unintentional skipped dose, ideal numbers, feeding, and dosing

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by mistymisty, Jan 27, 2019.

1. mistymisty

mistymisty New Member

So I’m pretty new to this. Still reading and re-reading in order to learn and hopefully actually retain as much info as possible. Forgive me If I’m asking things that have probably been rehashed to death or are easy to find and I’ve totally overlooked. I used the search function quite a bit before making this post so not to be too much of a bother, and I’ve read the stickied posts in the ProZinc forum.

Background info:

Misty is 18 - or at least that’s how long my mom has had her - about to celebrate her 19th year with us very soon. She was diagnosed this month on the 17th and was started on 1.5u of ProZinc 2x daily. My partner and I are taking care of Misty now, as my mom is unable to. We started feeding her the DM food at the vet’s suggestion, but after reading this forum are now feeding the Tiki Cat luau and after dark lines. We tried Fancy Feast, but Misty has a very sensitive stomach and, unfortunately for our wallets, seems to get really bad diarrhea and bloating with it like she does with many other foods she’s been given in the past. She also needs a low sodium diet due to high blood pressure which resulted in the start of HCM, but fortunately the cardiologist said that it is mild and hopefully will not progress further as long as her blood pressure stays under control, so we are trying very hard to not fret over that for now.

So now onto our totally newbish questions:

Feeding: