Looby & Smiffy
Active Member
- Link removed by Moderator - Please see the "recap" Lucille has posted below.
Lucille, the thread you linked was closed for a reason. You were warned not to drag anything from that thread into a new thread or the new thread would be closed. However, I've opted to leave this thread open (for Smiffy's sake) for the time being... barring any further problems. Please be advised this and other problems surrounding your threads have not gone unnoticed. All these types of incidents have been taken straight to our Board Administrator.
Action pending.
Edited to add - Here's the correct link to your last thread: Smiffy Caninsulin beg Autumn progress
@MrWorfMen's Mom @JanetNJ @Alexi @manxcat419 @Woodsywife @donnalea @Louise1989 @Squalliesmom @HWright @purpleallie @scoobydoox @Kako & Tux
This is Smiffy's Autumn thread, so to recap:
Smiffy and I are in the UK. She is on Caninsulin and was diagnosed in April 2016.
As you will see from her spreadsheet she has very recently enjoyed some very nice blue numbers and for four or five days required no insulin:
This is what her Vet Roberta had to say about her spreadsheet and dosing at that point:
"Hi Mrs Smith,
That's all really positive isn't it! Fantastic work, you've both done brilliantly. I would agree with you that I would be nervous of giving insulin below 8, especially in the morning. My view would be that Smiffy is in remission if she manages to keep her BG below 12 (so below the renal threshold) without insulin. I would also prefer her blood glucose to remain above 4 ideally, I have seen cats hypo on 2.5-3. I think also that we have to take into account a little degree of sampling related hyperglycaemia (stress related) and differences between glucometers. I think the 'tight regulation' numbers are a little too tight for practical use if that makes sense? I would only give her insulin if her numbers are above 12, and keep a very close eye on her.
Absolutely brilliant news"
However for the last few days Smiffy's numbers have risen again (coinciding with a thunderstorm breaking the hot weather to damp weather and DH - her Daddy - going abroad for a couple of weeks).
The sliding scale that I have devised for her from experience and looking back at her spreadsheet is still in place but for the past couple of days her numbers have still stayed high which is out of character.
So it feels a bit as if I am starting all over again.
However in the last 24 hours her numbers have gone down again
Smiffy's AMPS was 10.6 so as I am not around to test her at her Nadir I didn't give her her shot - this is until I know a bit more about what is going on with her numbers now that they are falling lower again .....
I am really pleased for her but I am not going to risk her going into dangerous numbers during the day ......
She was 9.7 (175) at +4 so she is still holding that number from her PMPS last night which was 10.6 (190).
More data later.
Thank you to Smiffy's regular friends for popping in to see her and for your continued support and friendship
Lucille, the thread you linked was closed for a reason. You were warned not to drag anything from that thread into a new thread or the new thread would be closed. However, I've opted to leave this thread open (for Smiffy's sake) for the time being... barring any further problems. Please be advised this and other problems surrounding your threads have not gone unnoticed. All these types of incidents have been taken straight to our Board Administrator.
Action pending.
Edited to add - Here's the correct link to your last thread: Smiffy Caninsulin beg Autumn progress
----------------------------------------------
@MrWorfMen's Mom @JanetNJ @Alexi @manxcat419 @Woodsywife @donnalea @Louise1989 @Squalliesmom @HWright @purpleallie @scoobydoox @Kako & Tux
This is Smiffy's Autumn thread, so to recap:
Smiffy and I are in the UK. She is on Caninsulin and was diagnosed in April 2016.
As you will see from her spreadsheet she has very recently enjoyed some very nice blue numbers and for four or five days required no insulin:
This is what her Vet Roberta had to say about her spreadsheet and dosing at that point:
"Hi Mrs Smith,
That's all really positive isn't it! Fantastic work, you've both done brilliantly. I would agree with you that I would be nervous of giving insulin below 8, especially in the morning. My view would be that Smiffy is in remission if she manages to keep her BG below 12 (so below the renal threshold) without insulin. I would also prefer her blood glucose to remain above 4 ideally, I have seen cats hypo on 2.5-3. I think also that we have to take into account a little degree of sampling related hyperglycaemia (stress related) and differences between glucometers. I think the 'tight regulation' numbers are a little too tight for practical use if that makes sense? I would only give her insulin if her numbers are above 12, and keep a very close eye on her.
Absolutely brilliant news"
However for the last few days Smiffy's numbers have risen again (coinciding with a thunderstorm breaking the hot weather to damp weather and DH - her Daddy - going abroad for a couple of weeks).
The sliding scale that I have devised for her from experience and looking back at her spreadsheet is still in place but for the past couple of days her numbers have still stayed high which is out of character.
So it feels a bit as if I am starting all over again.
However in the last 24 hours her numbers have gone down again

Smiffy's AMPS was 10.6 so as I am not around to test her at her Nadir I didn't give her her shot - this is until I know a bit more about what is going on with her numbers now that they are falling lower again .....
I am really pleased for her but I am not going to risk her going into dangerous numbers during the day ......
She was 9.7 (175) at +4 so she is still holding that number from her PMPS last night which was 10.6 (190).
More data later.
Thank you to Smiffy's regular friends for popping in to see her and for your continued support and friendship

Last edited by a moderator: