Walk me through hometesting for Phoebe please phase 5"

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by EricH., Aug 19, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    PMPS 307
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  2. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Hi Eric, yeah, I would just skinny up the 2.25 and let's see if that will give her a nice nadir and two shootable cycles. It would be a good idea for you to get a +2 to see how this cycle will go and a test before you go to bed also.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  3. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Bobbie l listed the skinny as 2.15u on Phoebe's spread sheet. Is that ok?
     
  4. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    That's fine. Just try to remember what that dose looked liked visually so you can recreate it.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  5. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +2 248
     
  6. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Glad you got the +2 which is lower so means this could be an active cycle. Could you get through her nadir which looks to be around +6? If she starts to drop lower and fast, give her some YA. If she gets too low ( getting towards 50) then add a few drops of honey or syrup on top of the YA. Usually dry food does not bring them up as fast as wet but the honey or syrup will help. If you need help and no one responds in ProZinc (not as active at night ) post in Health.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  7. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +6 won't be a problem.
    You mentioned l should give her YA if her numbers start to drop. I let Bobo and Phoebe free choice feeding as people have mentioned in this group as well as YA. Should l not be doing this?
     
  8. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    The YA instructions do say to let then free feed, that they will self adjust. But, if she is going low quickly, just make sure she is eating . The only problem with free feeding is that if she has eaten within two hours of you doing a pre shot test the number is being influenced by carbs.
     
  9. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    I've been picking her food up 2 hours before the PMPS. I prefer the free feedings. Before when Phoebe was on the vetsulin the vet had her on a 1/2 cup per day of the purina diabetic food. Phoebe seemed constantly hungry.
     
    Sharon14 and Bobbie And Bubba like this.
  10. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +6 197
     
  11. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    AMPS 360
     
  12. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    That's good, Eric Let's see where that dose brings her today
     
    EricH. likes this.
  13. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +4 166
     
  14. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Great! She might hit the Lagoon today! Are you able to test through the nadir at least to see how low she goes?
     
  15. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +5.75 117
     
  16. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    I have too leave the house for a few hours. I feel like I'm neglecting her by doing that. :(
     
  17. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    You are anything but neglectful Eric! You're a great bean to Phoebe and Bobo!:cat:
     
    EricH. likes this.
  18. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    A few hours and she'll be fine. just grab a test when you return. Then is she is going up, you'll know approximately when her nadir was compared to the last test you got before you left.
     
  19. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +8.75 116
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  20. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thank you Sharon! :)
     
  21. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Looks like a late nadir today nice numbers
     
    EricH. likes this.
  22. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    PMPS 253
     
  23. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    We all have to leave sometimes. Grocery shopping, other errands...heck even getting out and having fun sometimes! You test all the time and take good care of Phoebe...give yourself a break sometimes. :)
     
    EricH. likes this.
  24. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Eric, we all know how you feel - once the cat starts responding to insulin like Phoebe has, it can be almost paralyzing to plan your life. After more than a year with Murphy doing this sugar dance, I am starting to realize that I have to have a life. you are doing an amazing job, and we are all SO happy for you
    Go out and have fun
     
    EricH. likes this.
  25. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thank you Rachel and Carol.
     
  26. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    How much testing should l do and when is enough enough? I went from September 2015 to July of 2016 without never testing. That was because l never knew any of this. ie. The vet had her on vetsulin and just said thats all you need. How wrong that was! I guess after almost losing Phoebe last month of afraid of a relapse. This is all still new to me.
     
  27. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I think it's fine to get two pre shot tests (always) and a nadir( whenever you can). Then a curve every so often

    Getting more tests is an option, good data, but as others have said, you get to have a life!
     
    EricH. and Bobbie And Bubba like this.
  28. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Yep, preshots are needed...nadirs are good. Curves are more of an every now and then thing.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  29. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Eric, you do what you can to keep Phoebe safe and anything more is extra. I was very lucky that I was home all day taking care of my 89 year old mother so I could test often and run Bubba really low but, I understand that is just not possible for everyone. So, keep on doing the best you can and that is all you can ask for. Phoebe is lucky that you are her bean. :cat:
     
    EricH. likes this.
  30. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +3.5 208
     
  31. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    That's a nice recovery after a food hike. Looks she will have a blue surf tonight for sure. :cool:
     
    EricH. likes this.
  32. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    I'm hoping!
     
  33. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +9.5 218
     
  34. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    AMPS 245
     
  35. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Almost last night's pmps - she's really stabilizing on prozinc, Eric. You're both doing great
     
    EricH. likes this.
  36. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Awww...thank you Carol!
     
  37. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +6 83
    :cat:
     
    Ruby&Baco and Sharon14 like this.
  38. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    okay, you are going to want to get in more tests this afternoon, Eric, to make sure she doesn't get too low. If it were me (and I am a chicken plus I always wanted to avoid a bounce if possible) I'd feed a little either now or if she continues to drop, but others may say just watch her.
     
  39. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Yes l planned on checking her in an hour.
     
  40. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    How am l supposed to avoid the bounce?
     
  41. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Hi Eric,

    I'm a new member to FDMB as of last Wednesday. I went for 6 months of never testing AMPS and PMPS, running a full BG curve once a week and following my vet's recommendation after she looked at the curve data. It was better than no testing but I feel that I would have made better, faster progress with my cat, Teasel, if I had been on here doing things the FDMB way from the beginning. Oh well, better late than never.

    Like you, I have a cat that is starting respond to the ProZinc and have had a few (scary-ish) low numbers. I knew I'd need to be coached and supported through this phase so I became a FDMB member. I also worry about what impact each shot is having and whether I should leave the house to do other things. It's easier when they're high and not straying much from there. THIS is when it gets tense. However, I see that we're on the way to better numbers so I'll do what it takes. Hang the $$$ cost of the test strips! A stay in the hospital for a hypo episode would be much more expensive.
     
    Carol & Murphy (GA) and EricH. like this.
  42. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +7 120
     
  43. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    I'll respond too this. House duties at the moment lol
     
  44. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Wow, Phoebe is looking good today! Did you steer with food or is that +7 test just a normal heading back up?
     
    EricH. likes this.
  45. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Did you feed Phoebe between +6 and +7? In any case, it's good you don't have to worry about anything this afternoon
    Regarding avoiding bounces, I don't think there is really anything you can do, but by keeping them in higher green numbers, maybe her liver won't freak out and thus you can avoid the bounce - the lower they go, the higher the likelihood of a bounce
     
    EricH. likes this.
  46. Ruby&Baco

    Ruby&Baco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    WOEEHOOEEEEE GO PHOEBE!!!Show how it's done little mama! 83! :D:D:D
     
    EricH. likes this.
  47. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +9 218
     
  48. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Since Phoebe and Bobo started eating YG I'm letting them FCAF. But l was thinking about getting them back on a schedule. What's everyone think of that? She did eat between +6 and +7 l noticed.
     
  49. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    She's doing great!
     
  50. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Rachel that's just a normal since brought her dosage down from 2.25 too 2.15 or in that neighborhood.
     
  51. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Hi Kris! My Phoebe went DKA on July 2nd. That's when l found this wonderful group. I never knew it existed nor did l know it was necessary! Phoebe is alive and doing great now thanks to everyone here! I wasn't prepared or educated too feline diabetes. My Vet told me in September 2016 just give her 4.0 units of vetsulin once a day and that was it. WRONG. I'm lucky Phoebe survived that horrible advice. I'm lucky l found this group. I'm WAY MORE prepared now.
     
  52. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Yes, this is a great group! BTW, Phoebe is a very cute girl - reminds me of my two female orange tabbies I had some years ago, Ginger and Cinnamon. It's obvious that you love her a lot. Yeah, I know, guys don't like to talk that way ...
     
    EricH. likes this.
  53. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Oh Phoebe and Bobo mean the world to me. I'm not embarrassed too admit it! They're family.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba and Sharon14 like this.
  54. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    PMPS 292
     
  55. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +3 200
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  56. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Nice drop!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  57. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    She's just doing so great
     
    EricH. likes this.
  58. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    AMPS 307
     
  59. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Not too bad, almost yellow. I'm sure she was at least blue last night, so it's all good!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  60. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +10 233
     
  61. AbyResq

    AbyResq Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Wow, I just looked at your spreadsheet. You're doing such a great job with her!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  62. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thank you Aby!
     
  63. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Ugly red preshot, but she's coming down nicely @+3.5.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  64. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    AMPS 328
     
  65. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Her SS looks great, Eric. Don't worry about a couple of higher numbers. I wish Teasel would respond as well as Phoebe does. I've been all over the map with him!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  66. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +10 101
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  67. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thanks Kris! Good luck with Teasel! I wish l could get her to eat wet food again. But l'm happy with the results from the Young Again.
     
  68. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    PMPS 258
     
  69. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Nice day, she may have hit green @nadir!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  70. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    That's what l was thinking. I think I'll keep doing what I've been doing with her.
     
  71. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +5 152
     
  72. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Phoebe was 404 at AMPS this morning! Nice cycle.
     
  73. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +7.5 166
     
  74. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    PMPS 367
     
  75. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +4 212
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  76. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Come on down Phoebe, you look much nicer in blue and green! Do you see a difference in how she feels when she's blue/green vs pink/red?
     
  77. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Looks like we posted at the same time! Glad she's coming down- She looks so good!
     
  78. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Even though she hit pink/red today she was doing great. She was playing with her toys and smacking Bobo hahaha! She's one of the most playful cats I've ever had even as she gets older.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  79. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    AMPS 338
     
  80. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Good Morning Eric ~ Glad Phoebe is playing and doing well. She should have cleared the bounce from the 21st. Maybe a little more juice? @Sue and Oliver (GA) and @Rachel what do y'all think?
     
  81. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    I think she hit green on the 23rd too. Eric wasn't home to get a nadir test, but the 101@+10, hints at it.
     
  82. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    You might be right.
     
  83. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Interesting that she doesn't gradually lower the preshots, but every so often you get a nice yellow. I agree she is likely a bouncy cat.

    You could try a little higher dose for the higher preshots. -maybe above 350 - and keep your present dose for preshots below that? See if that brings her down a little lower overall without making the bouncing worse? Maybe 2.25 for the higher preshots.
     
    Sharon14 and Bobbie And Bubba like this.
  84. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    277 @ +9.5
     
  85. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Should l up her too 2.25 at 530pm
     
  86. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    PMPS 335
     
  87. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    I see you increased to 2.25. Will be interesting to see how that does.:cat: Remember if she is lower @PS time give the lower dose, like Sue said above.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  88. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +4 244
     
    Rachel likes this.
  89. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    AMPS 221
     
  90. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Nice AMPS! According to Sues recommendations, give the previous dose of 2.15
     
  91. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    I gave her 2.25 this morning
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  92. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +9.75 177
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  93. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    PMPS 285
     
  94. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    AMPS 163
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  95. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Nice! You shot this dose at 188 on 8/15. Are you going to skinny the dose ? And can you test today?
     
    EricH. likes this.
  96. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Good morning Bobbie. Should l shoot her at 2.0u or 2.15u?
     
  97. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Can you monitor her today?
     
  98. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Yes
     
  99. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Good, I think I would try the 2.15 as long as you have plenty of supplies higher carb food on hand if you should need it and get a +2 and see how the cycle will go.
     
  100. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Doesn't matter what l have when the only thing she'll eat is YA. That's the scary issue here with her. So maybe l should just give her a dose of 2.00u too be safe.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page