Vienna Sausage?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Robbie Cochran, Sep 18, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Robbie Cochran

Robbie Cochran New Member

Is it ok to feed Vienna Sausage to my diabetic cat as a treat?

2. Tuxedo Mom

Tuxedo Mom Well-Known Member

Some vienna sausage contains sugar and garlic neither of which you would want to give to your kitty. Even some of the deli meats contain some sugar.

3. Robbie Cochran

Robbie Cochran New Member

I did look at the carbs on the can...I didn't even think to look at those types of ingredients. Thank you so much for this advice...I'm new at this-Sasha was diagnosed earlier this month. This forum has been a lifesaver

4. Tuxedo Mom

Tuxedo Mom Well-Known Member

I used home cooked oven baked chicken with no spices (especially onions or garlic) or roast..same thing..as treats. Occasionally a little bit of human tuna packed in water. There are some freeze dried treats that are low carb but I can't find the posts that discuss them. You could change your title to something like "Need advice on suitable low carb treats" and I am sure you will get some more ideas. With FD kitties we have to analyze and over re-analyze everything ;)

5. FurBabiesMama

FurBabiesMama Well-Known Member

I cook boneless, skinless chicken breasts using this simple method (except no salt or pepper). I cook a few breasts at a time then freeze all but one and keep that one in the refrigerator so I can grab it to pull off and shred a little whenever I need a treat. I also make chicken bone broth and freeze it in ice cube trays. I keep a Ziploc bag of them in the freezer so I can microwave one whenever I need it. I have also frozen the water from cans of tuna in ice cube trays to use the same way, but that I do/use very rarely; really, just if I am doing a full curve and want to throw in a couple of different testing treats so she does not lose interest.