SKIPPED 12/29 TAFFY-PM+11.5 100/AMPS 78/+4 59/+5 59/+8 63/+11 63/PMPS 78/+2.5(+14.5) 151

Status
Not open for further replies.

Taffysmama

Member Since 2016
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...48-30m-54-3-49-30-65-4-83-5-5-87-8-70.170373/

Tested 1/2 hour b4 AMPS due. He is at 100.
But little to no appetite.
Vet today it would seem. Calling.
I know it is B4 test and shot, but I went ahead and tried to see if he would eat at all. I can usually get him to eat some babyfood out of a spoon and get him going, but he flat out refused that. That is what he vomited yesterday, so maybe he is off the babyfood meats now. He DID eat about 2 tsp of Evo canned right now.
 
I am not experienced enough to offer advice. However, you might try a post mentioning a few names. Perhaps their email will pick it up.
 
Have you talked to you vetty today about how Taffy is feeling? Unfortunately I'm not familiar with his history (sorry I've had a hard time keeping up with everyone lately!!), but if he's not eating well at all and seems to be feeling icky, checking in with your vet would be your best bet.

I hope Taffy is feeling better ASAP!
 
I wouldn't give more than .75u especially with a vetty visit and no appy. Might even give smaller like .5u this morning and of course check him in an hour. (you're braver than I am...I would skip all together) Glad you're going to the vet today. Sending lots of prayers.
 
I wouldn't give more than .75u especially with a vetty visit and no appy. Might even give smaller like .5u this morning and of course check him in an hour. (you're braver than I am...I would skip all together) Glad you're going to the vet today. Sending lots of prayers.
Well, now what??? I got busy running around, getting dressed, feeding outside cats, etc. Waiting to hear advice and I forgot and left Civvie Baby's kibble out AGAIN. taffy, who is refusing anything wet, canned, raw, cooked,...found the kibble and ate a good amount. About 2 Tbsp, is my guess. So, yay, he ate something, but boo, it was kibble. Not sure what to do with shot now. he is 1/2 hour past time
 
Well, despite the kibble raid, I went ahead and gave just .75u per Karen's advice. So, a chicken shot, I guess. I feel ok about it bcuz he did eat that kibble, and I don't know how he will eat the rest of the day. But I feel disappointed that I gave a reduced dose. It was also nearly 45 minutes later than schedule.
 
Looks to me like Taffy is on a mission the last couple of days. I wouldn't feel bad about the reduced shot today and it looks like he earned another reduction to 1.0u today anyway so just a chicken shot...not a BIG one! :)
 
Hey there, just got on board. Glad to hear Taffy showed an appetite for and ate SOMETHING! I know what you mean about being disappointed to give a reduced shot and that he ate the dry food. However, one of the many things I really get now is that whatever high numbers may come from it, you will be able to get Taffy back on track. Are you still thinking about taking him to the vet today?
 
OK, back $650 poorer :arghh:
Taffy got the works.
Don't have BW results yet. checking liver, kidney and Panc values vet suspects panc and/or liver issues :(
Got SubQs, Cerenia injection, Fomotidine (pepcid) injection, B-Complex injection, B-12 injection, and Bupe injection.
Was a very good boy, as always.
Came home, & he is happy to be back. Starting whining for food, so he ate a little Evo canned. I am going to make some plain cooked chicken shake later, though. He ate and his resting, I am sure that the bupe is kicking in.
BG was 59 @ +4, and 59 @ +5.
At vet she said his BG was either 112 or 121, I don't remember, and I'm not sure how it was taken. No glucose or ketones in urine.
He also seemed a little nauseous (lip licking) a half hour after eating or so.
 
Last edited:
Glad her did so well at the vetty. Did they give you an guidance about if he continues not to eat? Fatty liver can set in quick from not enough food. Please eat your fuds little man.
 
Have you looked at the Primer on Pancreatitis? Might be some helpful tips in there for you - loss of appetite and nausea are common complaints.

I agree that the lower numbers last night were probably still depot from the 1.5u and I would return to 1.25u when you feel ready to go back to the "regular" dose. At the moment, I'd be tempted to stay with 0.75u tonight if she is still not pro-eating and still green. You don't want to have to be up all night if it's not necessary!

Sending feel better vines to Taffy!
 
Good news on that front. Did the vet say when to expect BW results?
Was possible this afternoon, but I did not hear from her, so I assume tomorrow morning now. She was not sure if the lab had already picked up this morning or not. Looks like no, so I should get results tomorrow.
 
After all those meds (and money) I sure hope something helps Julie!!

Taffy buddy.....eat your fuds!!
He says, "but I no feel gud":(
He should be picking up after the bupe wears off a little. He has never had it as an injection, so I am not sure how long it lasts???
 
Last edited:
Did they give you an guidance about if he continues not to eat? Fatty liver can set in quick from not enough food.
I know and it worries me, but he has eaten some every day, just not enough or enthusiastically. We'll see. I do suspect that he will have elevated liver markers when the test results come in. Oh, and his weight has come back up since his FD Dx by 1lb 3oz (10/28) so that was encouraging.

Taffy still a little spacey. Hoping he will eat what I offer at dinner soon. It was suggested earlier to dose him at .75u again tonight. With the flat greens he has had all day and depending if he eats okay, what would be advisable? Still .75?
 
Last edited:
I wouldn't go more than that and it depends on if you are able to monitor. If you both need some rest then skip tonight and start over in the morning.
I decided to skip. He is just not eating enough for me to feel comfortable. And I still don't quite understand the depot and previous cycle effect, etc. My brain just can't quite grasp. I need a diagram or something.
He is refusing all of the usual things that I can normally entice him with after panc attacks, and my usual tricks (spoon feeding , etc.) but maybe it is still too soon. Like I said, this is his first time with bupe injection and it still seems to be affecting him. His pupils are huge and he is a little sensitive to light and movement, jumpy. But he was waiting for food when I was making his chicken puree, but then just sniffed and walked. Same with everything I tried. The only thing he will readily eat is civ brother's i/d dry. I am letting him have a few kibbles bcuz I need to jump start the eating.
Funny how the kibble he got to earlier did not seem to alter his BG #s today. I wonder if that is a bad sign of something??? I like his green numbers, but shouldn't the kibble have made his liver or panc cause BG to go up???
 
I pray for you and Taffy, Tux sends appy beams to Taffy.
p.s. Ouch $650 in the end of December! :arghh:
:bighug::cat:
Yes, ouch is right. I had to borrow some! But I do feel better that I took him. Waiting for results of BW tomorrow.

I read on Gussie's condo that Tux got you to stay home!!! (He called in a bomb threat to get the flight cancelled.) :D
 
You might try crushing some kibble into powder (if you have a coffee or spice grinder, they work great) and try sprinkling some on his canned to see if it'll get him interested
I do use the kibbles to entice Taffy to his wet. I give him a few on the floor and then put a few on the wet food. We call it his "croutons" and it was a common thing for us, but I had discontinued the croutons at FD Dx. I have been using the method again this week, but did not try crushing. Worth a try!!! (Crushing kibbles has never worked with civ Baby when I am trying to transition him to wet food. He is addicted to the crunch and bites each kibble. Taffy gobbles the kibble though, so maybe the smell would do it.)
 
Maybe the kibble dust is just the thing to get Taffy going again with his appetite. I probably would have skipped too. Tomorrow's another day, hope you ca get some sleep tonight.
 
I was curious to see how much the kibble was messing with the BG
+2.5 = 151 (skipped PM shot)
Maybe too soon to really tell???
He is still wigged out from the meds, maybe wearing off?? That was the very first time he was not super cooperative with testing.
I am supposed to give him more bupe tonight and pepcid. Been trying to wait on the bupe, make sure he eats something. He is not acting like he has pain. I know, hard to tell with a cat, but when he is really lousy, he hides out.
 
And I still don't quite understand the depot and previous cycle effect, etc. My brain just can't quite grasp. I need a diagram or something.
Understanding the depot is key. Let me try this analogy.

Think of the depot as a bucket of water with a drip system. When we increase since the water is slowly dripping into the bucket it can take 4-6 cycles for it to reach the full dose. Same thing when we reduce the dose. The bucket (or depot) drains slowly and a little at a time which can also take 4-6 cycles to reached the reduced level. So while it's draining there is still some larger amount of water (depot) that is affecting the cycle. However when you give a 1/2 BCS dose that will drain the bucket (or depot) faster. I think part of the issue or reason Taffy continued to ride those low greens is because he's not eating well.

Hope this helps and that you both got a good night sleep.
 
Sending appy vines to Taffy and ouch with the vetty visit. That is about what our last one cost ...... And Bubba would eat Young Again dry while he wasn't feeling well. Have you tried it, it is very low carbs under 1% and my cats love it. I save it for times like him not eating. The company will send you a sample.
 
Sending appy vines to Taffy and ouch with the vetty visit. That is about what our last one cost ...... And Bubba would eat Young Again dry while he wasn't feeling well. Have you tried it, it is very low carbs under 1% and my cats love it. I save it for times like him not eating. The company will send you a sample.
I did try giving it to him one more time yesterday, but he has no interest. Neither of my guys liked it. Sent it back yesterday afternoon.
 
Understanding the depot is key. Let me try this analogy.

Think of the depot as a bucket of water with a drip system. When we increase since the water is slowly dripping into the bucket it can take 4-6 cycles for it to reach the full dose. Same thing when we reduce the dose. The bucket (or depot) drains slowly and a little at a time which can also take 4-6 cycles to reached the reduced level. So while it's draining there is still some larger amount of water (depot) that is affecting the cycle. However when you give a 1/2 BCS dose that will drain the bucket (or depot) faster. I think part of the issue or reason Taffy continued to ride those low greens is because he's not eating well.

Hope this helps and that you both got a good night sleep.
thanks, I'm going to re and reread this and try to visualize. I have questions for this morning tho. Starting new thread.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top