? Should I increase?

Discussion in 'Caninsulin / Vetsulin and N / NPH' started by Mary & Navi, Dec 22, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mary & Navi

Mary & Navi Member

good morning!

So, my vet wanted me to up Navi’s Vetsulin dose from 2 to 3 units and I started to do so slowly and her numbers bounced all over the place. I took a step back, as suggested here, and got her calmed down. Now I’m back to the 2 units and wondering if I should increase, stay put, or go back. Her preshots are still in the 400s for the most part, but I’ve tried testing during the day at random times when I can (usually between +2 and +6) and she’ll drop down to the greens and blues rather nicely.

Just wondering what some of you would do. I’m worried if I increase she’ll bounce again.

Thank you!!

2. DavesMom

DavesMom Member

Ideally, I will defer to someone who has more knowledge, as I am still a newbie as well, but I think I would personally stick with 2u because you don't want Navi to dip too low after the insulin shots.

3. Kris & Teasel

Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

Well, you're sort of on the margin. Vetsulin can drop a kitty quickly and fairly low so we look at the nadir to judge. Because of Vetsulin"s "dramatic" action, it's best to have a bit of a cushion at nadir for safety and that translates into a goal BG in the 90 to roughly 110 range. The 2 u dose has recently knocked her down into the 60s and that's a bit too low for comfort. The dark greens are nice but safety first, always. My suggestion would be to go back to 1.8 u for a couple of days to see if the nadir will be a bit higher and maybe the PSs a bit lower. A very low nadir can trigger a more extreme rebound at PS.