Vetsulin since March. No change in BG - at 450s.

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Kerrison, Jul 9, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kerrison

Kerrison New Member

Newbie here, though I've been dealing with a diabetes regimen for 5 months.
    I will appreciate any thoughts/support you might have.

I'll try to make this as brief as possible.

End of June last year, I adopted Seely, from the local SPCA. He came with a small weepy pore on the bridge of his nose but a clean bill of health from the SPCA. Seely is of unknown age and breed- though he looks/feels like a Russian Blue. Over 10 and a LARGE cat (leggy and long- and was underweight at the SPCA at 14 pounds. He's 17 now and healthy for his proportions.) He was being fed Friskies at the SPCA.

The pore on his nose turned into a nasty growth. My vet said "I don't think its cancer. Just get it removed when you can afford it." I was able to afford the surgery in February.

He made it out of surgery fine but they did blood before the surgery-- his pre-surgery BG was 300. This was on a 12 hour fast.
    This was after a 2 hour car ride to the surgical center, so I chalk most of that up to stress. But the Vet diagnosed him as Diabetic with that blood reading.

As well, the bioposy came back on his growth removal as Large Cell Lymphoma. I am not financially able to pursue Chemo plus - even if I did want to, I'd need to get his BG under control FIRST before they'd start treatment. Surgery did not get clean margins. The cancer is in his sinuses.

All of the diabetes symptoms occurred AFTER his surgery. They are, I believe, a reaction to the anesthesia. Pre surgery: He would request play for 3 hours every day, snuggle every night under the covers. Now he has NO energy to play at all - not even bat at a string, and he overheats to the point of sprawling on the hard-wood to cool his body. He cannot snuggle b/c he gets too hot.

Onto the diabetes...