"small" ketones - how do I get rid of them?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by taffysmom, Nov 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. taffysmom

    taffysmom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    I am so aggravated. I had to board my cat at the vet over the weekend in their medical area to make sure she would get her insulin. When I picked her up they said she didn't get it on Sunday b/c there was only one tech who came in and Taffy wouldn't let her close enough to give the am or pm shot. She did get her shot this morning. When she got home this morning she hit the water bowl about 10 times and wasn't walking like she usually does (but not on her hocks). She is alert, I fed her a little so I could test her BG - 255
    She was switched to Prozinc 2 weeks ago and her dosage was just increased to 5 units 4 days ago.
    I am seeing more consistency on Prozinc than I did on the Lantus but her numbers are still high.
    Since she has a small amount I really do not want to take her back to vet - but I have a call into them. She is stressed out enough from being there over the weekend and the websites I have visited say to give plenty of water and food - she is not vomiting.
    Is there anything else I should be doing other than just monitoring?
    Thank you!!

    Relion meter, 5 units of prozinc but still poorly controlled
    Not a nice cat but she is nicer today b/c she is happy to be home
     
  2. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    We usually recommend a vet visit for anything over trace in ketones. I would look into a 24 hours facility, should you suddenly need to take her in to be hospitalized. I don't mean to scare you, but DKA can happen quickly, and can be fatal.
    Please keep testing the ketones as frequently as possible, and take her to a 24 hour facility if she gets worse. She needs water, food, and insulin.
     
  3. taffysmom

    taffysmom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Brought her to penn university vet school..hopefully they will get her well
     
  4. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Sending prayers for Taffy.
    jeanne
     
  5. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Paws crossed for Taffy..
     
  6. taffysmom

    taffysmom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Thank you! We are back home and have a 830 appt with their specialist and get a whole n'other round of tests done. They will specifically be testing her for all the high dose conditions. Gayle if you read this you will be happy to hear :)
    I'm so pissed at that vet office for having techs that can't handle a "grumpy" cat. they all know her there..they know she is difficult. I even had a big note put in her file to only handle if wearing gloves. If you have on hawk gloves and are still scared of a cat you need to find a different profession...geez!
     
  7. macal

    macal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    I agree...that is odd....all vet techs should know how to do the "kitty burrito" with a towel so a shot can be given!
    So glad your baby is doing well now.
     
  8. taffysmom

    taffysmom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    well..total change in plans this morning. She tested at 200 at amps..dropped her to 4 units of prozinc...maybe it is working and the ketones were from her not getting the insulin on sunday. Since she had been through so much over the last few days they want to hold off on more tests, give her 1 flavor food (still fancy feast) and do a curve in a week, and then go back to 5 units if needed....this roller coaster is making my head spin. At least they just call her "sassy" lol sounds better than grumpy. I'm off the 911 now..thank you for the kind thoughts and advice. Now need lots of :coffee: :coffee: :coffee: :coffee: to stay awake today
     
  9. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    If you think the emergency is passed, then would you please go back to your very first post in this thread, click on the edit icon on the right and change the icon to none, please.

    Good to hear she seems to be doing better. Keeping our fingers and paws crossed that Taffy gets better.

    Were the ketones negative to go along with that BG reading of 200 from this morning?
     
  10. taffysmom

    taffysmom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Yes..negative ketones ;)
     
  11. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    YAY!!!

    You'll have to keep testing for ketones as often as you can for a while, as they can easily come back. I am happy for the good news :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page