Thank you all for responding! His initial dose at dx was 2u twice daily. vet wanted it lower so we went to 3. Then he didn't seem to respond and vet kept upping it. We got up to 9u twice a day. Then something clicked and it was too much. we lowered and lowered until we got to 6u twice a day. vet was happy with that but he was 600 preshot and would drop to 31. She said as long as he acted ok at 31 it was alright. I didn't agree with that so i went lower. I went back to 2 then got back to 4.5u twice a day. It was then suggested to me to try the tid dosing. i did 3u tid. his numbers were smoother but not getting down where they needed to be. I did this for a week and yesterday I went back to the bid dosing at 3u. I don't know if the changes have him all over the place or what. I did see some blue numbers but then it went red. I did ask the vet about a different insulin and she told me that this was the insulin of choice. I feel like i am failing him.
You are not failing Rollie, please don't think that you are! However, I'm not convinced that your vet isn't failing both Rollie and you! A blood glucose number of 31 is
NOT okay for a diabetic cat on insulin.
Ever. On the contrary, it can be extremely dangerous. Your vet should know this! Additionally, dropping so far, from 600 to 31, is incredibly hard on a cat's system, and can make them feel quite ill. Vetsulin is not what I would necessarily call the insulin of
choice; it is one of the insulins
used. Some cats do very well on Vetsulin, others don't; this is true with any insulin. Vetsulin can be harsh with the steep, quick drops, and some people (and it sounds like you may be one of them) find that it doesn't have a full 12-hour duration. There are several other insulins available for cats with FD; ProZinc, Lantus, Levemir are probably the most widely-used. I can't speak for ProZinc or Levemir from personal experience, but I switched from Vetsulin to Lantus and it has worked much better for my cat. If the Vetsulin is not working for Rollie I would definitely ask the vet for a Rx for a different one. If she won't give you one, you might want to consider finding a new vet!
The canned Purina DM is around 6% carbs. We recommend feeding a diet of canned or wet food under 10% carbs. The Weruva you are using is somewhere around 3%, I think.
HERE is a link to a newly updated food chart that will tell you the amounts of protein, fat and carbs in many different cat foods.
I generally don't like to give dosing advice but, if Rollie was my kitty, I would probably hold him at his current bid dose for several days and see where his numbers go.