Supplements for acromegaly and IAA

Discussion in 'Acromegaly / IAA / Cushings Cats' started by Judy and Freckles, Feb 22, 2020.

1. Judy and Freckles

Judy and Freckles Well-Known Member

I'm new to be posting on this forum but was wondering if CG of acro/IAA cats are giving supplements that they are finding beneficial?

BTW: Freckles has no other medical conditions that have been identified other than FD and acro/IAA. Her first blood test (Oct. 19/19) showed elevated levels of phosphorus (we've changed her diet but vet forgot to test for phosphorus levels last blood test time :banghead:). Most recent blood test (January 2020) showed slight anemia.

2. Wendy&Neko

Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

There is nothing you can do for IAA but be patient, and try to get Freckles showing lots of green. For acromegaly, you supplement to help any side effects. Neko got omega-3 (fish oil) as an anti-inflammatory and I tried a host of things to help her arthritis when it showed up. I tried Azodyl for a while when her kidney numbers started going off, but not sure it did much. Neko liked it though, cause I gave it mixed into high fat greek yogurt. :) Probiotics can be beneficial for the GI system.

Good idea to keep track of phosphorus, cause you do want that in normal range. Take a look at Tanya's CRF website to find out about phosphorus and anemia. For phosphorus, you do start with food changes to see if that can do it.

Judy and Freckles likes this.
  3. Judy and Freckles

Thanks Wendy. That is an awesome website. So much information!

4. Bronx's dad (GA)

Bronx's dad (GA) Well-Known Member

5. Judy and Freckles

Thanks for this link. This is not the first time I've seen Turmeric being used for animals... interesting!

Bronx's dad (GA) likes this.
  6. Bronx's dad (GA)

Bronx's dad (GA) Well-Known Member

Karen & Lily likes this.
  7. Judy and Freckles

8. Karen & Lily

Karen & Lily Member