? Smoky dropped from 185 to 47 BG

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Lisa and Smoky, Dec 30, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Smoky was 185 at PMPS and dropped to 47 at +3 after pm shot of 2 units of prozinc. Do I give Karo syrup, low carb, or high carb food? He has been doing well so this is a total shock
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2016
    Reason for edit: New info
  2. Mum of two felines

    Mum of two felines Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Have you rubbed some Karo syrup on his gums?
     
  3. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Not yet, he was hungry so I gave him a little gravy from some higher carb food
     
  4. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Also, when should I test him again ?
     
  5. Mum of two felines

    Mum of two felines Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    I would do some Karo. How long has it been?
     
  6. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    15-20min from now. Every 15, I think. Don't feed a whole bunch, in case you need to give more in 15 to help keep the # rising.
     
  7. Mum of two felines

    Mum of two felines Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
  8. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    I tested him 20 minutes ago and got the BG of 47. I just gave him a little gravy so far.
     
  9. Mum of two felines

    Mum of two felines Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    I would test again. Have you given Karo?
     
  10. Mum of two felines

    Mum of two felines Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
  11. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    If he's eating, give him a couple of teaspoons of high carb gravy. Just the gravy part and test in 15 0r 20 minutes
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  12. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    He last ate 3 hours ago. I gave him a little Karo syrup a few minutes ago
     
  13. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Critter Mom likes this.
  14. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Sorry, I just saw that you gave HC gravy. Testing interval 15-20 minutes from then
     
  15. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Also, breathe :) stay calm. Retest and report back.
    Don't go overboard with gravy or Karo. Just a little each time and retest.
     
  16. Mum of two felines

    Mum of two felines Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    47 on human or your pet meter?
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  17. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    47 on relion meter, human
     
  18. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
  19. Mum of two felines

    Mum of two felines Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Any symptoms - mild or moderate?
     
  20. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Only symptom seems to be a little hungry.
    He seemed kind of sleepy earlier. I'm getting ready to test again soon
     
    MiCo and Barbara & Uncle (GA) like this.
  21. Mum of two felines

    Mum of two felines Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Have you tested?
     
  22. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    What the heck? now at 42
    3.5 hrs after shot
     
  23. Mum of two felines

    Mum of two felines Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Test again to double check.
     
    Critter Mom and Olive & Paula like this.
  24. Mum of two felines

    Mum of two felines Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    If he's still 42 I would give a teaspoon of Karo
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  25. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    hm, the # went down a little.
    Maybe put a little Karo on a little bit of HC gravy food?
    Do you have a few pieces of dry food to offer? I gave 5 temptation treats to my cat when dealing with low #s.
    Maybe a more "well-known member" can chime in too? Feed/Karo and retest in 15

    Also, make sure large drop of blood for retest.
     
  26. Mum of two felines

    Mum of two felines Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
  27. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Nope it's 45 now. I have a little dry food I can give him.
     
  28. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
  29. billysmom (GA)

    billysmom (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Hello, I'm here. I never had to give insulin so I only know what I've seen others do. My take on it would be to give more karo and gravy and test in 15.
     
  30. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Dry food takes longer to kick in.

    I'd suggest a bit more honey and gravy and retest again in 15.

    What's easier on his allergies? The dry or the gravy?
     
  31. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Me too. I wouldn't give dry food
     
  32. Mum of two felines

    Mum of two felines Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    I would get some Karo. He's been in the 40's for an hour.
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) and MiCo like this.
  33. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    40's are still safe....we just want to get them back above 50 as soon as possible (without sending them to the moon)

    A couple of drops of Karo/syrup/honey or a couple of teaspoons of HC gravy are best.....and testing every 15 minutes is really overkill unless they're REALLY low....it takes 20-30 minutes for the food to get broken down and into the bloodstream

    If they're in the 20's or 30's, yes, you want to test more often just to make sure they're not continuing to drop, but you do have to give them a little time to come up
     
  34. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    I just gave him a little Karo mixed in with high carb gravy and will check him again soon
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) and MiCo like this.
  35. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Thanks Chris, I thought checking him about every 30 min wld be good.
     
  36. Mum of two felines

    Mum of two felines Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Thank you Chris n China! Every time buzz or Woody would hypo they would be in the 20 and 30's.
     
  37. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    What was his last test result and how long ago was it? If he's been in the 40s for an hour now I would definitely start giving him some Karo, maybe mix it with a little gravy if he will eat it that way.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  38. billysmom (GA)

    billysmom (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Critter Mom likes this.
  39. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Thanks to all. I'm not familiar with vetsulin. Just reading up on it. Initial drop, then sustained - is that right?
     
  40. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Checked him about 20 minutes ago and it was 45. He eats the Karo mixed in with the gravy. He could have waited until Sat night when I didn't have to get up early for work the next day.:facepalm:
     
  41. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    That's right but smoky is on prozinc
     
  42. Mum of two felines

    Mum of two felines Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    He was 42 25 minutes ago and 45 15 minutes. He was 45 at +3.5 which was about an hour ago.
     
  43. Mum of two felines

    Mum of two felines Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    They always throw us a curve ball, lol
     
  44. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Sorry, gapped. Note to self - read entire signature.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  45. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Oh mom.....now what fun would that be???
     
  46. billysmom (GA)

    billysmom (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    I thought it was vetsulin too. :/
     
    Critter Mom and Red & Rover (GA) like this.
  47. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
  48. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Getting ready to check smoky again
     
  49. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    That wouldn't be cat style!!!
     
  50. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Sure hope they don't come in 3's!!
     
  51. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    95 at 4.5 hours after pm shot
     
  52. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    When are kitties considered out of danger zone? Is it so long after food is given? I know BG going up is food influenced at first.
     
  53. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    No food or syrup, test in 20 minutes. They honey, syrup wears off fast.
     
  54. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    He started on vetsulin and I just changed him to prozinc recently.
     
  55. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    You need to have at least two more tests showing his numbers are rising before you can consider him safe.
     
    Mum of two felines likes this.
  56. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    It had been about 20 to 25 minutes after food and Karo when I tested him last. That's when I got the BG OF 95
     
  57. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Without food, syrup influence.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  58. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    I can't stay up another hour or two, have to get up in 5 hours to go to work.:(
     
  59. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    I like to say it this way....Once they're above 50, test in 30 minutes....if they're still above 50, test again in 30 minutes....if they're still OK at that point, test 1 more time an hour later (for a total of 2 hours after the last time you gave HC food or Karo)

    If they drop below 50 again at any time, that 2 hour "clock" starts over
     
    Critter Mom and Squalliesmom like this.
  60. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Will you wake up to an alarm? You could take a nap
     
  61. Mum of two felines

    Mum of two felines Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Can you set alarms to test? That's what I used to do.
     
  62. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    The 95 was when he didn't have any food or Karo for 25 minutes.
     
  63. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    I could try it, I'm a light sleeper
     
  64. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    My problem is that once I'm awake I can't go back to sleep
     
  65. Mum of two felines

    Mum of two felines Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Set a couple of alarms...stove, phone, alarm clock, timer on your computer, etc. lol
     
  66. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    We actually sleep in 45 minute cycles.....so if you can sleep for 45 full minutes, you will have completed a full sleep cycle....so napping helps a LOT!!
     
  67. Mum of two felines

    Mum of two felines Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    I understand that, but just resting will help. I doubt if you'd be able to fall asleep knowing he needs tested.
     
  68. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    I'd give him a little more gravy (like a small baby spoonful) and some regular food.....test again in 45-an hour....if he's still OK at that point, I think you'd be good for the rest of the night
     
  69. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    I gave him a spoonful of gravy 10 min ago, will set my alarm an hour from now
     
  70. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    I'd go ahead and give him a little of his regular low carb too
     
    Critter Mom and Red & Rover (GA) like this.
  71. manxcat419

    manxcat419 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Wow - sorry...only just saw that I'd been tagged. I got my hand just about ripped apart by Roxi because she didn't want to be tested, so I was away from the computer for a bit! I'm glad to see you were in very safe hands and you've got Smoky back into the safe zone.
     
  72. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Also sorry......how weird....I was on the board today but just got the notification tag.
     
  73. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Keep in mind ProZinc usually peaks at +6 but can be later with a dose that is "too big".
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  74. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Thanks everyone for all your help.
    I woke up and checked Smoky at +8 after pm shot. His BG was 182, have to get up for work in two hours. going to try to get more sleep
     
  75. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    I slept right thru my two am alarm.
     
    StephG likes this.
  76. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Just an update for Smoky, AMPS 262, not unexpected since he dropped so low last night. I need some advice on what dose to give, definitely don't want to give 2 units after the bounce this morning.
     
  77. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    I'm too new so not comfortable giving dosing advice. How soon is shot time?
     
  78. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
  79. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
  80. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Great job everyone! (And great catch, Lisa!)

    :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
  81. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Very impressive mobilization of the Forces of Good for Kitties! What ever would we do without FDMB?? :):)
     
  82. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    The Force is strong in this place.

    :cool:


    Mogs
    .
     
  83. Mum of two felines

    Mum of two felines Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    I hope your hand is ok!
     
    manxcat419 and Critter Mom like this.
  84. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    I've had smoky get me pretty good.
     
    manxcat419 and Critter Mom like this.
  85. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Yes, too bad they come armed with needle-like sabres!
     
    manxcat419 likes this.
  86. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Our main vet has a scar from a swipe Saoirse gave him some time last year! :oops:

    .
     
    manxcat419 and Red & Rover (GA) like this.
  87. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Years ago I had a big male kitty who hated being put in a carrier. I took him to the vet to be neutered, and as I was leaving I suggested to them that they might want to put him back in his carrier before all the sedation had completely worn off; they very huffily advised me that they knew what they were doing and would not have any problems getting him back in his carrier. Fast forward a few hours to when I got there to pick him up - the vet and all the techs were wearing bandages and looks of chagrin, lol!
     
  88. manxcat419

    manxcat419 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    It's a lot better this morning, thank you. I have a couple of bandages on it, but fortunately it doesn't look as though it's going to need medical attention. :)

    That happened to me with Rosa when she was quite young. I'd held her while they sedated her (for X-Rays) and they were certain they would be able to handle her after she woke up. When I got there to pick her up later on, they asked me if I'd like to go back to the recovery area and get her out of the kennel myself because none of them dared touch her. The really funny thing was that Rosa was all noise - she never once actually hurt anyone, but she knew how to make them all believe she might!
     
    Critter Mom and Squalliesmom like this.
  89. Lisa and Smoky

    Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Smoky at 228 for PMPS, gave reduced dose for am. Any ideas on what dose to give tonight?
     
  90. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I made a suggestion on your other thread.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page