Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Daddy Jack's Mommy (GA)

Daddy Jack's Mommy (GA) Well-Known Member

Hello. I'm brand new here. I am ordering insulin (ProZinc) for the first time, and I'm confused about which syringes I should order. Which sizes are the best, and why? Should I order syringes specifically for ProZinc? They are double the price, but I want to do whatever will make it easier on Jack (my diabetic feline).
    Thanks.
    ~ Carolyn

2. Idjit's mom

Idjit's mom Well-Known Member

Carolyn, it would be very useful to you to visit the Prozinc forum HERE and read through the information there. I am not a Prozinc user and cannot advise you but read through the Beginner's guide http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...prozinc-pzi-insulin-for-diabetic-cats.164995/
    There is information about using the U-100 syringes but you must be careful to correctly use the conversion chart to avoid mis-dosing:
    A note on using U-100 syringes with the Conversion Chart: Many people find that using U-100 syringes with half-unit markings makes it easier to fine-tune a dose, in 0.2 unit increments. (You MUST use the Conversion Chart; the link appears both above and below.) In the United States, the U-100 syringes (designed for use with the more concentrated U-100 insulins) usually have ORANGE caps - but again, the cap color may vary with the manufacturer or where you live in the world.

PLEASE make sure you are using the correct syringes for dosing ProZinc: Either the U-40 or the U-100 (again, the conversion chart is required when dosing ProZinc with U-100s.)
    Post in the Prozinc forum so that the experienced users can advise you on this issue.

3. JanetNJ

JanetNJ Well-Known Member

These are what you want. ProZinc is a u40 insulin. These have half unit markings.
    https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/18553/ulticare-u40-pet-29g-3-10cc-1-2in-half-unit

The cheapest place I've found for ProZinc is chewy.com

4. Daddy Jack's Mommy (GA)