Cindy&Taco
Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/please-help-me-with-taco-if-you-can-please.203589/ testing how to do a condo.
yes , I willWell, will you be around today to test and deal with any too-low numbers?
what should I do, ? Should I go ahead and feed him ,then retest ? and shoot?Well, will you be around today to test and deal with any too-low numbers?
Don’t feed. Don’t shoot yet.what should I do, ? Should I go ahead and feed him ,then retest ? and shoot?
Can I feed him now?Well, will you be around today to test and deal with any too-low numbers?
30 minutesHi Cindy, how much longer till his shot time?
NODon’t feed. Don’t shoot yet.
Was the 3am meal from a timed feeder ?
I'm having my daughter test again, I'm very nervous about what to do, BG up to 110Don’t feed. Don’t shoot yet.
Was the 3am meal from a timed feeder ?
can you explain why I would shoot 15 minutes earlier?Can you stall him another 15 minutes ? As long as he hasn't dropped more, it would be okay to shoot 15 minutes earlier. From your SS it appears that he usually comes up from the +11
Only if you think he can't wait any longer to eat is why I suggested that you could feed and shoot early. It looks like he is all ready coming up so you should be safe to shoot. Ideally, if you can hold him off then feed and shoot at your normal time.can you explain why I would shoot 15 minutes earlier?
Can you stall him another 15 minutes ? As long as he hasn't dropped more, it would be okay to shoot 15 minutes earlier. From your SS it appears that he usually comes up from the +11
by the time he's done eating , if he does, it will be shot time, his normal shot time is in 15 minutes, I'm going to go ahead and feed now and come back with a BG number, ok?Only if you think he can't wait any longer to eat is why I suggested that you could feed and shoot early. It looks like he is all ready coming up so you should be safe to shoot. Ideally, if you can hold him off then feed and shoot at your normal time.
He's eating like he's starving , got a 98 bg @ 9:45Only if you think he can't wait any longer to eat is why I suggested that you could feed and shoot early. It looks like he is all ready coming up so you should be safe to shoot. Ideally, if you can hold him off then feed and shoot at your normal time.
He's down to 82 after just finishing his meal , 2 sides of sheba salmon, and it's shot time, please adviseOnly if you think he can't wait any longer to eat is why I suggested that you could feed and shoot early. It looks like he is all ready coming up so you should be safe to shoot. Ideally, if you can hold him off then feed and shoot at your normal time.
should I go ahead and shoot 2.25 U of levemir now? 5 minutes past his time?If it is your first time facing a green PS then we usually suggest that you don’t feed but rather stall and retest in 15 minutes even if the number is 80-100. That will let you collect data on what your cat will do when you stall. One thing you can do is to refer to the +10 and +11. Those will give you a good idea of how quickly the numbers are rising (or not) when preshot time arrives.
With most cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.
I already shot 2.25 at 10:10 EST, 10 minutes past shot time, will test every 30 minutes, thanksWith meter variance the 98 and the 82 are the same number. You could wait 15 minutes and let the food bump him up a bit, retest and if the number has come up, then shoot.
Do you want me to get rid of the 911? and if so , how do I do that?Cindy has 2 condos going, one with 911 for dosing advice.
Let's stay on the 911 thread as it has more postings on it. See you back on the 911 thread.Do you want me to get rid of the 911? and if so , how do I do that?![]()
just messaged you at same timeCindy, did you get a +1 test yet?
Cindy I saw the SS. Stay on this condo as it has more postings as to what is happening now. And take down the 911 from your thread as he is safe right now.@Bobbie And Bubba I went ahead and updated the other condo, going to lay down for 45 minutes and be back on other condo or this one if in trouble again. up to 116 @ +1
How do I take it down ?Cindy I saw the SS. Stay on this condo as it has more postings as to what is happening now. And take down the 911 from your thread as he is safe right now.
it's shot time, please advise
Go to top on the right. Thread tools/edit title . Click on edit title, then No prefix Then save changesHow do I take it down ?
ReallyI have to remind myself to Take a couple of deep breaths & repeat, "It Will Get Better"![]()
I certainly hope soReally?
Thanks Krystina!Yes... in SS?
+2.5 174
Both threads have been merged.Cindy has 2 condos going, one with 911 for dosing advice.
GMTA; I was just going to ask you to do so.Both threads have been merged.
GMTA; I was just going to ask you to do so.
Great job shooting today, Cindy. Sorry I wasn’t around but I’m three hours later than you; we have an excellent array of East Coasters to help with those early morning numbers.
One thing I want to address is that we don’t want to feed to get numbers up to shoot. In this case, it didn’t affect his BG because you tested again 15 minutes after you fed.
Remember that with Levemir, you are likely to see the lower numbers at preshot so you will have to get used to shooting them (we shoot everything above 50 here as long as you have supplies and are available/able to test). Once you shoot, then you feed his helpings of Sheba. Unless he is getting ready for a dose reduction, you should see the numbers either stay flat or start to come up until he onsets.
While we talk about “curves” with Lantus and Levemir, in reality, when the dose is right, the numbers stay relatively flat. As the depot gets overfull, then you will see a number lower than 50 signaling a reduction is needed.
Super job today and thanks for doing that subject line!!! Pat yourself on the back and....ask any questions!
Cindy, I am glad that the cycle played out well. I was a bit nervous as it was your first green that you shot and I felt responsible encouraging you to shoot. I certainly understand needing sleep after an all -nighter. Maybe you could have your daughter fill in the SS during times like this when peeps are waiting for an update? BTW you earned the Balls of Steel (BOS) award today for shooting your first green pre shot.OK, kitty angels, I'm back and Tacos numbers were taken all day by his "real" mom , my daughter . I cant tell you how grateful I am that I had a response so quickly on my 911. I'm not new at all to Tacos diabetes , but I still panic when he goes into green from being so high the previous days. I needed to sleep today, my body and brain couldnt take anymore after I had stayed up all night , like I do every night because of taking care of my 43 yo 24/7 son that needs to be monitored at all times and taking care of Taco as he worries me to death and is a constant along with his other 6 fur sister and brothers. So I'm back with his SS up to date , I usually do those in the evening, as I keep an extensive log everyday with his numbers foods and anything else important. Please forgive me for letting you hang , but, all is well, and YES , after over 1 year of Tacos uncontrolled diabetes, I still PANIC, and need hand holding thru this especially this TR, that we just started ,Thanks![]()