We're back... unfortunately.

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Aly & Sparky, Feb 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Aly & Sparky

Aly & Sparky Member

Firstly, I want to say hi to any old members here that remember us.

It's been five years since Sparky went into remission.

Last night, I noticed that Sparky was looking thin. His breath smelled bad. Then I heard him go into the litter box and pee the longest pee.

I'm a veteran at this. I know it's back. I'm going this morning to the pharmacy to buy some test strips and keto sticks, but I already know what they will say. I know Sparky well. I've seen this before.

Even though I know I have the information and know how to handle this, I already feel emotionally drained. He's older now, and I don't recall ever hearing about a cat going into remission twice. I'm really really bummed.

I'll post his numbers later this morning after I get a good reading. I can't thank this board enough for the support I got so many years ago, and I look to you all now again for the strength to go through this all again. Welcome back into my life, FDMB.

UPDATE: after getting the strips I have come to find that my trusty five year old OneTouch is not working. I'm not having a good morning!

2. Carolynn FletcherGA & RobbieGA

Carolynn FletcherGA & RobbieGA Member

Hi Alyson! Sorry you're back, but it's good to hear from you.

Probably the biggest change you'll find is in insulins. Many cats are now on Lantus or Levemir. There's a new PZI called ProZinc that seems to be working well, too. Check out all the stickies in the insulin group forums for info on them. And of course, get Sparky checked out with an exam and cbc/chem with a thyroid level, and have his teeth looked at (I know you know this, but just reminding you!).