? Waking me up at 4am each night

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by CassAndGordy(GA), Oct 1, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CassAndGordy(GA)

CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

Hello all!

As y'all know, I'm very new to all of this. So I want to pose a question...

Gordy (and my civvie Rex) have transitioned to mainly wet food brilliantly. They both love it and seem to be not interested in the dry as much. Since the diet is new (and I haven't gotten an autofeeder yet), I'm not sure I'm doing something wrong.

For the past 4 nights, I have been woken up by Gordy heaving up white foam. Now, of google gives me all SORTS of answers, one being that he may be hungry.

What I did nights #2 and #3, was give him a little bit of kibble (which he gladly ate). So for last night, I set the auto dry feeder to output a little bit of food at 2:30. I still got woken up :( (also, the food is still there)

He typically gets his shot around 5:30pm, so the 3:30-4:30 range could be his insulin wearing out??? I had spoken to the Vet yesterday on a different topic, so I asked about this. He doesn't seem to think that its necessarily an insulin-issue, but told me to keep track of it and let them know on Tuesday (he go for a checkup) if it keeps happening.

Has anyone ran into this? I am thinking it has to do with his feeding schedule AND the added meds, but I'm not sure.

(sorry if it reads as rambling... the sleep disruption is messing with me HAHA)

Last edited: Oct 1, 2016
  2. CassAndGordy(GA)

I should note... Now that I am testing, I am obviously keeping track of when he gets his shot. So I can see how that correlates.

Critter Mom likes this.
  3. Dyana

Dyana Well-Known Member

My kitty used to throw up clear or sometimes whitish foam around 4 or 5 am and it was because his tummy was empty and he was getting acid build up in his tummy because it was empty.