? Vet report! Squallie AMPS 197, +2/149, +4/139, +5.30/100, +8.30/129, PMPS 140, +2/167, +5/169

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Squalliesmom, Aug 11, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
  2. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Don't panic Lucy just get a +1 on him and steer if you need to. A early shot will act like a dose increase. Take a deep breath. Just be vigilant. Today's vet visit will likely have him running higher due to stress.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  3. Shoeskitty-GA

    Shoeskitty-GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Hang in there Lucy! Just monitor him closely and add food to keep him up. I agree with Bobbie. The vet visit may stress him and raise his bg up.
     
  4. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Did you feed already? Test +1 and +2 to see where he's heading.

    I've done it sometimes on purpose. Just a little extra monitoring is needed.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  5. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Bobbie. I'm always so diligent about making sure he gets his shots at the proper time! We have a long trip to the vet, almost an hour, so I don't know how that will factor in.
     
  6. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks Sandi, I hope it does, for once!
     
  7. Tuxedo Mom

    Tuxedo Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    I have often shot an hour early and never seen any major effects. At the very worst it could act as a bit of a dose increase.
     
  8. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    If traveling stresses him out he will likely go higher. Some cats do go lower with stress ECID, Bubba spikes under stress. Can you get a +1 in before you travel?
     
  9. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Yes, he ate his full breakfast. We're getting ready to leave for the vet, I'm taking his test kit and a can of food with us!
     
    saltycat and Shoeskitty-GA like this.
  10. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks! It really sent me into a panic!
     
    Tuxedo Mom likes this.
  11. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Good idea!
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  12. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    And good luck at the vet! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  13. Shoeskitty-GA

    Shoeskitty-GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    If he ate all of his breakfast, he should be good. Keep us updated when you can. Prayers and vines for the vetty visit too! and safe travels!
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  14. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    He should be fine. The vet trip will most likely raise his BG. It's a good idea to take food and his testing supplies just in case. I hope you get some answers today. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  15. Tuxedo Mom

    Tuxedo Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    If you have any concerns take your testing equipment, some food and a small container of syrup with you. I did that one time when Tuxie decided to do some diving right before a vet appointment.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  16. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    He will be fine! Vetty vines. Max always goes up from vet stress. It just acts like a slight increase.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  17. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Sending lots of good vetty vines for Squallie. :bighug::bighug:
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  18. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Many thanks to every body for the reassurance this morning! I took test kit, food and Karo with us, fortunately he was fine and I didn't have to use the food or Karo.

    Now for the bad news:

    Upper teeth on both sides of his mouth have so much tartar that we can't tell the condition of t he tooth underneath. On the left side there appears to be some irritation at the gumline, vet doesn't think it's infected, though. Front right canine has obvious resorptive lesion, which means, to me, that there are probably more resorptive issues that we are just not seeing yet. His vet will send him to a dental specialist, if I want to have the teeth removed. The vet does not think this is the cause of Squallie's high glucose issues. (Honestly, I don't see how it's possible that it is NOT bothering him!) He thinks a dental for Squall will be about $1000.00, which, of course, I don't have. He thinks another senior panel and urine testing is more likely to pinpoint the issue of high glucose, if indeed there is one. We are going to give him Clavamox for a week to see if anything changes (I don't like doing ABs "just in case" but right now I'm willing to try it to see if anything does change. However, it seems to me that Squallie is definitely going to need a dental , so I don't see any point in waiting till it gets worse. The vet is concerned about Squallie, at his age, undergoing the major dental surgery it will require to remove that canine, which is still very firm in the jaw. But what are the options? I just don't see any, and waiting is only going to make it worse, to my thinking!
     
  19. Tuxedo Mom

    Tuxedo Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Antirobe also called clindamycin is an excellent antibiotic for dental inflammation/infection. I used it with one of mine for a week before his dental and there was a major improvement in the gums and tissue.

    I agree that if Squallie needs a dental then it shouldn't be left too long. If a person has an abscess A/B will help with the infection, but until the cause of the problem is dealt with the infection will continue to re-occur.
     
  20. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    :bighug: I just looked at his April labs and his kidney values are good. Kidney disease would be the issue with a dental. I think there's a good chance that the teeth are the cause of tge high glucose. Not dealing with it can cause issues. It sounds like your vet would not be the one you need to do the dental though. Vet dentists are very expensive but are used to dealing with difficult cases. When I checked into one I found out they need to sedate for X-rays and only tgen know what the cost will be and what needs to be done. I opted to key my vet do it. He doesn't take X-rays unless needed and only will remove teeth if necessary. Most here go the dentist route and would not agree with how my vets do it though.
     
    jayla-n-Drevon and Squalliesmom like this.
  21. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Poor Squallie....... bad teeth and tarter with inflammation = higher BG numbers in my book. Maybe the dental vet specialist is the answer as he will be more adapt the removal of the canine which does have the longest root in the mouth. Forrest fracture his upper left canine and it had to be removed but of course he was only about 7 or 8 at the time.

    Maybe a consult phone visit with the specialist so you can ask all the questions you have.

    Sending you hugs.:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  22. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    My vet said he would do it if I wanted him to, but given Squallie's age and the drilling that needs to be done to remove that canine, he would rather I take him to the specialist. Squall may have some very early kidney disease but I don't think it's bad at all. Interestingly, the vet did not hear the heart murmur today.
     
  23. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    I forgot to mention that Squallie has gained 1 1/2 lbs, and the vet thinks this may account for some of the higher BG issue. I agree that it may contribute to it, but that's not the full answer, I'm certain.
     
  24. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Heart murmurs come and go. How they assign numbers can vary from vet to vet and time to time. When my vet thought Max's sounded worse he had me see a cardiologist. The type Max has is benign and can sound louder if stressed. No follow up was needed unless he develops a different issue, HUGE ANTI-JINX on that one. With a difficult extraction I would see a specialist as well.

    I'm trying to get Max's weight down too in hopes it will improve his BP. No easy task. He goes up and down a few ounces back and forth. Good luck with all this. :bighug:
     
  25. Tuxedo Mom

    Tuxedo Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014

    Just as Elise said heart murmurs can be transient and are also vet subjective. Tuxie has been assigned a level 2 and level 3 by different vets at different times then no murmur again another time by both the same vets. I wanted them both to offer an opinion at the same time to help rule out the subjectivity.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  26. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    With Squallie it's either feast or famine, lol, he's always either underweight or overweight.
     
  27. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I hope you can get Squallie in for a dental.:bighug: Neko's weight has varied up and down, range of 2.5 pounds, and not made much different to her insulin needs.

    Neko had a pretty consistent heart murmur, and even though the first two echocardiograms said it was benign, I still went with the dental vet. They also do extra monitoring of the vitals while under anesthesia. They may also use some of the new anesthesia protocols that are easier on diabetics. The piece of mind was worth it. And the dental X-rays showed things below the gum line that were not visible on inspection. And the price sounds about right for a specialist, and may go up based on number of extractions. Some members have used on-line fundraisers with success to help pay for dentals. You will need an up to date blood work (within 3 months) of doing a dental.

    Nice to see Squallie in blues today. Good thing you took food and test kit. Neko goes down at the vet. :rolleyes:
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  28. Shoeskitty-GA

    Shoeskitty-GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Glad that you got some answers Lucy. And glad that his BG stayed safe! Best of luck in deciding what to do!!! Prayers and hugs!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  29. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    It does sound like he needs to get the dental done. I hope you can work things out. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  30. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks for the info! I worry so much about him. Can you point me in the direction of any members who have used 0nline fundraisers? I have absolutely no idea how one goes about that.
     
  31. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Rover's BG #s always dropped drastically about an hour or two after he was home from the vet. I'd test him at the vet and he'd be fine, but later … Please take the occasional test today.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  32. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I believe @Chris & China is one. Maybe she can PM you some details.
     
  33. jayla-n-Drevon

    jayla-n-Drevon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Sending prayers :bighug::bighug:
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  34. rhiannon and shadow (GA)

    rhiannon and shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    look up go fund me type sites....

    the teeth definitely can be his high numbers....
    especially with resportive lesions.... ( been there, did 3 dentals and needed a fourth)
    lesions always have more teeth involved than one can see with the eye, x rays are mandantory and the price is right.

    the age is a worry.....
    it's a big decision....
    it's all about quality of life.... but also facing the possible end....
    mine had 8 surgeries/anethesia and made it to 14.5....

    anesthesia is a risk no matter what the age....
    :bighug::bighug:
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  35. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    sent you some info
     
    Squalliesmom and Wendy&Neko like this.
  36. Jane & Boo (GA)

    Jane & Boo (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    My local vet does dentals and extractions too, but he doesn't have the proper equipment to do a thorough and proper job. Because he is less than confident doing difficult extractions, I went looking for another vet who can do more challenging procedures. The one I now use doesn't advertise as a "dental specialist", but they should. They do fabulous work and are less expensive than the specialists. For comparison... one of my civvies (Peachie) needed full mouth extractions because of out-of-control caudal stomatitis. A specialist in Gaithersburg, Md quoted me $3,000. The vet that I settled on did it for $1500 and was simply outstanding in every way throughout the consult, procedure, and follow up. I chose them because they were confident, experienced, and had the proper equipment. Six months after the extractions, Peachie is the picture of health and all signs of her stomatitis is gone.

    Because they did so well with Peachie, Boo was next. Even after a dental with my local vet, Boo still acted like she had oral pain. The new vet found 4 teeth with resorptive lesions under the gum line where the local vet couldn't see them (because he lacks the proper equipment). After the removal of those teeth, Boo was happier and her BG numbers started to improve. I think I paid less than $800 for that dental. The moral of the story is that a specialist may not be necessary as long as you can find a regular vet who is up to date in their training and have invested in modern equipment that they know how to use. I wish I could help out with funding advise. Hopefully others on the forum will be able to point you in a viable direction. Best of luck to you. :bighug:
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  37. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    {{{Lucy}}}

    I know you're stressed, but I do think you have your answers. I agree with the general consensus that, if you can swing it, a specialist is the best way to go. I would definitely see if you can get a phone interview with one to give you a better idea of what they would want to do and what you can expect.

    Sending lots of good vines for your baby and :bighug:s for you.
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  38. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks! I've been testing and keeping a close eye on him, so far so good! :)
     
  39. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    I wish I was near your vet, unfortunately I'm on the other side of the Bay! My vet has the equipment, he just would rather not do the canine extraction, so my only other option even semi-locally is a dental specialist. I don't like taking him to vets that don't know him, and me; his vet, I know, has a personal relationship with Squallie, but the specialist won't, and I'm always afraid he won't get the personal care he does at his vet's.
     
  40. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Tricia. This has turned into a long and less than happy day, the vines and hugs are right on time!
     
    jayla-n-Drevon likes this.
  41. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Jayla, we definitely need them! :bighug:
     
    jayla-n-Drevon likes this.
  42. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Rhiannon. That's what I figured about the resorptive lesion; where there is one there are undoubtedly more. After seeing the damage I can't believe he doesn't have pain - it's got to hurt. I don't really think I have any option but to get it all taken care of, in spite of the risk. I can't let him go on like this with dental pain, that's definitely not good quality of life.
     
    jayla-n-Drevon likes this.
  43. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Wendy, much appreciated!
     
    jayla-n-Drevon likes this.
  44. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Hi Lucy - still - it's best that you went to the vet and know what you are dealing with Poor little guys can't tell us if they have a toothache - I always worry about that
    You'll get it all sorted out - :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  45. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Thanks, Carol. I hate to think he's pain.I worry so much about him!
     
    Carol & Murphy (GA) likes this.
  46. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    I know, Lucy, I know
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
  47. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    :bighug:
     
  48. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Whew, what a day we have had! His PMPS is only 140, I'm screwing up all my courage and shooting his full dose. Who needs sleep, anyway, lol?!
     
  49. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Yeah....it's highly overrated so I hear.....Not like I'd know of course......LOL
     
    Squalliesmom likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page