Vetsulin dosing Need Advise

Discussion in 'Caninsulin / Vetsulin and N / NPH' started by Diane Tyler's Mom, May 29, 2019.

  1. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Vetsulin dosing, need advice
    Discussion in 'Feline Health - (The Main Forum)' started by Mamakin, 56 minutes ago.

    Unwatch Thread
    1. [​IMG]
      Mamakin
      Joined:
      Sep 21, 2018
      Hi I'm Diane, Tyler's my boy, I don't have a spreadsheet because my tablet is old and won't support Google sheets, people on here have tried to help me but no luck.I started a thread under the title
      Alpha Trak 2 strips vs Freestyle Lite or FreestyleInsulinx test strips it's 2 pages.
      I just don't know what to shoot tonight. I would appreciate it if someone would take a look at it. He did go into remission for about a week, then back into the 200's. Sorry it's in bold letters, I don't know why.I guess it's in bold letters because I copied the title. Thanks so much
      I'm ready to shoot around 10 pm
      Don't know whether to stay with 0.5 skinny or go to 1 unit
      I guess I'll stay with 0.5 units since I haven't heard from anyone
      Sorry I just found the Vetsulin forum
      Last edited: 40 minutes ago
      56 minutes agoEditReport
      #1Re
     
  2. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hi has anyone seen this, wondering if I should increase dose this morning
     
  3. CandyH & Catcat

    CandyH & Catcat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    I saw it but am definitely not one experienced enough to give dose advice -- all I can pass along to you is what I've been advised == look for trends over time, rather than reacting on a dose-by-dose basis, realizing that we're only taking intermittent "snapshots" of the BG -- however, this was conveyed to me, since I'm still in the early stages of treatment, and it's apparent that Catcat is a bouncer, at least at the moment -- whereas you are flirting with remission (yay! :joyful:)

    I'm reading the experience of those using the Freestyle Libre, who are finding unexpected lows, often "missed" when doing routine ear sampling; clear to me that it's all more complicated than we know now --
     
  4. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Here are some of Tyler's numbers

    Alpha Trak 2 strips vs Freestyle Lite or Freestyle Insulinx test strips
    Discussion in 'Feline Health - (The Main Forum)' started by Mamakin, Apr 21, 2019.

    Page 2 of 2
    1. May 5, 2019Report
      #101LikeReply

    2. [​IMG]
    3. Mamakin
      Joined:rfMen'sMom. Good morning Linda
    4. Here are Tyler's numbers from last night giving 0.5 u
      Sunday 5-5-19
      9:00 pm - 196
      +2- 141 (midnight)
      +5 - 173 (3:00 am)


      Monday 5-6-19
      8:30 am- 136 I couldn't believe it when I saw it

      May 6, 2019EditDeleteReport
      #105Reply
      CandyH and Catcat likes this.
    5. [​IMG]
      MrWorfMen's Mom
      Joined:
      Feb 18, 2015
      Whoo Hoo! Loving that number. That is definitely too low for a shot so you both get a break today! :D



    6. Whoo Hoo! Loving that number. That is definitely too low for a shot so you both get a break today! :D
      You are too funny, I was so happy to see this number, his poor ears are so red from all the testing, I wonder why all of a sudden it's that low, I'm only going to test him tonight hoping I see a good number


    7. MrWorfMen'sMom, Hi Linda, how are you, Tested Tyler tonight
      Monday 5-6-19
      8:30 pm - 174 not that great but at least it's under 200 right, no insulin given

      Last edited: May 6, 2019

    8. MrWorfMen'sMom. Hi Linda Tyler's BG today
      Tuesday. 5-7-19
      8:30 am 140
      8:30 am - 146

      Last edited: May 15, 2019
      May 7, 2019EditDeleteReport
      #109Reply
      MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
    9. [​IMG]
      MrWorfMen's Mom
      Joined:
      Feb 18, 2015
      That's better. Hopefully he will continue this trend of lower BG. Fingers crossed. :D


    10. That's better. Hopefully he will continue this trend of lower BG. Fingers crossed. :D
      I hope so too, let's see what happens tonight


      MrWorfMen'sMom Hi Linda as you saw Tyler's BG this morning was
    11. Tuesday 5-7-19
      8:30 am - 140
      8:30 pm - 146



      Tuesday 5-8-19
    12. 8:30 AM - 182 did not give any insulin
      8:30 PM - 167 did not give any insulin


      Thursday 5-9-19
      8:30 AM - 236 gave 0.5 u
      +6 - 208

      8:30 PM - 192 gave 0.5 u

      Friday 5-10-19
      9:00 AM- 201 going to give 0.5 u again at 10:30 AM and will be test throughout the day and will post
      Just just tested so as I said he was
      9:00 AM - 201
      +3 - 145 ( 1:30 pm)
      +5-1/2- 156 (4:00 pm)


      9:00 PM - 211. Fed Tyler, waited 30 minutes then shot 0.5u at 10:00 pm
      I will test him a couple of times tonight
      +3-1/2- 131
      +6- 173


      MrWorfMen'sMom Hi tested Tyler
    13. Saturday 5-11-19
      9:00 AM - 239 should I give the 0.5u again
      I gave him 0.5u at 10:30 AM
      +3- 141

      Saturday 5-11-19
      9:00 PM - 200 gave 0.25 u




    14. MrWorfMen'sMom Hi Linda tested Tyler this morning
      Sunday 5-12-19
      10:00 AM 153. No Insulin given
      9:30 PM - 229 Will give 0.5 u at 10:00 PM and re test





    15. MrWorfMen'sMom
      Monday 5-13-19
      9:30 AM. - 154 NO insulin given




    16. MrWorfMen'sMom Hi Linda
      Tyler's BG for

      5-14-19 . Tuesday
      8:00 AM - 245 will give 0.5 u again and re test
      8:00 PM - 195 no insulin




    17. MrWorfMen'sMom. Hi Linda Tested Tyler this morning

      5-15-19 Wed
      8:00 AM - 258 going to give him 0.5 u
      Fed him and will shoot at 9:00 AM going by his BG starting from 5-7-19
      do you think I should stay with the 0.5 u

      +3- 129
      +6.5- 176

      5-15-19 Wed
      9:00 PM - 220 will shoot at 10:00 PM 0.5 u
      +2- 158





    18. 5-16-19
      9:00 AM - 196. No Insulin given
      9:00 PM - 223 gave 0.5 u



    19. 5-17-19
    20. AMPS. 209
      UNITS. 0.5

      PMPS. 259
      UNITS. 0.5. Let a few drops out of syringe
      +2- 190




    21. MrWorfMen'sMom Hi Linda
      5-18-19
      9:00 AMPS -. 277. Tyler's getting up there
      Will shoot at 10:30 AM. 0.5 U and re check
      Just getting upset that he's this high





    22. 5-18-19 Saturday
      9:00 AMPS was 277
      Gave 0.5 U
      +3 182

    23. How about checking him again at +4 to see if he's down any more or not. I'm just curious as to how low he is going on the 0.5u dose and his nadir may be before +6.
      Oh it's to late , I already checked at +6
      +6- 212





















    24. Mamakin
      Joined:
      Sep 21, 2018
      MrWorfMen'sMom hey Linda so here is where we left off
      5-18-19 Saturday
      9:00 AMPS - 277 shot 0.5 UNITS
      +3 - 182
      +6 - 212
      We think Tyler is likely reaching nadir before +6 in the cycle@MrWorfMen'sMom

      I just tested him at 8:00 PM he was begging to eat.
      5-18-19
      8:00 PMPS -213
      Going to shoot around 9:00 PM shot 0.5 UNITS
      I will test him at +2, +3, +4, and +6


      +2 - 172 ( 11:00 PM )
      +3 - 188. ( Midnight)
      +4 - 156 ( 1:00 AM)
      +6 - 203 ( 3:00 AM)


      5-19-19 SUNDAY
      9:00 AMPS - 273. - do you think I should stay with the 0.5 U
      I went with the 0.5U

      5-19-19. Sunday
      9:00 PMPS - 298 .going to feed him now and then wait 30 minutes then
      Will shoot, question is how much, as you can see I've been giving 0.5 U

      Shot 0.5U Again
      +2 - 278 I can't believe it didn't go down more than this
      Not even going to test anymore tonight
      Just so disgusted



      5-20-19. MONDAY
      AMPS - 286. Wondering how many Units to shoot
      This time I tried 1 U and twisted the plunger a little
      To let a few drops out
      +4 - 209

      5-20-19 Monday
      9:00 PMPS. 279
      Do you think I should try giving 1.05 Units?
      Had to shoot now so I went ahead and have 1.05 UNITS
      And will re test a few more times
      +2.05 - 197







    25. Mamakin
      Joined:
      Sep 21, 2018
      MrWorfMen'sMom hey Linda so here is where we left off
      5-18-19 Saturday
      9:00 AMPS - 277 shot 0.5 UNITS
      +3 - 182
      +6 - 212
      We think Tyler is likely reaching nadir before +6 in the cycle@MrWorfMen'sMom

      I just tested him at 8:00 PM he was begging to eat.
      5-18-19
      8:00 PMPS -213
      Going to shoot around 9:00 PM shot 0.5 UNITS
      I will test him at +2, +3, +4, and +6


      +2 - 172 ( 11:00 PM )
      +3 - 188. ( Midnight)
      +4 - 156 ( 1:00 AM)
      +6 - 203 ( 3:00 AM)


      5-19-19 SUNDAY
      9:00 AMPS - 273. - do you think I should stay with the 0.5 U
      I went with the 0.5U

      5-19-19. Sunday
      9:00 PMPS - 298 .going to feed him now and then wait 30 minutes then
      Will shoot, question is how much, as you can see I've been giving 0.5 U

      Shot 0.5U Again
      +2 - 278 I can't believe it didn't go down more than this
      Not even going to test anymore tonight
      Just so disgusted



      5-20-19. MONDAY
      AMPS - 286. Wondering how many Units to shoot
      This time I tried 1 U and twisted the plunger a little
      To let a few drops out
      +4 - 209

      5-20-19 Monday
      9:00 PMPS. 279
      Do you think I should try giving 1.05 Units@MrWorfMen'sMom
      Went ahead and gave 1.05 Units
      +2.05 - 197

      Last edited: May 21, 2019
      May 20, 2019EditDeleteReport
      #145Reply



    26. 5-21-19 Tuesday
      9:00 AMPS. - 202 .What do you think I should give, sorry
      I feel like a real pain in the you know what
      I will be ready to shoot at 10:30 am, or maybe I should
      just skip the dose since it's only 202
      Decided to skip the dose this morning, hope I did
      the right thing
      5-21-19
      9:00 AMPS 202. Did not shoot
      9:00 PMPS 274 Going to give 1.0 Units, a skin5-26-19. SUNDAY
    27. AMPS - 187 No Insulin given @@MrWorfMen's Mom
      PMPS - 203 Decided not to give insulin

      5-27-19. MONDAY
      AMPS- 201 No Insulin given
      PMPS - 295 Gave skinny 0.5 @@MrWorfMen's Mom
      +4 - 150


      5-28-19 . Tuesday
      AMPS - 289 Will give skinny 0.5 again @@MrWorfMen's Mom
      PMPS - 254 will give skinny 0.5 again

      5-29-18 WEDNESDAY
      AMPS - 213 gave 0.25 units @@MrWorfMen's Mom
      PMPS -. 263 gave 0.5 units Shot at 10:15 PM
      + 3.5 148. Actually tested him at 1:40 AM (Thurs)
      +4.5. 162 Actually tested him at 2:40 AM. (Thurs )

      Last edited: Today at 2:50 AM
      Saturday at 11:42 AMEditDeleteReport
      #152Reply


    28. 5-30-19 THURSDAY
      AMPS - 270 .WENT AHEAD Gave 0.75 u
    29. Will test
     
  5. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Thanks Candy
     

Share This Page