Stalling - BG 119, please help

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Trick&Christmas, May 30, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Trick&Christmas

    Trick&Christmas Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Hi folks,

    Trick's BG this morning was 123. I waited 20 minutes and tested again and it was 119.

    I went ahead and fed him an hour ago and just tested and he is up to 419.

    He is on 3.25 units right now, I'm trying to figure out what dose to give. Please help
     
  2. Trick&Christmas

    Trick&Christmas Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    I'm pretty sure the vetsulin thread doesn't get much attention besides Deb so that's why I'm over here.
     
  3. Trick&Christmas

    Trick&Christmas Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    I think I'm just going to give a low dose (1 u) and check him hourly.
     
  4. Judy and Freckles

    Judy and Freckles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Sorry, but I don't know anything about Vetsulin. I'm wondering what you fed him prior to him jumping to 419?
     
  5. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    I don't know vetsulin very well either, but I think a partial dose was a good call here.

    I'm also puzzled by that very fast jump. You got two readings of the low number, so presumably that wasn't an error, is it possible the 419 was??? Glad you'll be testing hourly, let's see where he goes from here!
     
  6. Trick&Christmas

    Trick&Christmas Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    I did feed him before it jumped to 419. In ~30 minutes I'll test him again.
     
  7. Trick&Christmas

    Trick&Christmas Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    I thought he would be a disoriented with a jump like that but he's had the zoomies. My cat baffles me lol
     
  8. Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA)

    Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    I’m glad you got more attention with a new thread. Did you give a reduced dose?
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2020
    Trick&Christmas likes this.
  9. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Hmmm, looks like he's up to stay! Vetsulin usually shows peak action fairly early (+4 or +5), I think, so if he's still up at the next test, I think you can probably give him a break for a while. He is likely bouncing from a lower number last night and will be up for a while.
     
  10. Trick&Christmas

    Trick&Christmas Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020

    I did! 1 unit
     
  11. Trick&Christmas

    Trick&Christmas Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    He did go back up so I think he has peaked. I'll let him chill out until PMPS.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page