What do you think, increase dose a little?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by RockyRoo, Dec 23, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RockyRoo

RockyRoo New Member

He's peeing more than he was and it doesn't look like he's dropping too low...

I was thinking up to 2 units vetsulin?

2. Kate & Toby

Kate & Toby Member

Sorry nobody has replied, it's a bit quiet at the moment because if the holidays.

Dose increases should be made in .25iu at a time. I see from your spreadsheet that you change dose quite frequently, depending which method you are following you need to hold doses for at least 6 cycles before changing dose.

I'm not experienced with your insulin to suggest dose changes so hopefully someone will be along shortly.

3. RockyRoo

RockyRoo New Member

Thanks for the advice. I do change it sometimes since we are adjusting to low carb food and I'm afraid of giving him too much. Sometimes if the PS number is lowish and I have to leave for work and can't watch him, I'll give him less. Or my petsitter doesn't want to check his blood, so I tell them to do less. What do you mean by cycle? Like one 24 hr period?

4. Kate & Toby

Kate & Toby Member

Hey Allison, a cycle is a 12 hour period. I understand what you're saying, and like I said your insulin is different because it's in and out again within 12 hours, so maybe it's different. Its certainly a juggling act. Let's keep your post bumped up the list in hope of a reply. You could also amend the thread title to include a (?) To get more attention x

5. MrWorfMen's Mom

MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member