? Shaak no testing strips, give or not give shot, advice welcome

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Cathie and Shaak Ti (GA), Mar 30, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cathie and Shaak Ti (GA)

Cathie and Shaak Ti (GA) Well-Known Member

I posted this in the Caninsulin/Vetsulin and N/NPH forum but thought I might get more attention on Main Forum

I will run out of test strips at Shaak's +4 today, I won't have money to buy more strips till Saturday. Unfortunately I have been very stingy with the strips (afraid of running out, which is exactly what has happened) and only checking Shaak before shot and one or two ochecks during cycle, so there is not much to go on in her SS. So I am wondering what advice you all have, should I give Shaak shot tonight and tomorrow even though I don't have any strips to test before or after her shot until Saturday morning, I would be shooting blind and I have never done that before. Any advice welcome.

2. Squalliesmom

Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

Gosh, Cathie, that's a tough situation! I can't recommend shooting blind, it's just so risky. But on the other side of the coin there's risk at staying in high numbers for any length of time, too. I will say that, looking at Shaak's spreadsheet, she doesn't seem to be dropping into dangerous numbers, but with the limited information there's really no way to tell, so it's kind of a crap shoot. Sorry I can't be more helpful.

I think we have other members in your area, maybe if you post for help specific to members in the Tucson area someone would have some test strips they'd be willing to let you have just to carry you till Saturday. If I lived nearby I'd give you some of mine! :bighug::bighug:

3. Squeaky and KT (GA)

Squeaky and KT (GA) Well-Known Member