We are ok

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Silvina, Dec 17, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Silvina

    Silvina Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Hello all!!

    This sat Markies will have his dental surgery.

    I need your advise. Im very concerned about the car ride that really stresses him a lot (for so far he survived all car rides).

    Then, what would be the best dosing schedule? I just talked to the vet and told me that surgery requires 12 hours fasting, but if he is very much hungry he can go with 8 hours fasting.

    I will try to make him fast as much as possible but it will be difficult. He will jump on top of me as he usually does when Im sleeping and he is hungry. Will be a hard night but for a good reason.

    His schedule is 1 AM / 1 PM. We are on 1.25 units of Levemir.

    Any suggestion?

    Silvi
     
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    When Max had his dental as a diabetic, I was told to skip the morning dose. He had no food after midnight and I dropped him off at 7:30. He was the first dental and my vet generally gets in at 8:30. What is very important is that it be done quickly, the right anesthesia given preferably gas (I don't know about induction as my vet has different views on that), that blood pressure is carefully watched, and that he is kept warm. I believe there is a thread on this but I'm not sure. Check the where can I find list. I'm sorry but I can't advise on the car ride as I'm just minutes from my vet without traffic. I hope all goes well and you get some more responses about your concerns.
     
    Silvina likes this.
  3. Silvina

    Silvina Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    thank you Tiff!!! I have to review on of my own threads that we also talked about this, or maybe it was in the facebook group.
     
  4. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    When China had her two dentals, we skipped the morning of and then made decisions on the dose in the evening based on her numbers

    Anesthetic can cause the numbers to run a little low, as well as Markies may not eat normally that night, so I'd just skip the AM dose at 01:00, take him in for the dental in the morning, and once he's home again, test and see how he's eating and post for dose suggestions then
     
  5. Silvina

    Silvina Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    perfect, so last dosing will be tomorrow 1PM, then skip the 1AM, then surgery at 9 AM, and according to vet, he can eat 5 hours after surgery.
    Ok we will see then,

    THank you CHris!!

    Silvi
     
  6. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Good luck with the dental! For most of Neko's dentals she has done a 1/2 of her regular dose in the morning - but I would follow what the vets suggests. Test Markies when he gets home, so you know if he's dropping down into shot time. Some, but not all, types of anesthesia drugs can lower blood sugar. You also want of feed only a little bit at a time when he gets home as anesthesia can impact the GI tract too. If you have something soft like all meat babyfood, that may be easy on him if he has teeth extracted. Or you may just need to water down his regular food.

    Here is Sienne's post on dentals:
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/information-on-dental-procedures-pictures-included.66905/
     
    Silvina likes this.
  7. Silvina

    Silvina Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Thank you Wendy!! Im reading it now!! awesome material.!
     
  8. Silvina

    Silvina Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    We are +3.5 and his GC is 149, little low for being just +3.5
    I might have missed finding the right dose with the syringe.

    Will get up 8 AM (im still awake, its 4.45 AM now).

    Silvi
     
  9. Grayson & Lu

    Grayson & Lu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Good luck with the dental Silvi - Happy Dental Vines to Markies! Hopefully all is going well for you both!
     
    Silvina likes this.
  10. Silvina

    Silvina Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Thank you so much Grayson!!!
     
  11. jayla-n-Drevon

    jayla-n-Drevon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    When I had a consult with a vet in Cali-(she took over Dr Hodgkins and she is not is of the exact same beliefs as Dr H) she said if I was to get a dental --for her diabetics she tells them to change nothing-regular dose-regular food-she monitors very close and of course runs fluids--she also checks bg very 10-20 minutes during surgery-
    my 2 cents :) good luck!
     
    Silvina likes this.
  12. rhiannon and shadow (GA)

    rhiannon and shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    many of us have the vet put no metacam and no convenia on our chart to remind them that we don't want those medications.

    ask for bupenorphine for pain if there are any extractions.....
     
    jayla-n-Drevon and Silvina like this.
  13. Silvina

    Silvina Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    good info, they use here meloxicam, which is the metacam... why you say they should't?
    I have tramadol at home, do you think is ok?
     
  14. rhiannon and shadow (GA)

    rhiannon and shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    tramadol is okay too especially if you used it successfully before.....
    my GA got disphoric on that one...
     
    Silvina likes this.
  15. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I have no metacam and no convenia on my cat's charts. Metacam has a Black Box Warning by the FDA and Convenia is an antibiotic that is an injection that lasts for 2 weeks (or more) that lots of vets use because people then don't have to give pills or liquids. The problem with Convenia is if your cat happens to get a severe adverse reaction to it, you can't get it out of the cat.
    I had to travel far for J.D.'s 2nd dental, and I just waited at the hospital until he was done and ready to go home.
    He was 18, and so I had a Cardiologist appointment at 8:00am where he got an echocardiogram to make sure his heart was okay for anesthesia and surgery, and then we met with the Anesthesiologist at 9:00am to go over his issues and any questions or concerns I had. Both of those appointments put my mind at ease.

    Sending good dental vines to Markies, tomorrow.
     
    Silvina likes this.
  16. Silvina

    Silvina Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    what I hate from Tramadol is that it taste horrible and it's really difficult to administrate. I have to use a syringe and he fights me.
     
  17. Silvina

    Silvina Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Thank you dear!!!
    Markies was supposed to have restrictive cardiomiopathy but after an ultrasound some days ago, the cardiologist said that his heart looks normal so I thinke we are ok with that.
    About Convenia, I do remember that people from the different groups and forums don't recommend it, anyway, here in Argentina is very expensive so they usually don't prescribe it. I will ask for a regular antibiotic. Actually I have to remember to tell him not to give any abs shot sine Markies had a horrible sore after Baytril shot.

    Thank you for all your recomendatios and good vibes!!!

    PS: how much fasting did the vet told you?
     
  18. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I was to stop feeding from midnight on. I did not give him his insulin in the AM. If I remember right he was going under anesthesia at around 10:30am.
     
    Silvina likes this.
  19. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I have had different advice from different vets. Two of them have told me no food after midnight and 1/2 dose in the morning. A dental specialist said only 1/3 of her breakfast before 6AM and 1/2 dose. But I have given less than 1/2 dose if her number was low in the morning. So, different vets have different expectations. I would go with what your vet suggests because that is what they will expect.
     
    Silvina likes this.
  20. Silvina

    Silvina Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Thank you all!!! I apreciate your advise and experiences so much!!

    Will get you posted. I will write back when Im back from surgery arround 12 PM I guess.

    Silvi
     
  21. Silvina

    Silvina Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Please help!!! Need to know if markies needs rapid when we arribe home. He left surgery with glucoe HI.
    Aneatesia was gas isofluorano and local lidocaine
     
  22. Silvina

    Silvina Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Please help!!! Need to know if markies needs rapid when we arribe home. He left surgery with glucoe HI.
    Aneatesia was gas isofluorano
     
  23. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I would wait for him to settle down. Anesthesia can lower BG and the last thing you may want to be dealing with is numbers dropping if Markie doesn't feel like eating or he scarfs and barfs. A few hours in high numbers is not awful.
     
    jayla-n-Drevon and Silvina like this.
  24. Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

    Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I don't know.

    Did your vet say anything about that at all? Are you still at the vet?
     
    Silvina likes this.
  25. Marycatmom

    Marycatmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Many people find that their cat's BG dives when they get home.
     
    Silvina likes this.
  26. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Being high for a day isn't likely to be a problem for most cats. Some of that is likely to be stress and some of it is not giving insulin in the morning.
    Take a deep breath and check some of the Secondary Monitoring Tools in my signature.
    How is he behaving? Post-anesthesia, many cats are lethargic, groggy, and have difficulty standing and walking, so find him a safe place to rest where he can't try to jump or use stairs.
    Is he eating? Drinking? Those suggest he is recovering from the procedure.
    Has he urinated successfully? IV fluids often provoke more urination.
    Is he 'meatloafing' - crouched, hunched up, not moving? That suggests he feels sick or is in pain. Anesthesia may upset the stomach for some cats.
    Is he cold (anesthesia can drop the body temperature)? A towel or blanket may help him get warmer.
     
    Silvina likes this.
  27. Silvina

    Silvina Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Thank you guys we are back home i tested and he was 298 so i gave him his regular shot. I will feed him and will go to bed. It was so stressing. All that happened in january when he was hospitalized came to my mind.... but i think we are safe now. Thank you!!!
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2015
  28. Silvina

    Silvina Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015

    Thank you BJM for all your info and questions.
    They on purpose gave gas anesthesia so he could recover immediately. And he did. He looks totally normal, he already ate a little. He is perfectly fine.
    I will read your signature.

    Thank you!!
     
    Anne & Zener GA likes this.
  29. Silvina

    Silvina Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    it seems that this is what happened today!
     
  30. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I'd get a test or two in tonight, in case his BG's keep coming down. Is he eating OK? Any extractions needed?

    ETA: My Neko had a couple of days of anesthesia last month and hit blacks in the evening. She recovered overnight.
     
    jayla-n-Drevon and Silvina like this.
  31. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    I'm glad that Markies is home and hope that he will have a comfortable-enough night. Many healing vines for him.

    Ella & Rusty
     
  32. Silvina

    Silvina Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Thank you dears!!!

    Wendy, please, remind me what means ETA, I should edit what? the title?

    I will test him tonight, and I see that GC is little low, surprisingly. If he was without insulin, if his is in pain, I was imagining that hig GC was going to be up.

    Anestesia was Gas and the local lidocaine. I know for sure that he extracted one canine tooth (in Spanish colmillo), then he told me that he filled some tooth and that the most important thing is that he has tooth resorption, and that this probably will cause that in a copule of months or so he may have some problems with other teeth. He said we should check every 6 months.

    He didn't give me any antibiotic and I had to ask about pain meds, he was not prescribing me any. Is this normal?

    About ABS I don't care, Markies had so many and Im not sure he will have any benefit from them (but I can't tell if this extraction manipulation can require ABS) but Im surprised about pain meds, that I did insist in that, if I didn't aks, he wouldn't have told me.

    After he told me all this, I sent him an email asking to write down all he did and asking for the pictures (I asked him to take pictures at least from the previous state).

    This is it girls.. Thank you for helping me.

    I need to share with you my thoughts. I am feeling that Markies is progresively not needing insuline. I know that I have to wait some days to wear off anestesia and all related to the dental, but he had two insulin reductions this month (or three, don't remember) so Im feeling that we are getting close to semission??

    Do you think we can be close?

    Silvi
     
  33. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    ETA means edited to add, or something I added after I first posted the note.

    Neko has some tooth resorption too, it's quite common in middle aged cats. It may depend on what needed to be done whether antibiotics are needed. Neko did for her dentals, but she had some deep dental pockets. But my other cat did not for a tooth he had extracted. Usually there is some pain medication given after extractions. Is it possible the vet gave an pain medication by injection?
     
    Silvina likes this.
  34. Silvina

    Silvina Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Thanks.
    I talked to him about tramadol. I remember one of you told me not to give him Meloxicam and I asked about Tramadol, and he was ok with that.


    Thank you Jayla! I just read your posting!
     
  35. Silvina

    Silvina Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    lol ETA A MESSAGE ABOVE!! LOL
     
  36. Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

    Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    SO happy that things are going well. No one likes dentals. :( But afterward, the animals often feel so much better, we wonder why we didn't think of doing a dental sooner.
     
    Silvina likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page