TYLER'S JOURNEY #2

Discussion in 'Caninsulin / Vetsulin and N / NPH' started by Diane Tyler's Mom, Jun 2, 2019.

  1. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Ok I have to say it again , you are a genius, smarter than the vets, How many times do I have to test him before bed time, meaning at +4 or +6? Can I just test once tonight. All of his morning tests were pretty good right @MrWorfMen's Mom
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2019
  2. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Grab a +2 and if he is dropping much, feed a little to slow him down and test again at +4. If he's even lower, feed again. All depends on how low +4 is whether any further testing would be needed. That said, I don't think you are going to have to steer Tyler tonight. The pre-shot while blue was not that much lower than this morning's....essentially the same. Amazing what a tiny bit extra insulin can do. :joyful:
     
  3. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    When you say if he's dropping much do mean like a drop of say 80 or more?Sorry for so many questions. Are we still going to stay with the no shoot of 175 or under Not that we have gotten there yet. @MrWorfMen's Mom[/USER
    Looking at his morning BG of 219 and then at+3 of 122 would you say that that was to much of a drop, all of those numbers weren't bad would you say
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2019
  4. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    I think 175 is a reasonable place to keep the shot cut off for now.

    At +2 I'd expect his BG to just be starting to drop so anything over maybe 50 points and I'd prop him up a bit with a little food. Look at where he started, how much he's dropped and how much time since the shot has elapsed and figure if he keeps dropping the same until +5 or 6, where would that put him. That's how I look at a cycle to determine when to test again. Use the data you have collected to predict the future of the cycle. So if he starts at 191, and you don't want him to drop below say 80, then he has 81 points to play with. If he drops 50 to 140 by +2, he can safely drop another 30 points which is why we prop him up at +2 to slow him down and retest again to make sure he isn't dropping too fast or too low and feed if need be.
    Well I am being summoned by a little black furry beast who is now climbing all over my desk trying to get my attention for food.......oh there she goes knocking stuff off the desk.... oh a landslide.......any wonder her name is Menace. Gotta go feed her! :woot:
     
    CandyH & Catcat likes this.
  5. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Ok Linda, I'll get it sooner or later, thank you again, bad boy Menace lol
     
  6. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Ok the mess she made is sort of cleaned up. I had stacked some stuff for filing and had bills to be paid on the desk, all of which she pushed onto the floor!:rolleyes: Guess I'll be reordering the filing tomorrow! Miss Menace has been pilled and fed and is now luxuriating in a clean up session. Wish my life was that easy. Create havoc, get someone else to clean up the mess and then jump to my demand for a meal, have that person prepare and serve me my meal and then go soak in a tub. What a life! HAHAHAHAHA!
     
    CandyH & Catcat likes this.
  7. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    That's funny, but not really lol, the last thing you probably wanted to do is clean up a mess. They are something else. Wouldn't it be nice to soak in a nice warm tub and have someone serve us lol.
    Friday PMPS 191. 6-14-19
    +2 - 126 .a drop of 65 points in just 2 hrs. Gave some food
    +4 127

    I understood what you meant #104 so how many points does he have left, not much right? Just fed him so food.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2019
  8. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Linda couldn't test him anymore, my daughter has been up for almost 2 days straight from the pain from the rsd. From her neck up the nerve pain is excruciating in her neck, nose, eyes, entire face and her ears, She can't even lay her head on a pillow, feels like someone has beaten her with a bat, she can't even touch her ear lobes on a pillow.She is exhausted, never been this bad before. She's shaking from the pain and feels like she's going out of her mind. None of her pain meds are doing anything for her, Lyrica not doing a thing. I can't take seeing her in this much pain. It's progressing fast. Why why did this happen to her. I'm shaking so bad right now seeing her in this much pain and IncaI c do a thing for her. She can't take it anymore. I'll try to keep you updated on Tyler, at this point nothing matters. She cannot live like this anymore. I feel so alone, that I can't do a darn thing for her.She is not living , she's just existing. I don't know what we can do.
     
  9. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Diane, I'm so sorry to hear Ashley is not doing well. If memory serves, this is I presume, the fallout you and Ashley were dreading as a result of the Dr. cutting back to pain meds to prove to third party authorities he's not over Rxing. Criminal that anyone should have to suffer like that because the doctor's hands are tied by insurance company or government interference in medical care.

    Tyler will be fine and in situations like this when your attention needs to be focused elsewhere, you can let Tyler run a bit higher. Lower the dose a bit (maybe back to right on 0.5u line or even the bottom of the line) so Tyler doesn't have to be monitored as closely.

    Sending :bighug::bighug::bighug: for both of you and hoping and praying you can find some help for Ashley very soon.

    P.S. you handled Tyler purrfectly last night.
     
  10. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Thank you so much Linda, as for the pain meds ,he didn't even lower the dosage yet,
    The extreme pain just came on from no where, , I mean she is always in pain, but this was like a 20 pain level. She still hasn't slept, Thanks for the kind words, I'll post Tyler's BG around 9:00 am Thank you my friend
     
  11. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hey Linda just tested Tyler at 9:00 am
    Saturday 6-15-19
    AMPS - 167
    What do you think just shoot exactly 0.5 u or should I go under the 0.5 u line
    Like we have been doing @MrWorfMen's Mom
    Oh wait where is my head at didn't we say do not shoot if it was 175 or under? @MrWorfMen's Mom
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2019
  12. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    I'm going to leave this decision to you based on what Ashley needs and your ability to monitor., If you can monitor then I'd an even 0.5u....if not drop it to the top of the 0.5u line. If you can't monitor at all, then you can skip but 167 and 175 aren't that far apart with meter variance. :):bighug:
     
  13. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Have to run out for a bit but will check in when I return.
     
  14. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Ok thank you I went with 0.5 u exactly this morning.
    Just so we remember on Friday 6-14-19 is when we gave him a little more than 0.5 units in the am and pm. Talk to you later @MrWorfMen's Mom
    I will re test through the day
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2019
  15. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    This is strange, just re tested Tyler at +2 it was 188. How can that be when his AMPS was 167. I didn't put it on his SS yet because I am going to continue to do a few more tests. Like I said I stayed with 0.5 units exactly, but still shouldn't it have come down a bit at +2 @MrWorfMen's Mom
     
  16. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Patience.......food bump, a little bit of bouncing from yesterday's essentially blue cycles ...... all's good. That's only one moment in time. ;):bighug:
     
  17. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Ok Linda, I'll try to be patient, you should see me when I test Tyler, I talk to myself and wait while the meter is calculating and say , give me a good number. Tyler is such a good boy when I poke him, sometimes when he's sound alseep I'll test him and he doesn't even wake up lol, I'll post his BG numbers when I'm done doing a few more tests
     
  18. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    I can tell you that the reading anticipation calms a bit with time but the trepidation about the reading NEVER fully goes away. Menace's Monday tests now still have me holding my breath waiting for the meter to display the result.:blackeye:
     
  19. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I didn't know Menace has diabetes, @MrWorfMen's Mom
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2019
  20. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    I did the sugar dance with Menace from Feb15 to Sept18 and she's the reason I am here. She was a high dose kitty with IAA which made her diabetes a little more challenging. Now that she is in remission, she still gets tested weekly so if she reverts back I will catch it early and be able to take action ASAP.
     
  21. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Just did a +4 on Tyler ,it's on his SS
    Saturday 6-15-19 +4 228
    So we have AMPS. 167
    +2 - 188
    +4 - 228
    Is there any reason I have to continue testing him anymore until tonight's
    PMPS at 8:30
    Just don't want to keep poking him
    Depending on tonight's PMPS I guess we can discuss if we should go back
    to doing the little bit extra of the 0.5 units, like we did on Friday morning and evening
    What is IAA? @MrWorfMen's Mom
     
  22. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    No more pokees needed. Yes I think you can go back to the fat 0.5u again tonight.

    IAA is Insulin Auto Antibodies. Basically an auto immune condition whereby her body blocked her from using the insulin. For awhile Menace was on 16u twice daily.

    How is Ashley today?
     
  23. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Ok I'll give the fat 0.5 u again. I'll post what his PMPS is. Wow 16 u twice a day. Boy our poor cats get everything. I'm so happy that she's in remission. That must have been some battle for you, if anyone could get their kitty into remission is you.

    Just a little bit about Ashley. Back when she was 19 she was laying on the floor and went to get up and felt like someone gripped the top of her head and pulled it back. Immediately she felt pain and almost passed out.

    Took her to the ER and they did an x Ray and saw nothing just said had a military neck, don't know if I used the right word, it was just that her neck wasn't the way it should be.
    Went home with muscle relaxers, used heat and ice. It really never felt right.
    Then she started to get headaches 24/7. Had to drop out of college.
    I took her to every neurologist, NYC, N.J
    They were giving her meds for migraines, which they weren't.
    She said they felt like a vice grip was around her head.
    Had every diagnostic tests, MRI of the neck, brain, facet injections, Botox, I mean you name it she had it. I am a neurotic when it comes to medical stuff.

    Now we went to a headache center in Philadelphia, PA. Thomas Jefferson.
    They admitted her for 2 weeks and did lidocaine infusions to try to break the cycle .
    Did this twice. Did not do anything.

    Then went to Michigan Head and Neurological. There for 2 weeks, trying other type of infusions. Forget about it.
    Went to Houston to see another specialist, waste of time and money.
    Used up all of my husband's life insurance money.

    There were other places we went to but I'd be here writing a novel

    Now she had TMJ also, went to a specialist here in NJ. They did a MRI and she was bone on bone. But that was not causing the headaches.
    He told us the top TMJ surgeon was in Florida.
    Flew there he did another MRI and also asked her about her headaches and made us watch a film on Comples Regional Pain Syndrome/ RSD.
    We call it CRPS for short.
    To this day I swear what happened to her neck was crps.
    I can't believe that people can get this disease as simple as having blood drawn, or spraining an ankle.

    So she has the jaw surgery, called a fat graft, they cut you right in front of the ear and take fat from your stomach and put it where the disc was.
    Both sides were done, it was living hell for the first 3 days for her.
    Had to stay in Florida for 2 weeks, see the surgeon every other day.
    Had to wear this type of mouth piece with rubber bands , could only take it out for 15 minutes three times a day, do exercises and eat, then put it back in

    As the weeks went buy you were able to leave it out longer, and so on.
    Came home and she had to have a special mouth piece made to wear at night , every night. More to it, but it's too long to go into.

    Now she started to have pain on one side after a year, flew back down and come to find out the one side had bone growth, not good.
    Guess what another surgery on one side
    When people have this surgery most of them have to get braces put on , but the doctor said he was satisfied with her bite and didn't need braces, plus with crps in her face she never would have been able to handle wearing them.
    Long story short , the doctor in N.J. made her the mouth piece per the surgeons instructions and if it had to be adjusted a lot that would mean either she was losing fat, etc. He was supposed to notify the surgeon of any changes. He trained under this surgeon. We kept telling him to look at her bite and he much it was starting to open and shift.

    He said well you would never be able to handle another surgery because of the crps, well we knew that. She would have to have an osteotomy. Saw your jaws in half, bring the lower jaw forward put it in the correct position, held together with about 30 screws.
    So now not only is she in pain with the crps , her jaw is killing her. Plus when the jaw is off it causes pain in the head, neck, etc.
    If she makes a bite you can see right into her mouth, her lower jaw has receded, and it's going to one side.Shes only touching on one tooth.

    She's going to take pictures of her mouth , already wrote the surgeon a letter and we want to know why we were never told this could happen. This guy thinks he's God, went to Harvard.
    Then the other guy in Jersey didn't do his job correctly, never sent her for a scan called a cone bean scan to see wgwh was happening. I already had it out with him and it wasn't pretty.

    One thing about Ashley's crps, she has symptoms that other people don't have.
    We've seen 3 crps doctors and they all said they have never seen anyone with it that bad in their ears like Ashley does.
    Linda no lying if you drop a fork in the sink and she is by you, the ear pain will start immediately. That is why she can't go outside because how can you avoid noise.

    She only goes to doctor visits and she has to ask them to talk very low, then if course we have to explain why.
    If she talks to long herself she gets pain. In the summer when everyone is mowing their lawns, and then those damn blowers I have to put her in the car and go sit somewhere until they are done. It's the same thing in the winter time with the snow blowers.
    She uses this compound cream to put on her ears just to be able to lay on her side to sleep . Ketamine, gabepentin, Valium, and lidocaine.
    She used to be able to take it right from the jar and put it on, but the last year, if it was to cold it would start off pain on the outside and inside of the ears.
    Stabbing, pulsing, nerve pain.

    So now she has to wrap the jar in a heating pad and if it's to warm the same thing happens. She just can't win. She is petrified every time.

    So when this happens it might take about a week to go away.
    Well now it's taking longer to go away.
    This just happened a week ago with the cream and she is dying in so much pain Linda.
    Stabbing, throbbing, pressure like feeling and her head and eyes.
    It should be getting better by now but it's not.
    She hasn't slept yet since yesterday morning, no fooling.
    I was up with her all night , she is in so much pain that she's shaking from the pain.
    She was like a wild dog last night, she's going out of her mind.
    I could do nothing for her, I just wanted to put my hand through a window in anger that she has this disease.

    She's afraid it's not going to get a little bit better because it's lasting so long.
    So am I.
    Another weird symptom she can't eat anything that's room temperature, anything cold.
    Every damn thing she eats I have to put it in the microwave and get it to the right temperature so she can eat it, if it's too hot or to cold and she takes a bite out if it the pain starts in her teeth,leads to the eyes and then her ears.

    This is no way to live. The loniness is driving her crazy. She never had the chance to experience life, love, going to work ,etc.
    I can't tell you how I cry when I look at her while she's sleeping.
    I say how the hell and why did this happen to her.

    There is so much more I can tell you but you must be sorry you asked me how she was doing lol
    Her best girlfriend who had the same disease killed herself last year.
    She was the same age. They met on a support group and hut it off immediately.
    They talked on line , little did we come to find out she lived 15 minutes away from us.
    Her name was Jen. Besides having crps she also has trigeminal neuralgia.

    They spoke about 4 times a day on line. I met with her mom before she died and her mom knew that Jen would do it, because she just couldn't take the pain any longer.
    She tried everything also, the stimulator she had put in made things worse.
    She said to her mom that she had nothing to live for but extreme pain.
    I may sound horrible but I understand what she meant, so did her mom. But her mom cried to me that day and said I don't want to loose her but she didn't want to see her in pain any longer. I hope I don't sound heartless to you.


    So we planned to take Ashley over to see Jen and to just hug each other , even if it was for only 10 minutes, but unfortunately it was to late

    Annie her mom called me and I could tell in her voice that Jen was gone.
    I cried like a baby.
    I had to go inside to tell Ashley because I was outside on the phone at the time.
    I can't even tell you how Ashley broke down.
    She knew something was wrong when she didn't hear from Jen and the last time they spoke Jen said she loved her.
    Even though they only knew each other for about 4 months, it was like they knew each other for years.
    I belong to a lot of support groups and you wouldn't believe how many people have taken their lives.
    I worry about what happens when I die, what's going to happen to Ashley.
    Linda to tell you the truth , she prays every night that she dies in her sleep.
    She says to me Mom I don't want to live like this anymore, but I'm afraid to do what Jen did.
    Do you know what that does to me. I don't want to see her in pain every damn day, but I don't want to lose her either.
    Can you understand that, do I sound awful
    It's like she's in jail.
    Right now nothing is letting up, meaning Ashley's pain.
    I pray every night that I will wake up and she tells me she feels a little better.
    Aren't you glad you asked me how she was doing.
    I'm sorry I wrote a novel. I chew your ear off enough with Tyler.

    I appreciate you listening to me Linda.
    Well going to test Tyler now, let's see what he's up to.
    Will let you know @MrWorfMen's Mom
     
  24. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Oh my God I just realized that this is public, I thought it was private , sorry
     
  25. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @MrWorfMen's Mom Me again tested Tyler just now 9:00 pm
    Saturday 6-15-19
    PMPS - 142
    What do you think, should I still go with the fat 0.5 units or just 0.5 units @MrWorfMen's Mom
    Going to start to feed him , that should take about a half hour with the way he eats, hopefully I'll hear from you
     
  26. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    First of all, don't worry about it being public. This community is very caring and all I can say is that my heart goes out to anyone with chronic pain. I have PSA (psoriatic arthritis) which thankfully is in remission now but I can remember telling my rheumatologist, when in a flare up, that I would gladly let anyone willing chop off my fingers so I could get some relief. I get it at least to some degree. I don't know what to say. Give Ashley a big hug from me....not that it helps the pain but maybe it helps to know some people get it.

    If you are sure you can test Tyler, then I'd go with a right on the line 0.5u. He's looking so good.
     
  27. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I told Ashley I told you about her and she said thank you.
    Please tell me I don't have to test him every hour like I have done recently, Is a +2 a +4 and a +8 or 9 good enough. I'm glad you are in remission and understand about chronic pain @MrWorfMen's Mom
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2019
  28. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Absolutely fine. You have data to know when he hits his low point so while a wee bit more caution is needed now that he is in great numbers, it is not necessary to test every hour or even every 2 hours unless he gives you a clue he's doing something different. Get a +2 & +4. If you think he's dropping too much or too fast, you can use food to slow him down and make sure you get some sleep. You're no good to anyone if you get exhausted. Been there done that and it ain't fun!
     
  29. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Ok gotcha , just to be clear I'm giving him 0.5 units, NOT the fat 0.5 u
     
  30. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
  31. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Ok thanks Linda, have a good rest of the night, and kiss your Kitty's for me and Ashley
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  32. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Will do.You give Tyler some scritches from me. Sweet dreams all!:)
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  33. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    You just made Perry ( Tyler's brother) jealous not mentioning him lol just kidding
    Sweet dreams
     
  34. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Saturday 6-15-19
    PMPS. - 142
    +2. - 163
    +4 - 166
     
  35. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @MrWorfMen's Mom Sunday 6-16-19
    AMPS - 271
    Good morning Linda I'm not happy this morning with Tyler lol
    Should I stay with 0.5 u or go up to the 0.5 FAT unit
     
  36. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    He's likely bouncing a bit from all those beautiful blues. I'd give him the fat 0.5u. You backed him off a bit last night and that is probably playing into the AMPS too. He's looking good.
     
  37. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Ok thanks Linda, Tyler is giving me the blues, lol I'll give my fatty the 0.5 Fat dose
    and re check a few times . He may be looking good, but I look like hell lol
     
  38. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    We all have those days so no selfies today then! :woot:
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  39. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @MrWorfMen's Mom hey Linda I'm a bad mom, I planned on testing him at +2 which would have been noon
    Since I gave him a FAT 0.5 u I said I'm just going to close my eyes for a minute. Woke up at 2:00 pm,
    AMPS - 271
    +4 - 182
    The only other time I did a FAT 0.5 u was on 6-14-19
    I would have really wanted to see what he was at +2 today
    I guess I should do one more test before his PMPS?
    Next time I better set my alarm @MrWorfMen's Mom
     
  40. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Don't sweat it. That's happened to me more times than I care to count and I'm sure to many others too. I wouldn't get carried away testing this PM. Grab one around +8 or +9 just to fill in a little gap where testing doesn't happen very often. Will tell you if and how much he's on his way back up.
     
  41. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Ok will do, he's snoring away right, loud lol
    I'll post his PMPS around 8:30 and we'll see if we should go with the same
    dose of FAT 0.5 u . It's Tyler's fault I told him to wake me up lol
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  42. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hey Linda, just tested Tyler at +9 It was 191
    I filled it in on his SS , I'll see what his PMPS is tonight around 8:30 and see if
    if you still suggest the FAT 0.5 units like I did this morning @MrWorfMen's Mom
     
  43. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @MrWorfMen's Mom hey Linda filled in Tyler's SS for tonight
    Sunday 6-16-19
    PMPS .195
    Considering his +9 early this morning was 191
    do you think we should still stick with the FAT 0.5 units or lower it to 0.5 units exact @MrWorfMen's Mom
     
  44. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    I see Tyler didn't do any climbing since +9. That's good news. He's getting more use to those blues which is exactly what you want to see. If you are Ok testing till +4, then go with the fat 0.5u otherwise just a regular 0.5u. I'd grab a test at +2 and see what he's up to. I'll check in around 10:30 to see what he is up to.
     
  45. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    He finished eating at 9:30, so I'll shoot at 10:00. I have no problem giving the FAT 0.5 and then test at +2 and +4 , so +2 would be 12:00 midnight. I don't want you to stay up until then to see what he's doing. I'll just make sure if he's dropping to fast or to low
    I'll give him some food
     
  46. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Checking on another wee feline tonight at MN so will check on your two as well. :)
     
  47. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    One think I'm a little confused about, I know you told me what to do if I ever see him
    dropping to fast, here's my question
    Say I test at +2 and he's dropping to fast , ok I feed him some food,
    now do I have to test him after 30 minutes or so to see if it came up
    or can I test at +3 or +4 or is that to late to see if his BG comes up
    I hope you understand what I mean No need to answer I just looked back at
    #95 I guess that means the page or number of replys, whatever
    Lol I see what I should do
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2019
  48. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    You've got it. Check out the link too, It's got more info in it for handling dropping or low BG.
     
  49. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Ok just tested at +2
    PMPS was 195
    +2 - 154 so he dropped 41 points, guess I should do one more test, or should I do
    more than one @MrWorfMen's Mom
     
  50. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    I'd give Tyler a snack of LC food and check again at +4. He should be fine. That's a nice drop but not excessive. If he's down around 100 at +4 then give him a snack of medium carb if you have it or a little larger bit of LC and he should surf nicely. If he hasn't dropped that low, just a regular LC bit of food to hold him till morning.
     
  51. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Ok and thanks for checking in on him
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  52. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @MrWorfMen's Mom hey Linda well it's 4:50 am lol
    6-16-19 Sunday
    PMPS was 195 gave FAT 0.5 units
    +2. - 154
    +4.5 -143
    +6.5 - 186
    One thing I can't figure out to do is when I put the +4.5 and +6.5 on the
    Spreadsheet I don't know how to get the square to turn blue
    like you did for me when you entered Tyler's BG for me in the beginning @MrWorfMen's Mom
    When I test Tyler at night and when I give the FAT 0.5 units
    do I always have to test three times, or can I just test at +2
    and then again at +4 .You said earlier that if he was down
    around 100 at +4 then give a little snack of medium carb and if he hasn't dropped
    that low just give just a little bit of LC to hold him till morning. What I'm trying to
    try to say is if I feed him at +2, then check at +4 and feed
    again do I still have to re test after that +4
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2019
  53. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Not when you see he's not dropping sharply and is still at a good number.

    Last night Tyler started at 195 before his pre-shot meal and dropped to 154 at +2. You fed him at +2 and Tyler was 143 at +4 meaning his drop had slowed down and he still had plenty of room to drop down to 90 (a comfortable low with Vetsulin). Tyler usually hits the lowest point in his cycle in the +3 to 5 time frame so if he hasn't dropped as much by +4 and is still in a range where he has a ways to drop before he'd be heading into too low BG range, you can pretty much call it and head to bed. You can leave a bit more food down for him as insurance. Sorry I should have been clearer about that.
     
  54. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Oh yes...forgot the colouring question.
    You have to manually colour code the boxes where you have added text other than just a number. On the toolbar, just under and to the right of where "Last edit was xxxx" is, there is an icon that looks like a paint can that you use to colour the box. Select the box, then the paint can colour and voila! On the blue, you may need to change the text to white so you can read it easier. The text colour change is the "A" to the left of the paint can. Any problems, let me know and I'll fix it for you.
     
  55. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hey Linda, ok I'll try to color it. Tyler's BG this morning
    Monday 6-17-19
    AMPS - 153
    Should I stay with the FAT 0.5 u @MrWorfMen's Mom
    I don't see a paint can
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2019
  56. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    As long as you can monitor him today, yes go with the fat 0.5u. I'm loving those blue pre-shots but wish he'd dip just a tad lower mid cycle. Come on Tyler...dip your little paws in some nice dark green today! :cat:
     
  57. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    You crack me up, I can't fill in the spaces blue, I don't see a paint can, another thing I can't figure out, would you please do it for me
     
  58. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Ok. All done. My description of where the paint can is was off because your message about the update is longer so the paint can is underneath the text rather than to the right. Clear as mud right? :woot:
     
  59. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Thank you, it's irking me that I can't figure this out, I am actually opening up his
    SS and looking there , and I don't know what you mean when you say under the
    tool bar to the right of where last edit was xxx @MrWorfMen's Mom
     
  60. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Come to think of it, I did this on my PC and I don't think the toolbar shows on a tablet. My bad!:facepalm: I'll check the tablet and see how it gets done there 'cause I have no idea right now.
     
  61. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Don't worry about it, I'll never test at half hours lol
     
  62. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    If I tested on a half hour and it was just a normal expected non-alert type reading, I sometimes didn't bother with the quarter or half hour notation. It's absolutely needed though when you are fighting low numbers and testing very frequently which thankfully doesn't happen that often.
     
  63. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Ok, can't I just put it in if I want to or have to and just leave it white like it was
    before you fixed it for me
     
  64. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    You can but when I look at the spreadsheet the first thing I do is see the colour pattern. Then I look at actual numbers. Doesn't really matter to me but if someone else is helping you not knowing Tyler, it would be better to have the colour coding. I happen to learn the US scale of BG measure when I was in nurse's training and quite frankly prefer it to our metric but I can work in either. Most folks who are not American, use the metric system and to a degree they also tend to be the ones who help more on the Vetsulin board so it just helps having a visual with the colour coding. I'll check out the tablet and figure out how to do it. If I can't, then I'll fix it as needed. :)
     
  65. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Ok Linda, I appreciate it, yes I see what you mean about seeing the color pattern
    and other people that might have to help at one point who doesn't know Tyler
    I only want you helping me lol , you can teach the vets a thing or two, more than that
    But I see what you mean if you are not available and someone else might have to help
     
  66. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @MrWorfMen's Mom Please tell me if I'm figuring this correctly
    Ok As we know Tyler's BG this morning was 153
    Just tested him at
    +2. - 133
    So he dropped 20 points so far
    Going by that , ( tell me if I'm right) I wouldn't feed him anything
    because he still has 70 more points before he would go down to 90 BG
    Is this doing the correct thing? @MrWorfMen's Mom
    Probably not correct because I just looked at what we did
    last night when his BG was 195 and at +2 it was 154 and I did feed him
    some food.
     
  67. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Yes that's essentially it. Now that said, if you normally feed him a snack around this time, that is fine. Consistency in feeding times and amounts helps to keep the picture from blurring due to changes in routine. But if he was dropping faster and he usually gets fed now, you could just increase quantity or if dropping a lot, up the carbs a bit.
     
  68. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Well of course the big lug is fast asleep, he usually doesn't bother me for a snack
    right now. He is snoring away in the bathroom lol. I am just trying to do some things
    on my own instead of always having to ask you, but honestly I'd rather
    ask you. I'm just trying to learn . I'm going to test him at +4

    Now he comes out of the bathroom, looking for a snack
    I just gave him a little bit of Dr Elseys Clean Protein Dry at 1:40 pm
    I hope this doesn't influence his +4 test to much
    You can forget about the Dr Elseys dry, as soon as he ate it he threw it up
    This happens when he doesn't chew them and eats them to fast.
    So I'm sure it didn't affect the +4 which was +4- 141
    So no more testing until tonight, correct @MrWorfMen's Mom
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2019
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  69. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @MrWorfMen's Mom
    Hey Linda
    Tested Tyler
    Monday 6-17-19
    PMPS - 178
    I guess I should go with the 0.5 FAT
    How did his morning numbers look to you
     
  70. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    He's looking great. I'm thinking give him another day at a fat 0.5u and then we'll consider bumping him up if he's not come down a bit more. :)
     
  71. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Ok will do, 0.5 FAT and will re test him tonight. Hope you had a good day
    and will talk later if you are up
     
  72. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Was up till about 3am last night watching a kitty unexpectedly riding on the edge of too low. Got a couple of things to deal with here if I can keep my mind working and then I'm calling it a night. Had a nap this afternoon but I'm still whipped. This getting older is a b***h! :woot:
     
  73. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    You really must have been exhausted.hope you get a good night's sleep
     
  74. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Monday 6-17-19
    PMPS 178
    +2 - 143
    Was planning to do a +4 but fell asleep @MrWorfMen's Mom
     
  75. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Morning Linda Tuesday 6-18-19

    AMPS. - .176
    Do you think we should stay at FAT 0.5 for one more day? @MrWorfMen's Mom
     
  76. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @MrWorfMen's Mom I've got to shoot now so I guess I'll stay with the
    FAT 0.5 now until we speak later
     
  77. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Yep I'd stick with the fat 0.5u.
     
  78. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Okie Dokie
     
  79. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @MrWorfMen's Mom just tested Tyler at +2.5 ( would you go in and put the half in for me, I only put +2
    IT WAS 106. I just gave him some food and re check in 20 minutes
    Is that to soon to re check? When I fed him at 12.30 pm I gave him some dry Iams chicken
    Flavor I had here, so that's what I gave him, I know it was
    Probably consideted high carb, but I got nervous , I probably
    Should have given the Dr Elseys Clean Protein right? @MrWorfMen's Mom
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2019
  80. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    you don't need to check in 20 minutes. Check him again at +3.5 but even that after the high carb is probably going to be up. Stick to low carb unless he get below 80 to 90 range, and if he's just a little below 80 maybe medium carb. Save the high carb for if he drops below 70 unless he is dropping really fast. :)

    ETA - I'll fix the SS in a few minutes.
    ETA 2 - Spreadsheet fixed.
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2019
  81. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Ok it's to late I just tested him at 1:15 m and it went up to 114
    I'll check later on , I just got so nervous
     
  82. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    That 106/114 is basically the same number and great numbers at that. That's where you want him to be so try not to overreact....I know easier said than done!:woot: So that 114 would be about +3.25 right? Check again at +4 or in an hour and no more food for now.
     
  83. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    The 114 was 3 hrs and 15 min and thank you for fixing the SS
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  84. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Ok all up to date. Just going to check out how to manually colour boxes on tablet. Wish me luck!
     
  85. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I just feel like I can't make the simplest decision by myself and if I do it's not right lol.
    I feel like I'm always a bother with the questions I have. @MrWorfMen's Mom
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2019
  86. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Good Luck! @MrWorfMen's Mom
     
  87. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Ok just tested at +4 157
    So no more testing until PMPS
    I filled it in on his SS
    I hope giving him that little bit of Iams Dry didn't screw
    Up his PMPS number, meaning it will be higher than if
    I didn't feed Iams. Maybe that 157 at +4 would have been
    Lower if I didn't give the Iams @MrWorfMen's Mom
     
  88. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Unfortunately you're right. The Iams probably is responsible for some of that 157. Dry food takes longer than wet to fully show up in the BG. Now you know for next time. We want to keep him surfing in the high dark green or lower blues so a little food to keep the surf going rather than anything to intentionally raise BG will do unless he continues to drop and is heading for dangerous levels. ;)
     
  89. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I screwed up, now I do know for next time. What about the Dr Elseys Clean Protein Dry which I think is 4 carbs, not even that , just give wet food? @MrWorfMen's Mom
     
  90. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    The Dr. Elsey's would be a better choice but remember, the dry food will take longer to hit the bloodstream so dry of any sort should be a last resort along with some wet food if you are trying to raise numbers. The Dr. Elsey's won't raise numbers excessively but it will take longer to hit his system so he might keep dropping more until it hits making you think it's not working to keep him surfing. I had to use dry food for Menace for the longest time and never had a problem but then her BG was easy to get up and she wasn't a long prolonged diver. I also was not easily able to just get her to surf vs. shooting her higher than I would have liked.
     
  91. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Ok from now on I'll just give him the FF Wet
     
  92. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @MrWorfMen's Mom just tested Tyler
    Tuesday 6-18-19
    PMPS -170
    Stick with the FAT 0.5? I thought his BG was going to be higher tonight because of the
    Iams I gave him. I filled it in in his SS will shoot at 10:00 pm @MrWorfMen's Mom
     
  93. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Nice cycle today. Stick with the fat 0.5u for tonight. Let's see if his "shaken" not "rolled" martini works better tonight. LOL!
     
  94. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Ok will do my friend, to bad I don't drink or else I would join him lol .
    We will see what happens the rest of the night
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  95. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @MrWorfMen's Mom
    Ok just tested at +2 - 117
    Now should I give him a little bit of FF or just re test at +4
    His PMPS was 170
    So 170 - 117 leaves him 53 points to play with? @MrWorfMen's Mom I just re read some of my notes and it says at +2 he should be dropping
    so any thing over 50 points give a little wet food, is that correct
    I did give him some FF at +2 then re tested at +4 still 117
    So I gave him just a little bit more FF or should I have not fed at +4 and retested at +5 or +6
    and see what it was. There must have been something going on with the site, it kept timing out for a about an hour for me , but now it just worked for me at 2:36 am Eastern time. Had to be something wrong, I don't know ,I was getting nervous about it not working
    Tested him at +6 was 128 , did not feed after this and did not test, I hope I did all the correct things @MrWorfMen's Mom
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2019
  96. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Sounds like you handled last night like a pro. You kept him surfing in the blues and that's ideal. Sorry but I was sawing logs when you posted last night.
     
  97. CandyH & Catcat

    CandyH & Catcat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    site appeared to be down for a while last night, server maintenance? who knows .. but I admire you for managing so cleverly there
     
  98. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @MrWorfMen's Mom why thank you lol, hey I did something right lol.
    WEDNESDAY 6-19-19
    AMPS - 156
    FAT 0.5 u Again? @MrWorfMen's Mom
    Mystery solved about the site last night , I have just seen other people have said it was down last night for awhile
    Going to stay with the FAT 0.5 units this morning , will be shooting in about 10 minutes
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2019
  99. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Good decision. Gardening day so back to work for me! :D
     
  100. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I thought it was only me that was having problems with the site, thanks for letting me know
    Don't get to pooped out gardening , talk later wow we are on page 3 already
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2019

Share This Page