STILL high #'s 600+

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Putter, Aug 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Putter

Putter New Member

Hi there all, newbie here, Putter is still in the 500's/600's +1, +2, +5 on Lantus x 3 weeks. This morning amps: 340, +1=540, +2=621 WHAT??? I did call AlphaTRAK to make sure the meter does not read different if the blood is from the capillary or vein, they told me it is all the same. The only difference is if the blood is from the artery, I pull from the vein as I am a complete failure at getting anything from the ear. Putter is pu/pd this am, eating well, acting normal for the most part but I am absolutely going nutz about the extremely high #'s. Called his vet (I am off this week and won't see him at work) and left a msg that I am completely distressed about the fact that his #'s increasing POST SHOOTING. He is sorta walking more on his hocks. I am so upset and in tears at this moment, I don't want to lose my precious Putter Monster, maybe I should not be doing so many bg checks so early in the game.

He is eating fantastic foods, no grains, no glutens, no dry food ever. I have added Fancy Feast (completely against my feline/canine food snobbery as it contains an un-named meat) I give him boiled chicken as a treat which he loves.

Today we are both CRANKY, thank goodness my civie still loves me.

2. Sue and Oliver (GA)

Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

I am sorry this is so frustrating. It is amazing how every cat is truly different. Lots react to the diet change and insulin immediately. Others take longer.