as he can get :bighug::bighug:
 
If he still has diarrhea, you might want to give him probiotics including Saccharomyces boulardi. The link is on an IBD website but the info for giving probiotics is good in terms of dosing for diarrhea.

I see that the site recommends MOS along with the S. boulardii. How important is it? The shipping times on the Jarrow brand makes me think it wouldn't get here in time to do Sam any good. But I can certainly increase the number of times a day I'm giving Sam the S. boulardii (I have the NOW brand of it).

:bighug: And I tried tagging you again, but the tagging feature kept cutting off your name, so I re-quoted you :bighug: @Marje and Gracie ...And for some reason, that tag <-- worked. Thank you so much for your help and time.
 
I see that the site recommends MOS along with the S. boulardii. How important is it? The shipping times on the Jarrow brand makes me think it wouldn't get here in time to do Sam any good. But I can certainly increase the number of times a day I'm giving Sam the S. boulardii (I have the NOW brand of it).

:bighug: And I tried tagging you again, but the tagging feature kept cutting off your name, so I re-quoted you :bighug: @Marje and Gracie ...And for some reason, that tag <-- worked. Thank you so much for your help and time.
MOS is very effective but it also has a bad taste so you might want to just stick with the other. However, I’d try the emergency stop directions. I’ve had good luck when I’ve had to use that instead of just dosing twice a day.

Ugh on your neighbors....I am so very sorry. I don’t know how close someone has to be to a pet to transmit the virus. I’m assuming if they cough hard enough and he’s within about six feet or they cough on something he puts in his mouth, it could transmit it.

How is he tonight? More vines and prayers.
 
Sam's back home for the night, and I just finished his first round of medications :blackeye: For a cat that can't walk to the potty pot, he's pretty feisty.

So, this morning his fever spiked at 106.3 An hour after the IV was started he was around 105.5 (I didn't get the medical notes today; I thought I had them, but it was the stupid invoice). Given Onsior, and that brought him down first to around 101.6, then before they took him off the IV his final temperature check was 100.4 Hands together with fingers crossed that this morning was a final spike -- his body maybe gaining an edge over the infection. Oh, I really hope so.

Diarrhea is still a big issue; @Marje and Gracie I will absolutely be doing the emergency stop directions. Sam's poor bum needs a break, and he really needs the few calories I'm getting into him.

When he got home he took a few licks of the probiotic "gravy" I make for him, took a tentative nibble of his friskies, but then lost all interest. Got the probiotic syringed into him (5ml) and another 5ml of pate mixed with water. :( He needs so much more, but he's tired of nasty medicines in his mouth, and the syringe is his enemy now.

Your neighbors sound like real idiots , I really can't say what I would call them on here, call the police and show them all the garbage they are throwing into your yard, especially with this virus . I know you probably don't want trouble with them, but no way would I put up with that. I'm praying for your Sam

:facepalm: Not only have the police been called repeatedly on them, I send a very interested detective security footage of their drug deals. :banghead: I think the sheriffs consider them little fish, though, and are hoping that they'll lead them to bigger game. Thank you again for your prayers! I feel that the good lord has a lot of people talking to him at this time, and Sam could certainly use a little help to stand out in the crowd. :oops: I'm not sure if this thinking is disrespectful, but it's how I feel. I start out each of my prayers this week with, "Lord, I know you're terribly busy, but if you get a chance to stand by Sam this day/night, it would mean the world to us."

You might want to think about a faster acting in-and-out type insulin for Sam. Something like Vetsulin/Caninsulin, Prozinc or even NPH insulin, to get any high BG readings down fast.

I've been giving this quite a bit of thought, actually. Sam reacts badly to Prozinc -- do you happen to know if NPH has any associated sting to it? I might be able to pick that up at Walmart.

MOS is very effective but it also has a bad taste so you might want to just stick with the other. However, I’d try the emergency stop directions. I’ve had good luck when I’ve had to use that instead of just dosing twice a day.

Ugh on your neighbors....I am so very sorry. I don’t know how close someone has to be to a pet to transmit the virus. I’m assuming if they cough hard enough and he’s within about six feet or they cough on something he puts in his mouth, it could transmit it.

How is he tonight? More vines and prayers.

:bighug::bighug: I have hope, with his fever being down this evening. That's more than I had this morning. I'll go ahead and place the order for the S. boulardii, then I'll have it on hand if I need it in the future. Thank you so much!

I'll be trying to get more food down Sam through the night. He's topping out at 5ml at a time... And he needs at least 9 oz to maintain -- and that's when his sugar's under control. I'll be doing my best to get a ketone test this evening as well.
 
Sam's back home for the night, and I just finished his first round of medications :blackeye: For a cat that can't walk to the potty pot, he's pretty feisty.

So, this morning his fever spiked at 106.3 An hour after the IV was started he was around 105.5 (I didn't get the medical notes today; I thought I had them, but it was the stupid invoice). Given Onsior, and that brought him down first to around 101.6, then before they took him off the IV his final temperature check was 100.4 Hands together with fingers crossed that this morning was a final spike -- his body maybe gaining an edge over the infection. Oh, I really hope so.

Diarrhea is still a big issue; @Marje and Gracie I will absolutely be doing the emergency stop directions. Sam's poor bum needs a break, and he really needs the few calories I'm getting into him.

When he got home he took a few licks of the probiotic "gravy" I make for him, took a tentative nibble of his friskies, but then lost all interest. Got the probiotic syringed into him (5ml) and another 5ml of pate mixed with water. :( He needs so much more, but he's tired of nasty medicines in his mouth, and the syringe is his enemy now.

:facepalm: Not only have the police been called repeatedly on them, I send a very interested detective security footage of their drug deals. :banghead: I think the sheriffs consider them little fish, though, and are hoping that they'll lead them to bigger game. Thank you again for your prayers! I feel that the good lord has a lot of people talking to him at this time, and Sam could certainly use a little help to stand out in the crowd. :oops: I'm not sure if this thinking is disrespectful, but it's how I feel. I start out each of my prayers this week with, "Lord, I know you're terribly busy, but if you get a chance to stand by Sam this day/night, it would mean the world to us."

I've been giving this quite a bit of thought, actually. Sam reacts badly to Prozinc -- do you happen to know if NPH has any associated sting to it? I might be able to pick that up at Walmart.

:bighug::bighug: I have hope, with his fever being down this evening. That's more than I had this morning. I'll go ahead and place the order for the S. boulardii, then I'll have it on hand if I need it in the future. Thank you so much!

I'll be trying to get more food down Sam through the night. He's topping out at 5ml at a time... And he needs at least 9 oz to maintain -- and that's when his sugar's under control. I'll be doing my best to get a ketone test this evening as well.
Great news and great job! If you think his fever is going up, you can also dampen a towel with cool water and try and wrap him in it. If he won’t let you do that, just try to hold it on him or move it through his fur.

I hope the emergency stop can help and you can get food in him. I actually think the zofran is much better for controlling nausea than anything else. Right now, he’s not getting anything for that. BTW, metronidazole is also an antibiotic. Neither of my cats can take it....it makes them sick.
 
Sam seems a little better this morning. His fever is in the 104 range, but he's accepting his syringe feeding better today. Vet agreed to let me bring Sam back home after his morning check in, as long as I keep track of his temperature. So he's on the bed, taking up the 'momma' spot. I was given one last dose of Onsior that I can give him at 4:00 pm today if his fever is still above 103. Still having diarrhea; trying to get the S. boulardii in him, but this morning's dose before heading to the vet was thrown up along with a lot of mucus. On the plus side, he's made it to the potty pot for all his business; I haven't had to carry him, which is huge.

Great news and great job! If you think his fever is going up, you can also dampen a towel with cool water and try and wrap him in it. If he won’t let you do that, just try to hold it on him or move it through his fur.

I hope the emergency stop can help and you can get food in him. I actually think the zofran is much better for controlling nausea than anything else. Right now, he’s not getting anything for that. BTW, metronidazole is also an antibiotic. Neither of my cats can take it....it makes them sick.

:bighug: Thank you! I've started using a wet over-sized wash cloth, and I think it's helping. I think I'll restart the Zofran as well a little later this afternoon. The vet's advice if Sam's fever continues is to admit him into a 24-hour emergency care facility, but there's no way of covering that kind of expense right now. I wanted to shriek, "You're already charging me 300x the Chewy price for the Onsior! You haven't left me any choice but home care for now!" :( I know veterinary clinics have high overhead, but it stings when you can so easily look up the price of something online.

BG was 262 this morning, so I went ahead and gave 1u Tresiba. +4.5 was 210. Will continue to check throughout the day.
 
I've been giving this quite a bit of thought, actually. Sam reacts badly to Prozinc -- do you happen to know if NPH has any associated sting to it? I might be able to pick that up at Walmart.
I do not know if NPH has a sting associated with it. Never had a cat that was on a high dose of the NPH insulin. Fast acting, usually only lasts 6-8 hours in a cat, but if your cat needs insulin right away, and the Tresiba takes weeks to have any sort of an effect on Sam, the NPH insulin is something you might want to consider.

NPH insulins are used more often for cats in DKA and/or high ketones, to get those BG numbers down fast.

Perhaps @Larry and Kitties knows if NPH insulins have a sting. He's had several of his diabetic cats on the NPH type insulins.

Sending more prayers and get better vines to Sam.
 
I do not know if NPH has a sting associated with it. Never had a cat that was on a high dose of the NPH insulin.
I did not notice any stingign when injecting MurrFee with a high dose of N insulin. He had acromegaly and at the end he was on 25 units H and 25 units Levemir twice daily.

Regarding Sams' problem, one has to kepp his temperature down. The high neutrophil indicates an infection. Usually, the temperature drops fast when on antibiotics. I wouod talk to your vet about trying another antibiotic.
 
Good morning :) Well, good morning-ish for Sam. Yesterday his fever kept going down, and we ended the day at 102.3 -- so technically, no longer febrile. The emergency stop seemed to be working, he had no BMs during the day, but one extremely large liquid discharge sometime between 9:00 pm and 4:00 am this morning. In the potty pot -- so yay there, I suppose? Either the reduction of fever or the restarting of Tresiba has brought his BG#s down to near normal.

This morning's temp was 101.7. :( But when I started breakfast for him with the Flagyl he vomited. ...And it looked like nothing could have left his stomach since the day before. Incredible amounts of mucus, bile, and something black that was swirled through the whole mess. Not his hair, I checked through my magnifying goggles :blackeye: A vet technician is supposed to call this morning to get an update, and I'll stress how very not right this vomit was. Stopping Flagyl and Pepcid for now. @Marje and Gracie do you think restarting the Zofran would be okay, or discuss with the vet on duty today? (My vet won't be back until Tuesday.) I'm also thinking of giving a bit of S. boulardii with his next feeding; I only gave .25u of Tresiba this morning -- but that was before the VoEP (vomit of epic porportions). I was given a can of Hills ID, and a few days ago I gave some to Sam -- but with his blood sugar looking better I'm hesitant to add it back in, even if it's supposed to be more easily digestible...

:banghead: So much guess work. I guess the biggest victory to celebrate is that we've gone 24 hours now since the last bottom bath.

Nothing to add but my prayers and healing vines for Sam. :bighug:

:bighug::bighug: Thank you! We appreciate them all, and truly believe they are helping!

I do not know if NPH has a sting associated with it. Never had a cat that was on a high dose of the NPH insulin. Fast acting, usually only lasts 6-8 hours in a cat, but if your cat needs insulin right away, and the Tresiba takes weeks to have any sort of an effect on Sam, the NPH insulin is something you might want to consider.

NPH insulins are used more often for cats in DKA and/or high ketones, to get those BG numbers down fast.

Sam's vet wanted us to go with Tresiba first, since we know he hasn't had any negative reaction to it in the past. Thank goodness, it looks like everyone's prayers are helping, and the Tresiba decided to start working with the first shot. I'm about in tears that at least one of Sam's problems might be under my control. Thank you for more information on NPH! :bighug:

I did not notice any stingign when injecting MurrFee with a high dose of N insulin. He had acromegaly and at the end he was on 25 units H and 25 units Levemir twice daily.

Regarding Sams' problem, one has to kepp his temperature down. The high neutrophil indicates an infection. Usually, the temperature drops fast when on antibiotics. I wouod talk to your vet about trying another antibiotic.

:bighug: Thank you for letting me know MurrFee did not appear to feel any sting with the N. It opens up my options with Sam in the future if needed. With Sam's temperature slowly coming down yesterday, Sam's vet wants to stick with the Orbax -- but I'm really afraid of what it's doing to his intestinal track. Today will be day 7 of a 10 day course.

Of course, I read about fevers of unexplained origin last night, and now I'm worrying myself sick that the fever might come back. :facepalm: A bit too soon to worry about it, considering Sam hasn't started eating on his own yet.

Praying for Sam to keep improving:bighug:

:bighug: Thank you. It's like two steps forward, three steps back, a step to the side, and a hop, skip and a jump onto the couch lol! :bighug::bighug:
 
Ummm this might have been suggested but has Sam been xrayed for blockage??? I'm sorry if this has been asked and answered. The black swirling stuff could be blood I suppose. sigh I an SO SORRY Sam is going through this, YOU as well! I think I would be crazy at this point should it happen to my Zoe. Hope my question wasnt a stupid one that will make you worry more sigh:(
 
Ummm this might have been suggested but has Sam been xrayed for blockage??? I'm sorry if this has been asked and answered. The black swirling stuff could be blood I suppose. sigh I an SO SORRY Sam is going through this, YOU as well! I think I would be crazy at this point should it happen to my Zoe. Hope my question wasnt a stupid one that will make you worry more sigh:(

Not stupid at all! :bighug::bighug: Full chest and abdominal x-rays were taken on Tuesday, and the radiologist at IDEXX didn't see anything. No blockages, tumours, abscesses; everything looked normal. Sam's doctor said we might consider an ultrasound if his fever didn't break... An ultrasound might still be on the table, I just have no idea at this point how I'll pay for it :( one symptom gets better, and something else pops up. :bighug::bighug:
 
It's like two steps forward, three steps back, a step to the side, and a hop, skip and a jump onto the couch lol!
But at least there is some "movement" and Sam's fever is gone.

Come on Sam!!!! The power of prayer is on your side here.
Will your Vet take payments? Not many will but they may in your case .

Doesn't hurt to ask. Worst that can happen, is that your vet says no.
 
Good morning :bighug:

Sam's temperature continues to creep down -- 101.3 this morning, so well within "normal" range, although Sam's usual range is 100.4-100.9 After I posted yesterday morning's update, Sam had a horrific liquid diarrhea -- that seemed a match to his horrific vomit earlier in the morning, in that it was black, and just plain wrong. I really think this was a turning point for him, though. Afterwards he started eating small amounts of his Friskies on his own. Granted, he's not eating nearly enough -- but he's feeling good enough to be surly with me, and tell me he's a big boy that can eat and drink fine on his own, thank you very much! Lol! He's started lightly grooming himself, and moving a little bit around the house, although he's still very weak and wobbly. The amount of muscle wasting on his legs is atrocious :( He's got little stick legs now, and a great big barrel chest and Santa belly. Like two separate cats stuck together :confused: A little spot of diarrhea last night, but it was closer to being a normal color. Not quite -- but closer.

And early this morning, after I got up to offer him a bite to eat, he crawled up on my chest and rested his forehead between my lips and chin, and made kitty bread on my neck, and purred! I can't tell you how much I've missed his purring!

I'm leaning towards the belief that he picked up a toxin somewhere, either something he ate, or some bacteria or other microbe that had settled into his digestive track... But the truth is, I'll probably never know what happened. I'm just so happy that he's improved! Thank you all for your prayers and support! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Will your Vet take payments? Not many will but they may in your case . Sending MAJOR prayers and positives for Sam!

:bighug: I'm hopeful that with Sam improving an ultrasound won't be necessary. My vet doesn't do them, and refers them to the clinic's sister-hospital. But they don't know me there :( I would of course ask if they'd take payments... I wish there wasn't such a huge mark-up on everything here. I was charged $47 for a bag of LRS to keep Sam hydrated, and Chewy sells them for around $8? I swear, if things ever get remotely close to being back to normal, I'm demanding a prescription so I can have some of this stuff on hand. Thank you so much for your prayers!:bighug:

Prayers still coming your way for Sam♥

:bighug: Thank you! I know that they've helped! Sam and I both thank you!

Thinking of you and Sam. Hoping for a speedy recovery.

Thank you! :bighug: I'm not sure the recovery will be fast, but today I'm very hopeful that there will be a recovery. :bighug:

Still keeping you guys in my prayers :bighug:

:bighug: Thank you, I know in my heart that Sam wouldn't be doing as good as he is, without the support, prayers, and well-wishes of the board! :bighug:

But at least there is some "movement" and Sam's fever is gone.

Come on Sam!!!! The power of prayer is on your side here.

:bighug: It is! With Sam beginning to eat on his own, I really feel he's going to pull through. I'll need to find cat PT videos on how to get some muscle back on his legs, once his recovery is far enough along. Bless you! :bighug:

Hoping Sam has had a good day and the diarrhea is improving.

Thank you! :bighug: Sam actually started sleeping on his back again yesterday, letting his belly show. And thank you for pointing me in the direction of the emergency stop protocol. It's helping, for sure!

Prayers and vines for Sam. How is he doing today?

Thank you! :bighug: Sam's eating small bits on his own, and his purr is back -- even if it's quiet and a little unsure. I'm going to go through the whole day with a smile on my face, now that his purr is back! :bighug:

Wish I had some kind of advice to give but I don’t. :(

Sending hugs to you both and lots of healing vibes.

Thank you! :bighug::bighug: The scary thing is -- even the vet didn't have much in the way of advice. She had reached the end of her knowledge, and felt the next step was to admit Sam into a 24-hour care facility. Without FDMB and all the wonderful people here... I don't think Sam would be with me today.

Bless you all!
 
Fantastic news! Thanks for updating us. I’m glad he’s getting better.

Once you are no longer doing the emergency stop on the S boulardi, you might want to go to therapeutic dosing and then when all is back to normal, maintenance dosing. It won’t hurt to have him on a low maintenance dose twice a day for a bit.

More vines for a fast, complete recovery!!
 
Sam's morning report is pretty good :D Over the day yesterday he ate a bit over half a can of Friskies, and two strips of mashed up ahi tuna from a fillet I cooked him. There were four bits of diarrhea, but we've graduated to pudding poo :joyful: I probably shouldn't be so excited by that, lol! This morning's temp was 100.8, so very nice to see it below 101! His BG is still running a bit high; so it's looking more likely he's either back on the juice, or will need a longer period of insulin support before slipping back into remission. Hard to tell at this point. And he wanted to go outside this morning! We let him out on the driveway for a few minutes, but I don't know if I'll ever allow him access to the back yard again :blackeye: I can't trust that it's safe for him.

He's still very weak, and the wobbles start at about step four when he's walking, but he's really focused on grooming; apparently I was doing a good enough job in his opinion :p Three more days of antibiotic, and fingers crossed that the fever doesn't return once the course is finished.

This is great news! But I will still be keeping the prayers yet for you guys. I’m so happy that you got that little bit if kitty lovin too! Makes all the difference. :bighug::bighug: Please give him some scritches from me and tell him I said he had to eat more! ;)

Extra scritches given! Thank you so much for keeping Sam in your prayers :bighug:

Continued prayers here as well! Go Sam GO!

:bighug: Thank you! Sam's taking your advice, and trying to talk his way outside :cat: "I'm going mom, just open that door!"

Fantastic news! Thanks for updating us. I’m glad he’s getting better.

Once you are no longer doing the emergency stop on the S boulardi, you might want to go to therapeutic dosing and then when all is back to normal, maintenance dosing. It won’t hurt to have him on a low maintenance dose twice a day for a bit.

More vines for a fast, complete recovery!!

:bighug: Thank you! I'm not sure if I should keep up with the emergency stop until after his last dose of antibiotic, since he's not to the solid BM stage yet. But I will be following up with therapeutic dosing, probably for two weeks or so depending on how his movements look, then keep him on maintenance dosing... forever? I have a suspicion that his poor digestive track might never be the same from this, and will need all the gentle support it can get. Thank you so much for your help and advice! I've got the S. boulardii with MOS in my Amazon cart; looking at the size 3 gel caps to put it into. He's now taking the plain S. boulardii well, but if the MOS is bitter I might have a heck of a battle on my hands getting it down him by syringe. One of the huge pluses of Sam's FME is that he can't bite me when I pill him :facepalm:

What wonderful news! Continued prayers and vines for a swift and full recovery. GO SAM!

Thank you! :bighug: It's really wonderful seeing him sleep on his back again. Now I need him to be slightly less floppy when I need to pick him up, and all is good :) Thank you for the prayers and vines, they are greatly appreciated! :bighug:

I'm so over the moon to hear he is doing better, prayers always coming

:bighug: Thank you! Every day I tell Sam about all the wonderful people rooting for him!

Yay yay yay!!!! Go Sam!

Thank you! :bighug: I did a very slow, very gentle happy dance with Sam this morning when his temp came back so good :cat:

So glad that he is doing better! More hugs and healing vibes heading your way! :bighug:

:bighug: Thank you! Now that Sam's eating a little on his own, I've been collapsing to make up for a week's worth of lost sleep lol! And Sam doesn't mind, he's napping right along with me! Wishing Zeke the best with this latest increase!

Thank you, and bless you all for your concern and support for Sam. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
:bighug: Thank you! I'm not sure if I should keep up with the emergency stop until after his last dose of antibiotic, since he's not to the solid BM stage yet. But I will be following up with therapeutic dosing, probably for two weeks or so depending on how his movements look, then keep him on maintenance dosing... forever? I have a suspicion that his poor digestive track might never be the same from this, and will need all the gentle support it can get. Thank you so much for your help and advice! I've got the S. boulardii with MOS in my Amazon cart; looking at the size 3 gel caps to put it into. He's now taking the plain S. boulardii well, but if the MOS is bitter I might have a heck of a battle on my hands getting it down him by syringe. One of the huge pluses of Sam's FME is that he can't bite me when I pill him :facepalm:
I’m really glad things are going better for him and I hope the pudding poo will clear up after the a/b is done.

While I understand the S. boulardi with the MOS is best, I can’t see making my cats miserable if the regular works. It certainly won’t hurt to give him a maintenance dose for life. My Tobey had giardia as a kitten which can predispose a cat to IBD if the CG doesn’t support the intestines so he’s been on a maintenance dose of regular probiotic and the S. boulardi for years. So far so good.

The other thing that is good to use and might help him (although it doesn’t emergency stop as it takes a bit of time to work) is slippery elm bark syrup. If you can get a small amount (like 1/8 c) of the pure powder and mix about 1/4 tsp with enough pure water so that it is a slurry that you can syringe, you can give him that, too. It’s tasteless. Just be sure you separate it from the other meds by two hours.
 
:bighug: Thank you! Now that Sam's eating a little on his own, I've been collapsing to make up for a week's worth of lost sleep lol! And Sam doesn't mind, he's napping right along with me! Wishing Zeke the best with this latest increase!

You get that sleep! With all the worrying and everything you been doing for Sam, you deserve it! :bighug:

Zeke is doing good on his increase so far. This is day 2 of the increase so keeping an eye out for the wonkyness that is sure to come. Had a blue preshot this morning which was nice, haven't seen one of those in a little bit. :)
 
Sam's doing well this morning, although I haven't had a chance yet to take his temp. Yesterday's BMs actually had form! A few ended soft, but it was so exciting seeing something actually poopie shaped lol! :p Stay at home long enough, and just about anything becomes an event to celebrate ;) Sam's grooming, and following me into the kitchen for food :bighug: He also got a bit demanding wanting to go outside yesterday, but besides my fear that he picked up whatever made him so sick outside... it got to 100 degrees :facepalm: I don't think any of us would have been happy out there yesterday.

A nice green start to the morning. Plan on getting a +9 or +10 reading today, before his Orbax dose. I have a suspicion it may be raising his PMPS; couldn't find an ingredient list for it, but malt flavoring is usually achieved with malt :confused: At least there's only 2 more doses of it left, and we'll be finishing it off Thursday afternoon.

I’m really glad things are going better for him and I hope the pudding poo will clear up after the a/b is done.

While I understand the S. boulardi with the MOS is best, I can’t see making my cats miserable if the regular works. It certainly won’t hurt to give him a maintenance dose for life. My Tobey had giardia as a kitten which can predispose a cat to IBD if the CG doesn’t support the intestines so he’s been on a maintenance dose of regular probiotic and the S. boulardi for years. So far so good.

The other thing that is good to use and might help him (although it doesn’t emergency stop as it takes a bit of time to work) is slippery elm bark syrup. If you can get a small amount (like 1/8 c) of the pure powder and mix about 1/4 tsp with enough pure water so that it is a slurry that you can syringe, you can give him that, too. It’s tasteless. Just be sure you separate it from the other meds by two hours.

:bighug: I do like the idea of a permanent maintenance dose. Sam's had trouble on and off with his digestive tract since he was a kitten; I need to learn to stick with a maintenance routine for his sake. I do have powdered SEB, but I'm wondering if it's not quite right. It has a very floral/perfume-y smell to me, and when I took it last month for my own digestive trouble -- it tasted the same way :blackeye: Not a pleasant after-taste to linger for 5 hours afterwards lol! I give it to one of my older cats that's always had problems with small, hard movements. It helps her move them out a bit easier.

Keep going Sam you are making mama very happy

:D He is! I am one happy mama! This morning we cuddled, and I got all the head bumps and purrs. There's not much greater happiness than having my Sam tuck his head under my chin for blissed-out lovin' :cat:

You get that sleep! With all the worrying and everything you been doing for Sam, you deserve it! :bighug:

Zeke is doing good on his increase so far. This is day 2 of the increase so keeping an eye out for the wonkyness that is sure to come. Had a blue preshot this morning which was nice, haven't seen one of those in a little bit. :)

Lol, I got a bit too much sleep yesterday; slept through the times I planned to test Sam during the day :woot: Hopefully I'll catch up on rest soon.

Looks like Zeke had an excellent run yesterday! That blue stretch is lovely!

Thank you everyone for your prayers, vines, and encouragement while Sam was so ill. I think he's well on his way to feeling better now! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sam's doing well this morning, although I haven't had a chance yet to take his temp. Yesterday's BMs actually had form! A few ended soft, but it was so exciting seeing something actually poopie shaped lol! :p Stay at home long enough, and just about anything becomes an event to celebrate ;) Sam's grooming, and following me into the kitchen for food :bighug: He also got a bit demanding wanting to go outside yesterday, but besides my fear that he picked up whatever made him so sick outside... it got to 100 degrees :facepalm: I don't think any of us would have been happy out there yesterday.

A nice green start to the morning. Plan on getting a +9 or +10 reading today, before his Orbax dose. I have a suspicion it may be raising his PMPS; couldn't find an ingredient list for it, but malt flavoring is usually achieved with malt :confused: At least there's only 2 more doses of it left, and we'll be finishing it off Thursday afternoon.

:bighug: I do like the idea of a permanent maintenance dose. Sam's had trouble on and off with his digestive tract since he was a kitten; I need to learn to stick with a maintenance routine for his sake. I do have powdered SEB, but I'm wondering if it's not quite right. It has a very floral/perfume-y smell to me, and when I took it last month for my own digestive trouble -- it tasted the same way :blackeye: Not a pleasant after-taste to linger for 5 hours afterwards lol! I give it to one of my older cats that's always had problems with small, hard movements. It helps her move them out a bit easier.

:D He is! I am one happy mama! This morning we cuddled, and I got all the head bumps and purrs. There's not much greater happiness than having my Sam tuck his head under my chin for blissed-out lovin' :cat:

Lol, I got a bit too much sleep yesterday; slept through the times I planned to test Sam during the day :woot: Hopefully I'll catch up on rest soon.

Looks like Zeke had an excellent run yesterday! That blue stretch is lovely!

Thank you everyone for your prayers, vines, and encouragement while Sam was so ill. I think he's well on his way to feeling better now! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Great news! I’m glad he’s improving daily. I see no harm in giving him the S boulardi on a maintenance dose for however long he needs it. That is odd about the slippery elm. It does have a kind of sweet taste but I’ve never noticed a smell to it.

Hopefully once the a/b is done, he’ll get back into remission! Paws crossed!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top