Strange observation

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Briere Fur Mom, May 23, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Briere Fur Mom

Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

Hi there. I hope everyone is having a beautiful day. Kitties be good for your beans! They love you very much.
    I figured I'd ask this question here to get opinions, as it's not L&L specific.

Has anyone had the thought that the insulin you just injected is slowly permeating back through the skin? Strange question and seems highly unlikely due to the anatomy of the skin but....

This has happened on 2 separate occasions. And just a lil background about myself....I worked in the veterinary industry for 10+ yrs. I can hit a vein(draw blood) with my eyes closed. I've given 1000's of injections.
    After giving insulin to my boy, I smell the injection area to ensure a fur shot wasn't administered. I'm VERY neurotic about this. It's obvious when you give a fur shot. I know immediately w/o having to smell the injection area because the insulin stench lofts up. And of course his #s reflect a partial fur shot or fur shot. Well, yesterday AMPS gave insulin. I inspected and smelled post injection, as always, to make sure there was no insulin odor. K, no insulin odor...good to go. Came back 2 hours later to test and I could smell the insulin as I tested. Inspected him after testing and found the insulin stench. What the heck is going on here? We're all human and make mistakes. I'll be the first to admit wrongdoing as I have very little pride:rolleyes: But, I am 100% I got that injection in him yesterday. 2 hours later he reeked of insulin. Is it possible for old cats that have little to no SC fat/elasticity to undergo "reverse permeation" or have the insulin leak out. Makes no sense to me but, something's going on besides a fur shot. TIA:bighug:

jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  2. jt and trouble (GA)

jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member