Webber starting insulin at vet--fasting?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by paige, Dec 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. paige

paige Well-Known Member

We are starting the insulin injections tomorrow at 8am at the vets office. They said they will take his glucose ~every 3 hours. Last week, one of the techs told me that he should be fasting when I bring him in. But tonight I started thinking.......if they are going to be giving him the insulin and checking every three hours, wouldn't they want him to come in and start at the level he will normally be every morning (in other words - not fasting)?

Did anyone else have their vet start with the shots and ask that the cat be fasting when you brought them in?

2. Amy and Six

Amy and Six Well-Known Member

Paige -

I have never heard of this, but I am no expert. The vet will want Webber to eat before giving him his shot and get a BG before the first shot...

I've never been asked to have Six fast (or a GA DC) before going in for a curve. Not sure if that helps or not. Hopefully someone with more knowledge will see your post.

Do you know what kind of insulin your vet plans on using?

Do you plan on testing at home?

Good luck to Webber tomorrow! Sending him good vet vibes!

3. paige

paige Well-Known Member

Thank you Amy for the good vibes. I know I will be a basket case at work. I told the vet that I wanted to start him on Lantus and she happily called in the script for me. I am taking that with Webber to the vet. Unfortunately my mom is a diabetic so I was able to get her old glucometer, so yes I will be testing at home.

I think I am going to NOT fast him. I always feel better going with my gut with these things and so far it has always shown to be true. But we shall see.

4. Larry and Kitties

Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member