Update / Question about Curve

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by JennRoss86, May 9, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JennRoss86

    JennRoss86 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Hey Everyone!

    I am forever indebted to this forum for all your help you've given me so far! Grey was in the low to mid blues all day yesterday. I plan to do a curve on Thursday because it is my only day off until Monday, and I don't want to adjust his dose that far away. Can someone take a peek at my (new-ish) chart and see if I've given him enough (or will have given him enough) 0.5U to do a curve Thursday?

    I also attached a pic of him smiling :) I hope all of your kitty's are doing well! Give them all nose boops for me:cat:

    Love,
    Jenn & Mister Grey
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    What a super cutie!
    Are you doing TR or SLGS?
    With TR you can do curve on Thursday, if SLGS they say wait 7 days which would be monday
     
  3. JennRoss86

    JennRoss86 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Thank you!

    I guess I'm doing a TR or something in between the two? I just did a +7 check that read 104, which is great! Tonights shoot will be #5 for this 0.5 dose and he's been blue for 3 days (see SS)

    My concern is 8 days ago I switched his diet from high carb dry, to low carb/high protein wet only. He was getting 9U 2x day at the end of April. I kept him off insulin for several days before joining this forum, and the food dropped his numbers significantly. Someone recommended that I start at the 0.5 dose and see how it goes. He's doing very well, and if I give him the #6 dose tonight I'm expecting him to drop into the green numbers, which is why I think a curve would be beneficial at this point?
     
  4. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
  5. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    do curve tomorrow
    That is amazing that he was on 9u!! In April, good going moms bean, u got him down to .5
     
  6. JennRoss86

    JennRoss86 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Thank you!! I feel like I've been enlightened after researching on my own, finding this wonderful forum and experimenting!

    Correct me if I'm wrong, but is it safe to say that if I'm +7 from his AM shot, then the 104 reading could possibly be Nadir?

    Also, I'm currently troubleshooting how to input numbers on a separate sheet to create my own graph for his curve tomorrow :)
     
  7. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    When you do the curve the lowest point is the nadir, the 107 could possibly be, hard to say with just that 1 in middle of day, could have been lower, we don’t know, but with the curve you will know
     
  8. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Put the curve on your spreadsheet where we can see it
     
  9. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    The difference in his BGs after a food change is stunning!! Very nice run of blues going on right now. Yes, I think you can do a curve at this dose tomorrow. Cute smiling kitty! :)
     
  10. JennRoss86

    JennRoss86 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Thank you, I'm so proud of him!!

    I just made a chart from an old curve I did back in January when he was on Vetsulin. It was the curve that changed the vets mind and we switched Grey to Lantus. I'll add tomorrow's curve also! I can't wait for these numbers!!
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page