Spicey's updated info after hypo

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by tajana340, Jan 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tajana340

    tajana340 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Just wanted to let everyone know that spicey's

    pmps at 9 pm was 521
    gave 1 unit pzi vet insulin
    bg reading at 1 am 317

    Just wanted everyone to know because the other threads are getting long. So now is to find the right dose after her hypo
    on 1-11-10 viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2248&start=0 and check this one as well really helpful info
    viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2372&start=0

    Thanx everyone
     
  2. Mary & Stormy Blue

    Mary & Stormy Blue Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Thank you for the update, David.

    317 is not a terrible number after what you went thru last night with her hypo. I would be curious to know what her nadir point is. Nadir is the lowest point in a cat's cycle. *usually* it is at the middle of the cycle - 6 hours - sometimes it is later, though. Stormy's was always at +7 to +8.

    So this is what your log should look like up to now:

    PMPS 521 - gave 1u
    +1
    +2
    +3
    +4
    +5
    +6 = 317
    +7
    +8
    +9
    +10
    +12

    You fill in the bgl#s on the hour that they are taken. Got it? :)

    ~M
     
  3. tajana340

    tajana340 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    It looks like it makes more sense. It wil sink in more as we go along. thanx
     
  4. Mary & Stormy Blue

    Mary & Stormy Blue Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    You are VERY welcome, David.
    Don't hesitate to shout out if you have any questions whatsoever.

    ~M
     
  5. tajana340

    tajana340 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Thank you so much.
     
  6. Victoria & Sundance

    Victoria & Sundance Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    You are doing great, David. And when you post the log, you don't have to add the blank hours.. it can just be:

    PMPS 521 - gave 1u
    +1
    +2
    +3
    +4 - 317 (9pm to 1 am is 4 hours - I think Mary just made a typo)

    I think it's likely that Spice's BG will go a bit lower tonight but not too much. The nadir on PZI is generally mid cycle ... some get a +4 nadir and others somewhere between +4 and +6 or +7... So, at another time, you'll want to get a few more of these +4 +5 +6 and +7 tests (not all in one day) to determine when the nadir is...


    You've done really well.
     
  7. Sweetgrass & the Furries

    Sweetgrass & the Furries Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Good to see things have found a calm after last night and Spice is doing well.

    Did she get the jam off her little face?
     
  8. Terry and Puttz

    Terry and Puttz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    We have been following this thread for 2 days, hoping the outcome would be good...Glad to hear the news, this Board is a lifesaver, has been for me in the past...Hugs all around... :YMHUG:
     
  9. Steph & Cuddles (GA)

    Steph & Cuddles (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Thanks for the update! SOOOO glad you lowered the dose to 1 unit. You can get different timed tests for the BG to see where she peaks with the insulin (the lowest point). Then on your days off, you can test around those times to see how low she's going after the pre-shot. Great job!
     
  10. Mary & Stormy Blue

    Mary & Stormy Blue Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    You are right, Vic. I messed up the time. I saw 1AM as 3AM for some reason. I think that I was over tired...

    ~M
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page