? Seeking advice on how to proceed with Buddy

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Kelly and Buddy, Aug 12, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kelly and Buddy

Kelly and Buddy Member

I am really struggling with how to proceed with Buddy. Some of you may have already read about Buddy in previous posts but he was diagnosed in April. We started with Vetsulin but switched to Lantus in late May (and also switched vets) and switched from dry to canned food. Most of this happened when I was off for the summer (I'm a teacher) so I had the ability to monitor him regularly but that is no longer the case.

So, here is my dilemma and why I'm seeking guidance. When I first took Buddy off dry I had him on Friskies and he was doing pretty good. A few weeks ago, I decided to try FF. It dropped him dramatically; so much so that I could rarely give him 2 shots a day and even at really low doses he was dropping really low at times. This wasn't a huge deal when I was home all day but now I am back to work. I am terrified of giving any morning insulin while he is on FF because I am gone for 10 hours, on average and he has dropped so low on numerous occasions. I has hoping to keep him low and maybe get him into remission but I am so worried about him becoming hypo while I'm away that I'm thinking that may no longer be an option.

I was also struggling with the low doses. I ordered calipers and a head magnifying glasses (per suggestions here) but I still have such a hard time seeing where .25 is in my syringe and never feel super comfortable that I even have insulin. On top of all this is the expense. Feeding 4 cans of FF a day is more than $1000/year. I would find a way to make that work IF I didn't have the fear of him becoming hypo. So, I switched back to Friskies. You can see on my Spreadsheet that he drops into the "blues" between injections BUT he is getting back into the 200s by the time he gets his next shot.