The Ultramarathon Part 22

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Kris & Teasel, Feb 6, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    AMPS was 20.4. I increased back to 3 u.
     
    Sue and Oliver (GA) likes this.
  2. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    BG at +7.5 was 12.1. The switch to Lantus will happen tomorrow AM.
     
  3. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    PMPS was 19.7. I gave him 3 u.
     
  4. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Whoa... I knew this was coming, the switch, but oh my. Good luck! I will still be "checking" on you and Teasel!
     
  5. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    I know you said you'd still hang around here (thank goodness!) so please do keep us updated on how the switch goes. I'm so hoping that Lantus turns out to be the answer...I know it's not likely to just be the miracle cure, but with luck over time, it will make things easier!
     
  6. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Do we have to go to the Lantus forum to keep up with Teasel now?
     
  7. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I intend to keeping renting my apartment over here in ProZinc Land. I'm not sure what my Lantus forum posting routine will be yet. Feeling overwhelmed right now. I'm so accustomed to working with ProZinc that even drawing up that small amount of Lantus was frustrating me this AM - blasted air bubble!! o_O

    Anyway, AMPS was 20.6. I gave him 2.5 u of Lantus because it's a new (sort of) insulin and I'm not sure that my ProZinc wasn't losing a bit of its oomph. Didn't want to chance 3 u.

    See - there's a Lantus post on the ProZinc forum. ;)
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2017
    MiCo and Sue and Oliver (GA) like this.
  8. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    We'll be anxiously waiting all day for his numbers along with you. Make that we'll be excitedly waiting along with you. :)
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  9. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    :bighug::)
     
    Pati likes this.
  10. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    All fingers and paws crossed that Teasel reacts well and his bouncing flattens out. We are rooting for you! But we will agree to free rent on your condo here in exchange for your hanging out with us. :p
     
    MiCo likes this.
  11. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Now that's an offer I can't refuse! :D
     
  12. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Yikes Teasel. How are you doing Kris?
     
  13. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Hi Pati,

    I'm fine. The row of pinks doesn't surprise me. I lowered the dose from my last ProZinc dose just in case and it's probably too low. Lantus can be slow to show its effect as the depot is filling over the first few days. I'm relieved that I got through the heebie jeebies of this first day though ...
     
  14. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    All right! Looking forward to what happens next.
     
  15. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Me too!
     
  16. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Well, Day 2 in L&L Land begins! This whole "waiting on the depot to fill" thing is new to me. No immediate effect of a dose like there is with ProZinc (sometimes). It really is a totally new experience compared to the beginning when Teasel was on it for 2 months. I'm aghast at how little I knew! :confused:

    Here's a thing: we're so used to thinking about what dose to give here in PZ Land, taking our kitty's idiosyncrasies into account, etc. that we learn to be quite confident and independent. It's easy to get reliant on the "Rules of Dosing" that Lantus has if you've never experienced using ProZinc, Vetsulin, etc. Yes, those guidelines have to be followed but it's good to have that independent mindset.
     
    Rachel, Sue and Oliver (GA) and MiCo like this.
  17. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    I think it's going to be so interesting to see your account of how Lantus is different than ProZinc...and how you can use your ProZinc experience to help the Lantus.
     
    MiCo and Kris & Teasel like this.
  18. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Day 3 on Lantus. So far he's OK. Dose increase to 2.75 u tomorrow I think.
     
    Rachel and MiCo like this.
  19. Laszlo

    Laszlo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Goodness - looking forward to seeing Teasel's progress. Migs has been declared a 'difficult diabetic' and the specialists are considering moving him onto Lantus as well. Although the 'last chance on ProZinc' procedure which was to try a dental appears to perhaps have helped. Who knows, they certainly put you through the wringer don't they!
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  20. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Well, his Lantus dose has been increased by 0.25 u this AM. I probably won't see the effect for a cycle or two.
     
  21. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    So Lantus is usually 6 cycles also?
     
  22. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    It's 6 cycles when you're following what they call the "Tight Regulation" protocol. I'm doing this because of Teasel's tendency to get stuck in high numbers if he's at an ineffective dose for too long. They have another protocol called "Start Low and Go Slow" where doses are held 5 to 7 days. You can't change Lantus dose on the fly like you can with ProZinc because of the effect of the depot that builds up.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2017
  23. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Did you explain the protocol rules to Teasel? :)
     
    MiCo likes this.
  24. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Not much point because he probably won't follow them! :smuggrin:;)
     
    MiCo and Pati like this.
  25. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Slow and steady, Kris.
     
    MiCo and Kris & Teasel like this.
  26. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Those steady increases will hopefully help! Even though Teasel NEVER does follow rules...
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  27. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Teasel bouncing?
     
  28. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Could be or apparently some cats go higher for a bit after a dose is increased. Yes, cats can bounce on Lantus and I sure won't be surprised if he's one of them. We shall persevere!
     
    MiCo, Rachel and Pati like this.
  29. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Yea Teasel PMPS!
     
  30. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Flatter cycles are a nice thing. Less excitement.
     
    MiCo likes this.
  31. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I could use a little less excitement.
     
    MiCo likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page