Suspicions of diabetes, awaiting confirmation, I feel so sad

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by cornad, Mar 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cornad

cornad Member

I have 2 cats, Sammie and Spencer. But the main focus of this post is for my Spence. confused_cat

Spencer is around 14-15 years old (we've cuddle almost every night since the 2nd grade) but always loved to play, jump around, cuddle, until recently. I would say in the past few months, we have definitely noticed a change in his "gracefulness." He wasn't jumping as smoothly as he has done before. Then he began walking up and down the stairs VERY slowly, he went to bouncing up the stairs to a few steps at a time very recently.

Then came the awareness of polyuria and polydipsia. My mom has been a nurse for about 30 years and I'm a nursing student so we quickly assumed diabetes. The peripheral neuropathy really sealed the deal for me. My family and I thought it was old age at first but now we are convinced it is diabetes. We are going to the vet as a family on Saturday.

I've read all the information about diabetes in cats and I'm completely overwhelmed and sadden. As a nursing student I read and deal with patients with diabetes, know the complications associated and my mind won't stop racing. I love my mom but she has more of a fatalist mentality whenever we talk about Spence, "oh he's getting old, it might just be it. Prepare yourself." I want to prepare myself, not for his demise but for his treatment. As a student I might be alone (because of my mom's resistance) in my funding for his health care cost which is very scary.

confused_cat What questions should I ask the vet? What should I be weary of? I've read the FAQ's and many pages on this site. Yet, the thoughts of hypoglycemia and an inexperienced vet once insulin is initiated frightens me. What were your thoughts when you first learned about your kitty and diabetes? What did you do to cope?