? Syringes

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Nicole & Baby, May 1, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nicole & Baby

Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

Hi! I have been using ReliOn Insulin Syringes for 6 years and the last few boxes have been a mess. Meaning, I draw 1.5 units of insulin and end up with only like .5 or 1 unit - the rest is air. I am not new, I know to go slowly, etc. I have tried everything and am wasting a lot of insulin.

I am looking for suggestions of what other syrings people are using for their furbabies please.

Thanks!

2. BJM

BJM Well-Known Member

Maybe take a look at what is offered by ADW and see if you can find a brand to test out.

3. Mitzelplik's Mom

Mitzelplik's Mom Member

I was having trouble with air bubbles in the UltiCare U-40 syringes. Just tried the Monoject U-100 syringes w/ half unit markings today and no air bubbles at all. The plunger is a little stiffer to move but it was very easy to line up to the mark I wanted. I got them from ADW.

4. tiffmaxee

tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

I use the terumo syringes with half unit markings from ADW. My only problem with them is air bubbles. I used the Relions before this and you are right about them. They can vary by as much as .5 units. It took awhile to adjust the dose when I changed but these don't have the hub that screws up the dosing. The starting line is sometimes high or low. I use calipers so that part isn't an issue.

5. Nicole & Baby

Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

thank you all! I just placed an order at ADW for Monoject U-100 syringes - I wish I could just go there, they are about 15 minutes north of me. LOL
    I do appreciate feedback and hope this finds you & your furbabies well!! <3

6. Blamethecats and Hannah

Blamethecats and Hannah Member