what am I doing wrong?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by emma_and_cherie, Sep 24, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. emma_and_cherie

emma_and_cherie New Member

Hello all, I am not new to FDMB but this is my first post, I am relatively new to lantus. Emma has been diagnosed diabetic for over a year but was on vetsulin until 9/5/14 I started lantus to give Emma a better chance of being more regulated and I am very happy so far her peaks aren't as high and she is more level but I still think that I am missing something, what dose should she be at? I can hardly see the difference between 1/2 units so I don't think that I could do increments of .25! I hope that I shared my spreadsheet right? If any one has any advice I would really appreciate help cause I am starting to get frustrated and feel like I am doing it all wrong! Thank you! https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... cslist_api

2. MommaOfMuse

MommaOfMuse Well-Known Member

Re: what all I don't wrong?

Hi Cherie,

Got a couple quick questions for you. What was Emma's last best dose on Vetsulin? Also it looks like you are using both a Relion and an Alphtrak meter, which one is the readings in your spreadsheet from? Also what is her current diet?

The one thing that does jump out at me right off is that your doing a lot of dose jumping lately. With the depot insulins like Lantus and Levemir consistancy is the key, it wants the same dose given as close to 12/12 as humanly possible. Typically we hold a dose 5 days here because we tend to spot check less frequently than they do in Tight Regulation.

I'm kinda flying in and out right now as I'm doing the morning chores (16 litter boxes, kitty dishes, and general housework..lol) But I will keep an eye out for you and see if we can get your precious Emma straightened out and flying right, just please forgive me if it takes me awhile to get back to you. :D

Mel and The Fur Gang

3. tibbs5

tibbs5 Well-Known Member