Urgent and newbie here

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Stephanie91215, Aug 24, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Stephanie91215

Stephanie91215 Member

So here is the back story. She was diagnosed 1 week ago today. Her number was over 400 at the vet. He put get on vetsulin 1 unit twice daily. He told me not to worry about testing her until she is on the insulin for a couple weeks. I decided against that and started testing her last night. An hour and half after her shot she was at 91 and then she dropped to 42. So I fed her high carb food and slowly brought her number up to 106 and holding. I checked her about 6 hours later and she was at 236. I made the decision to skip her shot. Through the day I checked and her numbers were 266, 280, and 333. I fed her waited 20 mins and gave her half a unit shot. 2 hours later I tested her and her number is 66. I fed her high carb food again and will retest in an hour. Can someone may be give me some insite to whats happening? I'm very confused.

Joanne&TinySole likes this.
  2. Chris & China (GA)

Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

Did you change her diet at all??

Also, tests done at the vets office are pretty much useless....the stress of being crated, driven to the vet, sitting in the waiting room and being poked and prodded by someone you hate can raise the blood glucose up to 200 points

Once you go home and kitty relaxes, you can get vastly different results.

Thank goodness you decided to home test!!

3. Red & Rover (GA)

Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

Kudos to you for testing and for catching the low numbers.

Are you using a human glucometer or a pet glucometer?

4. Stephanie91215

Stephanie91215 Member

Before she got diagnosed she stopped eating her dry food so I switched her to fancy feast with gravy. Once she was diagnosed I switched her to blue wilderness pate style which is 3% carb.