Walter - my new diabetic foster kitty

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Mandarin'sMom, Sep 12, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mandarin'sMom

Mandarin'sMom Well-Known Member

Even though I am not technically a new member, I wanted to introduce my new sugar cat: Walter. I originally joined this forum last fall after my cat Mandarin was diagnosed with diabetes. Luckily, Mandarin was able to go OTJ soon after I switched his food to canned food only and started him on ProZinc.

My new sugar cat, Walter, is a foster for a local rescue. He was returned last year and diagnosed with diabetes when he started losing a lot of weight at the shelter. At the time (January 2015), the shelter vet started him DM food (both dry and canned). After a few months on the DM food, they did a Fructosamine test, which showed extremely high numbers (well over 500). The vet then started him on Glipizide (which also didn’t help). After much back and forth, Walter was put on Lantus in August 2015, but the shelter decided that they could only do Inulin injections ONCE a day (at night, anywhere between 4:30 and 9pm). They never tested his glucose levels and never tested for Ketones.

Since I already knew a little bit about Diabetes, was familiar with testing and have another cat that is now a diet controlled diabetic, I decided to take Walter into foster to make sure that he would finally get the care he so desperately needed. He came home with me on Thursday night (after he already had his Insulin dose at the shelter). My plan is to take him off the DM food and transition him to Friskies Pates. And I will start doing Insulin twice a day. The vet told me that I could safely do 2 units twice a day, but when I saw his low number Friday morning (71!), I decided it wasn’t safe to give Insulin. Instead, I have started him on 1 unit twice a day.