Stall #2 Now: what to shoot?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Jenna Josie, Jul 23, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jenna Josie

    Jenna Josie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Hi All --

    Anyone around?

    Bringing this over from the Prozinc thread:
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/pmps-lower-than-nadirs.198836/

    Yesterday's AMPS was a result of no shot the night before. Djamila advised trying a reduced dose in should we find ourselves in a similar situation, but first AMPS = 121, and just 123 after first stall.

    Just started stall #2. Will post result here and hoping someone might be able to advise re: reduction/token dose (assuming numbers don't rise.)
     
  2. AshleyDiamond

    AshleyDiamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2018
    Will you be around to monitor her today and get some mid day checks in? If she is still at or around those 120 numbers I think I would go ahead and try a 1u dose and see how she does with it today.
     
  3. Jenna Josie

    Jenna Josie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Yes, I can play hooky from work until 2:30. ( plus seven)
     
  4. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    agreed. If your nadir tended to be low id say skip, but as long as you can test and steer, try it.
     
  5. AshleyDiamond

    AshleyDiamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2018
    Great! Then yes I would definitely try the 1u dose.
     
  6. Jenna Josie

    Jenna Josie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    2nd stall = 113. I am a little bit chicken and gave her .75 Will check her BG beginning in a couple of hours.

    Thank you!
     
    JanetNJ likes this.
  7. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Good idea
     
  8. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    You've got some higher carb food in case you need to steer, right
     
  9. Jenna Josie

    Jenna Josie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Yes! FF with gravy, honey, Temptations. Last time she got low, I gave her a Temptation "iced" with honey, a little Hypo-Number Cupcake for Cats. Hoping we don't have to do that today but ready to go if necessary.
     
    JanetNJ likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page