STALLING Again -NEED DOSING ADVICE / Last Dose 25 hours ago

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Heather and Khouklo, Feb 19, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Heather and Khouklo

    Heather and Khouklo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    khouklo has not had a injection of insulin for 25 hours

    (last injection yesterday - 10am 1 unit lantus)

    *libre sensor stopped working at 8am thiis morning
    *didn't have a BG reading for 10am shot
    *skipped morning shot

    ***i now have a a Relion Prime meter

    *****i also now have syringe needles therefore i can adjust dosage as needed

    ***yesterday :

    10am - 1 unit lantus , BG at time of injection: 262 (freestyle libre)

    10pm - 1 unit lantus, BG at time of injection: 206 (freestyle libre)

    ***today:
    • 8am - BG: 175 (approximately, estimated from freestyle libre graph)

    • skipped morning shot

    • 5 pm - BG: 143 (Relion Prime)

    • 10:03pm - BG: 146 (Relion Prime)
    ( 2 hours fasting)

    • 10:42 pm - BG: 141 (Relion Prime)
    (recheck)


    attached:
    • 24 hour graph Tuesday/Wednesday
    • graph marker for 10am yesterday
    • graph marker for 10pm yesterdsy
    • graph for today 12am-8am before sensor stopped working

    29.jpg 30.jpg 31.jpg 33.jpg
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2020
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  2. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Did you do a diet change or anything recently?
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  3. Heather and Khouklo

    Heather and Khouklo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    no, nothing has changed. he's been feeling better everyday since starting insulin last Thursday. he's actually eating a bit better today.
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  4. Heather and Khouklo

    Heather and Khouklo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    what do i do?! doesn't he need some insulin in his system to keep him regulated?!
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  5. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    If you can test tonight, how about trying .5?

    With so little data, I wouldn't go with 1U and I think you have syringes with half unit markings now.

    Get a +1 and +2 if you give the shot
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  6. Heather and Khouklo

    Heather and Khouklo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    ok, let me check him again first
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  7. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    This is in no way something you need to do right now, but in your signature you have a link to your previous post. That shouldn't be there.

    The only link that you should have in your Signature is the link to a spreadsheet for Khouklo. Have you got one set up or do you need some help?
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  8. Heather and Khouklo

    Heather and Khouklo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    ok no problem. i will remove it. i will need help with the SS but I've got to get access to a computer first and sleep
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  9. Heather and Khouklo

    Heather and Khouklo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    he's at 181 now
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  10. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    OK.....let's try the .5 for a few days and see if we can get it so you don't have to keep stalling or skipping shots
     
  11. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    I'd be happy to set it up for you. Just send me a private message so I can get some information. Click on my name and choose "start a conversation"

    As for the sleep part, sorry, can't help you with that!!

    You should be able to access your spreadsheet (once it's set up) with a smartphone or tablet
     
  12. Heather and Khouklo

    Heather and Khouklo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    thank you so much!

    and... check him at +1 &+2 before i go to bed?
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  13. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    I think if you just get a +2, that should be OK.....hopefully he won't have any reasons to keep you up any later than that
     
  14. Heather and Khouklo

    Heather and Khouklo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    need more help with measuring syringe....
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  15. Heather and Khouklo

    Heather and Khouklo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    1. the rubber plunger is not pushed all the way down. do i leave it as is or push it all the way down?

    2. where is the .5 marking I'm looking for?
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  16. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    When you first open the syringe, pull the plunger in and out a few times to distribute the lubricant that's inside.

    Then, the very closest line to the needle is the "Zero" line....the first small hash mark between the Zero line and the 1U line is .5
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  17. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Here's what the lines stand for upload_2020-2-20_1-23-37.png
     
  18. Heather and Khouklo

    Heather and Khouklo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    20200220_012524.jpg
    ok, that's what i thought.

    does this look right?
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  19. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
  20. Heather and Khouklo

    Heather and Khouklo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    omg thank you so much!

    now what do i need to know over the next 2 hours?
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  21. Heather and Khouklo

    Heather and Khouklo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    when do i give his shot tomorrow?

    i wanted to do it at 11am but 12 hours puts me at 1:30pm and i have to leave the house at noon

    would i give .25?

    or do i just wait until the evening?
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  22. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    I think I'd just wait until evening and then start over at the time you want to choose for your shot schedule
     
  23. Juls and Billy

    Juls and Billy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2019
    Heather, hopefully, someone who knows Lantus better will advise you. I know with Lantus it's not good to shoot again before the 12 hours is up, because of the depot. This is especially important if you won't be home to monitor. I suggest skipping the dose, or doing a tiny drop dose, if his BGL is high enough to inject. A skipped dose is better than a hypo event. With Lantus I'd err on the side of caution.
     
  24. Heather and Khouklo

    Heather and Khouklo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    BG: 148 (+2)
    don't know if i wrote that correctly or not?

    time for bed

    that poor kitty is so mad at me
     
    Juls and Billy and Deb & Wink like this.
  25. Heather and Khouklo

    Heather and Khouklo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020

    *a thought* he is halfway through his 10 day round of antibiotics for his bladder infection that was dx'd with the DM
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  26. Callie & Patches

    Callie & Patches Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2016
    If he is on antibiotics, his BG should come down as the infection clears up. Any infections can caus BG to go up.

    Get some rest.
     
    Heather and Khouklo likes this.
  27. Heather and Khouklo

    Heather and Khouklo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    the vet thinks that the UTI is the the cause of the elevated glucose and he may be a transient diabetic who will go into remission.
     
  28. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Could have been stress hyperglycemia also. Was a fructosamine test done at diagnosis?
     
  29. Heather and Khouklo

    Heather and Khouklo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    i will be starting over tonight
    yes it was 616
     
  30. Heather and Khouklo

    Heather and Khouklo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    i think he had a bladder infection for at least 3 weeks before
     
  31. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    At least the Fructosamine test helps a little bit to rule out the stress induced hyperglycemia.
    But with that UTI for 3 weeks,..........................

    What other symptoms did Khouklo have at diagnosis?

    Pick the shot times that will work the best for you.
     
  32. Heather and Khouklo

    Heather and Khouklo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    he was lethargic
     
  33. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    That's it. He was lethargic?

    No polyuria? peeing a lot
    No polydipsia? drinking a lot of water
    No ravenous appetite?
    No steady weight loss? despite ravenous appetite
    Not constantly begging for food?
    No big flakes of dandruff? big ones dime and nickel size
    No diabetic neuropathy? walking funny, down on his hocks
    Coat condition? dry and lifeless, or soft and shiny
    Glucose in the urine?
    Ketones in the urine?
    Goucose level in the blood was what?
    Is your cat overweight?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page