MGinelli
Member Since 2018
Hi everyone! First off--please forgive the state of my FDMB spreadsheet tracking my cat Samantha's BG levels. I'm trying to test every 3 days or so to hopefully determine the correct Prozinc dosage, but there have been so many variables that it's been difficult. In addition, my vet seems to believe that a BG at 150 or lower is an "EMERGENCY" situation, but I know from enough forum reading that getting below 150 can be and is a very good thing! With that said, my kitty Samantha was diabetic in the past and went into remission. Previously she was on Vetsulin and I got her into remission in about 3 months. However, on top of diabetes, she has been diagnosed with IBD. I thought I had everything under control with a raw food diet but suddenly she developed an allergy/reaction to her raw food -- so back to the drawing board.
Long story not-so-short, Samantha ended up in an emergency situation (vomiting and persistent diarrhea, dehydration, etc.) One $800 ultrasound appointment later told me that her bowels were inflamed and that we should get her on Prednisolone to ease the inflammation. She was 5 mg pred for 2 weeks, and I slowly decreased her dosage every two weeks. She is now on 2.5 mg every 3 days and has one week left before I stop completely. Along with the Prednisolone, I changed her diet (a couple of times) as we had been trying to find a good diet for her before the emergency situation since she was not responding well to her RadCat raw food. At this time, she is eating Young Again food. I know the reviews and feelings are mixed regarding this food, but it's not easy to find a LID food that is truly low carb that Samantha will eat. I really do have a picky princess here. I really don't want to be reamed about my current food choice. YA is a good option in my opinion and is a hydrolyzed protein, and Samantha seems to be responding well to it and not experiencing any BG spikes after eating.
My struggle and reason for my post today is that I can't seem to find a good starting dose of Prozinc for Samantha. I have a link to her BG curves or AMPS/PMPS values in my signature for anyone to look at. I feel like 1.5 units is a good AM dose, and nadir is low but not too low. The issue is, the BG is staying low all the way up to her PMPS reading resulting in a no-shoot for the evening. Then I see her BG slowly creep up again and I get all lost on what to dose for her AM shot. So pretty much, things have been all over the place.
I think I have two options, but I really need some help here to make sure I'm not missing something. Maybe I'm going about this all wrong! I'm trying to follow the Prozinc protocol and at least wait for a full 3-cycles before making changes. I would prefer not to have to test her BG daily, but try to find a dose to keep her regulated and spot check monthly.
Gosh, that was so much. Thanks for whoever has the patience to read through all of this and help me out! Again, a link to her BG curves and AMPS/PMPS values is in my signature.
Long story not-so-short, Samantha ended up in an emergency situation (vomiting and persistent diarrhea, dehydration, etc.) One $800 ultrasound appointment later told me that her bowels were inflamed and that we should get her on Prednisolone to ease the inflammation. She was 5 mg pred for 2 weeks, and I slowly decreased her dosage every two weeks. She is now on 2.5 mg every 3 days and has one week left before I stop completely. Along with the Prednisolone, I changed her diet (a couple of times) as we had been trying to find a good diet for her before the emergency situation since she was not responding well to her RadCat raw food. At this time, she is eating Young Again food. I know the reviews and feelings are mixed regarding this food, but it's not easy to find a LID food that is truly low carb that Samantha will eat. I really do have a picky princess here. I really don't want to be reamed about my current food choice. YA is a good option in my opinion and is a hydrolyzed protein, and Samantha seems to be responding well to it and not experiencing any BG spikes after eating.
My struggle and reason for my post today is that I can't seem to find a good starting dose of Prozinc for Samantha. I have a link to her BG curves or AMPS/PMPS values in my signature for anyone to look at. I feel like 1.5 units is a good AM dose, and nadir is low but not too low. The issue is, the BG is staying low all the way up to her PMPS reading resulting in a no-shoot for the evening. Then I see her BG slowly creep up again and I get all lost on what to dose for her AM shot. So pretty much, things have been all over the place.
I think I have two options, but I really need some help here to make sure I'm not missing something. Maybe I'm going about this all wrong! I'm trying to follow the Prozinc protocol and at least wait for a full 3-cycles before making changes. I would prefer not to have to test her BG daily, but try to find a dose to keep her regulated and spot check monthly.
Gosh, that was so much. Thanks for whoever has the patience to read through all of this and help me out! Again, a link to her BG curves and AMPS/PMPS values is in my signature.