Spreadsheet help... what is "Dosing Method (SLGS or TR):"

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by BirdAndTobikat, Jan 24, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BirdAndTobikat

BirdAndTobikat New Member

Starting in on our spreadsheet but I'm still learning the terminology... what is SLGS or TR?

2. Panic

Panic Well-Known Member

3. BirdAndTobikat

4. Lisa and Witn (GA)

Lisa and Witn (GA) Well-Known Member

Usually for new members we recommend SLGS. This means starting with a low dose of 1/2 to 1 unit and then slowly increasing it over several weeks to find the optimal dose that works best to keep the glucose levels under control. The dose is increased by 1/4 to 1/2 units and waiting at least a week before determining if another increase is needed.

When you get comfortable with testing and changing doses you can switch over to TR if you feel that works best for your cat.

BirdAndTobikat likes this.
  5. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

@Lisa and Witn (GA) - That's not always the case. Many people start with TR. Historically, before TR, everyone here used SLGS or whatever the initial iteration was. Once TR was published, if you were starting out and using Lantus or Lev, you were dosing based on TR. It's only been in recent years that SLGS was. used again. The choice that caregivers make appears to be based on how available they are to test and if they want to use a more aggressive approach to dosing. My general impression is that more cats reach remission with TR or certainly reach it sooner. There are pros and cons to each method.

Mimis mom and BirdAndTobikat like this.
  6. Lisa and Witn (GA)

Lisa and Witn (GA) Well-Known Member

Thanks. I was not aware the the protocol changed. Though I do think that for new members that are learning home testing and about adjusting doses that TR still may be very intiminating.

BirdAndTobikat and Deb & Wink like this.
  7. Deb & Wink