Stan tested 2.4 @ pm +2

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Tania c, Nov 22, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tania c

    Tania c Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    Hi everyone,

    Slightly worried as Stan has just tested 2.4 +2hrs pmps. I’ve recently upped his dose and he has seemed to be responding well although he does keep bouncing.

    He has just tested 3.3 and was showing mild signs of hypoglycaemia ravenously eating. I’ve loaded him up on high carb foods and given him glucose on his gums and syringed some watered down glucose. I’ll keep checking that his bg levels keep going up. Also this was on a pet alphatrack meter (please ignore human meter readings on ss)

    Any advice gratefully received, trying to keep calm.
     
  2. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    +2 2.4 (43) on an AlphaTrak was too low.
    3.3 (59) on an AlphaTrak is too low.

    How long after the 2.4 was the 3.3?

    Can you take another test now? You may have overdone the carbs/glucose but better safe than sorry.
     
  3. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    The protocol is to test every 20 minutes.

    What high carb food do you have? Do you know the percentage? Is it gravy based?
     
  4. Tania c

    Tania c Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    The 3.3 was about 15-20mins after, just tested him now and he’s gone to 5.2. Thank goodness. Yes agree maybe overdid it on the carbs but rather be safe. Not sure if need to get him to emergency vets.

    Thanks for your quick reply.
     
  5. Tania c

    Tania c Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    Yes gravy based, gourmet gold chunks, will check carb but I think it was on the hypo emergency kit list. He’s also wolfed down two sachets of Felix and some renal dry food. Will check again in 20 think it’s going to be a long night :( paws crossed he’s ok.
     
  6. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Just paying it forward.

    Stan is in safe numbers now. No need to go to the vet. I'll stay with you until Stan starts to rise on his own. I've got some work to do on the computer and am catching up on Corrie at the same time.

    +2 2.4 (43) on an AlphaTrak was too low.
    +2.3 3.3 (59) on an AlphaTrak is too low.
    5.2 (94)
    So, you are coming up to +3? If you could give the +hrs when you give the test number, that will help.

    Do not feed Stan now. Test again in 20 minutes.
    Let's see if he is rising without benefit of food.
    While waiting, you can update your spreadsheet and make notes of "ravenous hunger" and what you fed and when in the Notes column. Always good to be able to go back and check.

    Since it is early(ish) in the cycle, it is best not to fill him up. If his numbers drop, it can be harder to convince a cat with a full tummy to eat.
    I'm in Canada and am not familiar with UK cat foods – only UK human foods. You might want to pull a Double Decker chocolate bar out of the cupboard for yourself.
     
    Si am cat mom and Tania c like this.
  7. Tania c

    Tania c Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    Oh that is so kind if you thankyou so much means so much to know I’m not on my own! Ok so recent test was 6.3 and I have removed all his trays of food. :)
     
  8. Tania c

    Tania c Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    I’ll get to work on the spread sheet good plan! And add the +3 test. A double decker, omg yes please!!! ;-) wish I had some emergency chocolate in the house for me!!

    Catching up on Corrie the English series? Really?!!! Lol


    QUOTE="Red & Rover (GA), post: 2481359, member: 15119"]Just paying it forward.

    Stan is in safe numbers now. No need to go to the vet. I'll stay with you until Stan starts to rise on his own. I've got some work to do on the computer and am catching up on Corrie at the same time.

    +2 2.4 (43) on an AlphaTrak was too low.
    +2.3 3.3 (59) on an AlphaTrak is too low.
    5.2 (94)
    So, you are coming up to +3? If you could give the +hrs when you give the test number, that will help.

    Do not feed Stan now. Test again in 20 minutes.
    Let's see if he is rising without benefit of food.
    While waiting, you can update your spreadsheet and make notes of "ravenous hunger" and what you fed and when in the Notes column. Always good to be able to go back and check.



    Since it is early(ish) in the cycle, it is best not to fill him up. If his numbers drop, it can be harder to convince a cat with a full tummy to eat.
    I'm in Canada and am not familiar with UK cat foods – only UK human foods. You might want to pull a Double Decker chocolate bar out of the cupboard for yourself.[/QUOTE]
     
  9. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    My kid's favourite chocolate bar. Have to go to the UK import shop to get them. Have been watching since Annie Walker was behind bar. It's big over here.

    No food. Test again in 30 minutes. Carbs wear off. Glad Stan is coming up for you.
     
  10. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    You can take down the 911 now.

    Someone is with you and Stan is in safe numbers. You can always put it back up if necessary. Glancing at the forum and seeing a 911 on the forum makes adrenalin shoot out the top of people's heads.
     
  11. Tania c

    Tania c Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    Ha well I did panic a little and I know we’re still not safe yet, I’ve taken my 911 down! He still wants more food but I’ll give it 5more mins and retest. Oh my folks love Corrie I was brought up on it! But moved south and Eastenders was the one! Now I don’t have time for much tv looking after all these poorly strays :-( but double deckers I can do!!! I think I might owe you a few after this x
     
  12. Tania c

    Tania c Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    Ok last test 11.2!!!
     
  13. Tania c

    Tania c Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    So +4 coming up to +5 was 11.2

    Without food approx 30 mins before.

    Wondering if safe to get a few hours sleep now? Probably going to be too worried
     
  14. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    +5 11.2 (201)
    I think you can mostly likely grab some sleep. Feed some low carb before you go to bed. If you are worried, you can set an alarm and do another check.

    Stan earned an automatic reduction of 0.25 units with that 2.4 (43) on an AlphaTrak.
    Tomorrow's dose should be back to 1.75 units.
    Post for help in the morning.

    You did a great job tonight – just next time maybe leave a bit of room in his tummy in case you need to prop him up for hours.
    G'nite.
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  15. Tania c

    Tania c Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    Can’t thank you enough :) will update in the morning! I’m sure I’ll be up in a few hours to check he’s ok anyway. X
     
  16. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
  17. FurBabiesMama

    FurBabiesMama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    I just want to clarify, where these numbers with an AlphaTrak or a human meter? I see in your signature is says human meter, and in your spreadsheet is says you changed over to a human meter. The 43 was too low regardless, but it makes a difference which meter when you have a situation like this.

    UPDATE: I just saw where you said in the post that it was actually an AlphaTrak. Just be aware that meter confusion can be a problem, so be careful about what is in your signature and spreadsheet vs what you actually use.
     
  18. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    She switched to a human meter a while ago so that 2.4 was on a human meter.
     
  19. FurBabiesMama

    FurBabiesMama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Not according to her first post. See what I mean... a bit confusing. :)
     
  20. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    I didn't even think to look in the Prozinc forum. Yay for Canuck double deckers.
    From the first post:
     
  21. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    OH! Tania didn't mention it was the AT2 on the other posting. Doesn't matter that the 2.4 was too low on either meter but it will matter for dosing purposes if there is an intermingled mix of readings on the spreadsheet from the 2 meters.

    Tania can you confirm which meter you are using now? It's fine to pull out the other meter for checks periodically but it's really important to keep the readings of only one meter on the spreadsheet. You can always note the alternate meter readings in the remarks column.
     
  22. Tania c

    Tania c Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    Morning all I’m so sorry for the confusion and I have not had a chance to change the spread sheet, but the human metre I got kept testing really high, even when he was testing 7 it tested at 17 so I ditched it. It was too much of a risk. For now I’ll stick to the alphatrack I’ll make sure I change my ss and signature. But all of the readings are on the alphatrack. I did two or three on human meter when I tried to change over and put in the remarks on the spreadsheet the alphatrack readings, and when changed back.

    I’ll try and get it all tidied up over the weekend.

    Sorry for any confusion hope it doesn’t make a difference to his current dosing now?

    The good or bad news is Stan is back up to being high again, tested 30.2 at +10 and 30.4 @ amps, so have dosed 1.75. Will ofcourse keep a close eye on him, today but would love to give him a break from ear pricks ;-) if I can just do 3-4 that would be ideal!

    I can’t help thinking what if I hadn’t been up late last night and tested him? Thank goodness I was. But makes me even more worried about leaving him, I’m starting to get really panicky if I have to leave the house for any amount of time and keep waking up in the night to check on him :(
    Also wondering if he has got this low before and I’ve not been around.

    I know I have to go out for a day next week (I have to pick up my goat from a vet specialist who is having a tumour removed don’t ask & various other vet trips and school pick ups !) and already thinking about what to do with Stan! I guess if I’m worried I just skip his jab?! Will see how he gets on and try take it day by day! Sorry for unloading:(

    The good thing is he is his usual lovely, cuddly, happy self.

    You guys were so amazing last night I couldn’t have done it without you, thankyou so much going to have to get some double deckers sent over to Canada :D

    I’ll get on with updating ss and clarifying pet / human metre.
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  23. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    No need to apologize Tania. In the heat of the moment, we know you just wanted Stan's BG back up to a safe level and so did we. Just make sure the spreadsheet is truly reflecting what meter is in use and don't intermingle readings from both meters in the cells on the SS as that would really skew your data and led to inappropriate dosing advice. :)

    That's really odd that the human meter was reading very high. Human meters usually read lower than pet meters so to have one reading higher and by that much suggests to me you got a bad meter. Can you tell us what human meter you were using? Might be interesting to see if anyone else has noticed any issues.
     
  24. Tania c

    Tania c Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    Yes sure, Make is ‘sinocare’ model ‘safe AQ’ from Amazon. I did look at the reviews and one of them also said got very high unreliable results. (Although the rest of the reviews were good!) Yes I was expecting them to be lower on the human meter not higher, I think I got a faulty one. I’ll make sure I check all the results from the spreadsheet and amend so all alphatrack.

    (Although I could really do with using a human one as I I’m going through nearly a pot of strips a week and ofcourse the next few days will be more at £50 a go that’s mounts up :( but for now I need accuracy and consistency.)



    Yes sure
     
  25. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Hi Tania, just seeing this - you've got great advice from the experts here and you've got a really good grasp of all this so well done!

    Just a word on meters - it is annoyingly confusing to see mixed reviews of products of any kind, but when it comes to such important things as meters you do need to be as confident as possible that the numbers you're getting are correct. I can understand why you're reverting to the Alphatrak but as you say, the cost of strips mounts up. Have you thought about getting a different human meter instead, one that has more consistent reviews? The one that one of our long-term members here recommends is the One Touch Verio... maybe have a little look around online when you have time and see what prices of meters and strips are. There are others we can suggest too if the Verio doesn't appeal.

    Good luck - you're doing great!
     
    Tania c likes this.
  26. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    No need to apologize. You did a terrific job last night, as did @MrWorfMen's Mom .
    If you get a questtionible reading on a human meter, you can immediately check the meter's accuracy by checking yourself. Same number range applies to both humans and cats.

    If you are worried about leaving Stan, test a few minutes before you leave. And always leave some food down for him. If the numbers are in the low blues or high greens, add a tiny bit of medium carb out or low carb with a very small amount of the gravy from the high carb. Many of the people who are gone from the house most of the day for work use an automatic pet feeder.

    Stan has come down from his bounce nicely today. Glad you went with the 1.75 dose.
     
    Tania c and MrWorfMen's Mom like this.
  27. Tania c

    Tania c Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    I’m so grateful for all your help last night!! @MrWorfMen's Mom & @Red & Rover (GA) honestly I’m so blown away by all your knowledge and time you have given to Stan, thanks so much, let’s hope for a peaceful night :) don’t want to disturb Corrie time!!!!

    I do always leave him a supply of food out if I know I’m going to be out, we also have a chip feeder for him which tells me when he has eaten, and I can see if he has eaten ravenously or if he hasn’t eaten at all, it’s great for piece of mind when I’m out. Also helps with our ckd cat too so they can’t steal each other’s food.

    So last test on Stan, pmps was 26.3 so have dosed him 1.75 unit (hope that’s right)

    Going to sign off now and try and get some sleep! Was thinking I should set alarm and do a +5 test. Probably will wake up every hour anyway worrying!

    Thanks again, have a lovely evening :coffee:

    (Oh great idea about testing myself with the human meter! That will be karma for Stan!)
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  28. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Yes, stay with the 1.75 dosing. You are seeing a bit of a bounce from today's blues.

    G'night to you and yours.
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  29. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Sweet dreams!
     
  30. Tania c

    Tania c Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    Thank you so much Diana, so lucky to have such wonderful advice and support from all of you. Sorry for not replying sooner it’s been quite an exhausting weekend with all the all nighters with Stan, so I’m just trying to catch up now!

    Thanks for the advice re the glucose meters I really think I must have got a faulty one! I’ll deff have a look at the one touch, I actually ordered the code free last week too and it’s just arrived so will try it out tonight and see how it compares to the alphatrack. Hopefully I’ll be able to find one that’s reluabke!! Will keep you posted :)
     
    Diana&Tom likes this.
  31. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Oh please don't worry about not replying sooner, Tania, we all just look in here as and when we can, no pressure!
    If you've got the Code Free now you probably don't need another different meter - I've heard good things about the Code Free and it's probably more economical, so give it a good go and see how you get on. Well done for persevering - a reliable meter is certainly important!
     
    Tania c likes this.
  32. Tania c

    Tania c Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    Ah Thanks Diana, things can get a little hectic here with all the animals so it’s not always easy to reply! So you know for next time ;-) I’m just so grateful for all the amazing advice & help, wish I was on the forum when Stan was first diagnosed & could have helped him more :(

    Ok so just did a test for Stan using both meters and code free was 22.7 & AT 25.8 so that seems better. I’d assumed human one was going to be lower just odd the sinocare one always tested higher!! Thank goodness I didn’t rely on it because it would have said Stan was ok when he went hypo the other night.

    Hopefully on the right track now ;-)

    Thankyou xxx
     
    Kate & Toby and Diana&Tom like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page