Tucker is 250ish all the time w/no insulin -advice needed

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Jen and Boo, Aug 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jen and Boo

Jen and Boo New Member

I asked this a week ago when I knew less info. I did not really get answers then but my question is still the same.

My Tucker cat may be diabetic but I need some expert advice on what to do given his BG levels.

As some backround, I have sucessfully managed my other cat Boo's diabetes since 11/09 and she is now on 1/2 the insulin that she once was on. So I'm not a newbie. I home test Boo. She is on Lantus. All my cats eat low carb food because Boo is diabetic. Boo has gone from 5.5 lbs to 9 lbs since 11/09 and the whole cat perspective on her is really good. I'm proud of Boo's progress.

Now as far as Tucker goes.......

We were on vacation for two weeks and left him home with the other healthy cats (7 cats) who were all taken care of by my mom. We took Boo with us. When we go away we leave EVO dry Turkey (purple label) and low carb wet food so the non-diabetic cats can get enough to eat even if the caretaker can not come over as much as we wish they would. It's unrealistic for us to expect my mom to come over 2X per day and healthy cats can handle fresh wet food and water 1X per day with EVO dry to graze on for a few weks. Apparently our cats ate a lot of EVO because mom did not feed enough wet food. There were a few days she could not come by at all. So the EVO ran out. Mom went and bought Friskies indoor dry food (high carb) as a substitue as she really does not understand how bad it is.