Vet is not supporting home testing...

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by JensBailey, Aug 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JensBailey

JensBailey Member

I am a newbie to this message board. Bailey has had diabetes for 3 years now. Poor guy is only 7 years old now! I know he is young, sadly.
    I have been going to the same vet since my cat has been diagnosed with diabetes. I'm a little leary leaving them, but they are not supporting me in doing the home testing. I can't figure out if its just because they want the $$ from me bringing him in every 2 weeks to do a curve, or they don't feel confident in letting their clients do this themselves. Either way, I am considering starting this on my own, but have no idea where to start.
    The other problem I have is the vet also has Bailey on Hills M/D (dry formula) I'm just reading now that this is not good, but isn't it much better than wet foods with high carbohydrates?
    I am struggling with keeping my cat's BG levels stable and consistent. We have him on a steady eating schedule and giving 7 units 2x's per day (Lantus/Glargine.) This seems very high compared to other's! I am starting to wonder if I need to look in another direction. We started off 3 years ago giving 3 units, now we are up to 7.
    Any suggestions on what I can do differently would be appreciated. I brought him to the vet last month and we finally got his BG levels stable with 7 units. The highest # was 220 lowest was 60.

2. Larry and Kitties

Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

Welcome. The 220/60 is a very good range. Switching Bailey to a low carb canned food should reduce his insulin needs. Yes seven units bid is a little high but not unreasonable for being on dry food. If/when you switch to canned you should reduce the dose.