Testing help needed

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by mdelisle, Feb 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mdelisle

mdelisle Member

My kitty Puckett was diagnosed last week with diabetes. His BG was 500 ... and he was extremely stressed while at the vet's office. This kitty is 11 years old ... weighs 10.14 lbs ... and is a very skittish kitty. I've owned him all his life and he's never been a lap cat. The vet has started him on PZI (compounded at a local pharmacy) ... 1 unit (U-100) twice a day. The vet said not to test until he's been on the insulin for a couple of weeks. I'm a former vet tech plus a non-insulin dependent diabetic myself so testing isn't rocket science for me. Plus I'm a pet sitter at the moment and have a couple of clients that have diabetic kitties that I've tested. But Puckett is by far the most challenging cat to test. I'm able to give him the insulin injections with minimal fuss because I'm used to doing it. But I've been trying to get him to sit in my lap or put him up on the counter just to get him used to things before starting to test and he just totally freaks out. Does anyone have any suggestions of how I can get this kitty relaxed enough so I can do home testing without ending up looking like I've done battle with a cougar?

Marci (and Puckett)

2. LynnLee + Mousie

LynnLee + Mousie Well-Known Member

i had never touched my little girl prior to her diagnosis. it took about a month of trying different treats to get her to cooperate. ultimately i found some freeze dried salmon & cod at petsmart that she only gets at test/shot time so she behaves pretty well now and doesn't try to get away from me most of the time.

i also half scruff her with my left hand. i scruff her and then reach up with my pointer finger and thumb and grab her ear. the scruffing part helps keep her still too.

3. Kira & Max

Kira & Max Member