? Vet says to test after food

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Sara and Mr. Kitty, Dec 14, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sara and Mr. Kitty

    Sara and Mr. Kitty Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Mr. Kitty and I went to the vet today for his first BG test post diagnosis (14 days mind you). I home test (thanks to finding this forum) so really no need to go except I feel his 3U of Vetsulin 2x/day is to much and wanted to talk to the vet about my concerns. I test him before food and today his BG was 166 so I gave him his FF and 2.5U. His BG +6 was 87 at the vet. They were concerned and said that’s too low and told me I need to test after feeding and to skip insulin if his BG is under 250. Does that sound right? They want to do a curve Monday, which is fine. I guess my question is do I test before or after food? Thanks for helping us :)
     
  2. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    The preshot test is done BEFORE food. Otherwise it will be artificially inflated by the food, and when the food wears off he may go to low. I would lower that dose to no more than 1. 1 unit twice a day is the recommended starting dose. 3 is way way too much.

    166 is just barely over normal. We usually recommend no insulin if under 200-250 (prefood) in a newly diagnosed cat.
     
  3. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Save your money and do the curve at home. It's more accurate than at the vet.
     
  4. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
  5. Sara and Mr. Kitty

    Sara and Mr. Kitty Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Thank you!
     
  6. Sara and Mr. Kitty

    Sara and Mr. Kitty Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    I thought about canceling the appt. to save the $150.
     
    Beck and Philly likes this.
  7. Sara and Mr. Kitty

    Sara and Mr. Kitty Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    JanetNJ likes this.
  8. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Good advice from Janet.
     
    Sara and Mr. Kitty likes this.
  9. Sara and Mr. Kitty

    Sara and Mr. Kitty Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    :bighug::bighug::bighug:
    Oh my gosh I viewed your testing video on YouTube earlier this week and couldn’t find it yesterday to share with my husband and here I was re-reading your responses and saw the link! Yay!
    And seriously, thank you for confirming it’s best to test before food, 3U was way to much and that I should test my boo myself. I don’t have much diabetes management confidence with my newer vet. I was feeling really really down about this whole situation, losing my confidence and second guessing everything. I’m now much more confident thanks to your responses:bighug:
     
    JanetNJ and Barbara & Uncle (GA) like this.
  10. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    I'm so glad I could help. I know there is a lot to learn in the beginning and all we want to do is keep our furry friends safe and help them feel better. You guys are doing a great job. This group is here for you anytime you need. If 1 unit proves to be not enough then we will suggest raising the dose in very small 0.25-0.5 increment.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2018
  11. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Looking at your chart I see your dose is all over. Try doing just 1 unit twice a day and see what the numbers do. I think you were seeing high numbers from going too low and bouncing up. Let the numbers settle a bit.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page