? Should I increase dose now?

Discussion in 'Caninsulin / Vetsulin and N / NPH' started by MartyJean & Skitty, Apr 7, 2019.

1. MartyJean & Skitty

MartyJean & Skitty New Member

Hello, first of all, thank you so much for this forum! I am still studying and learning so much. After last week's curve test, the vet increased the dose to 3 u. I decided to hold off on increasing because I was weaning Skitty off dry food and was concerned about hypoglycemia. I only have a few days of testing recorded, but I was wondering if you could please check Skitty's SS. His BG seems stable, but high. He is completely off dry food as of 2 days ago. In the last few days Skitty has had a significant decrease in PD/PU and he is behaving more normal, even playful! Do you think it's time to increase the dose to get his BG #s closer to normal? Thanks!!

Last edited: Apr 9, 2019
    Reason for edit: Updated info
    BBelshan likes this.
  2. MrWorfMen's Mom

MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

Since you just finished off the dry food 4 days ago (sorry for the delayed reply), I'd hold the 2u dose until he's been off the dry a full week as it can take that long to see the full change in BG as a result. Looks like the pre-shots at night have come down a bit and you may still see some change.
    I'm very happy to see you are getting some night cycle testing in. Our kitties quite often go lower at night than during the day so getting a test before bed every night is very helpful to see how kitty is doing. It possible Skitty is going lower than what you are seeing during the night and then bouncing back to pink by AMPS. If you wake during the night, taking that opportunity to test can also be helpful. Let's see if his numbers come down anymore in the next couple of days.