What happens when you have to miss a dose?

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by SamsonsMom, Apr 30, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SamsonsMom

SamsonsMom Member

Hey, I'm a newbie whose cat was just Dx'd a few days ago and will start PZI 1 unit/2x day later this week. I work from home and have a flexible schedule, so overall the shots will not pose a problem, but there are some days where I simply will have to miss a shot and there's no way around it: for example, afternoons when I babysit from 3 pm to 11 pm. In that case, Samson would get his AM shot but not his PM shot. How do I approach this? Is it better to skip his PM shot altogether instead of giving it late? Do I give a smaller dose of insulin as a PM shot? Or skip it and give a larger dose the next morning? Or skip it and give his regular dose the next morning? Please help. And thanks!

2. Djamila

Djamila Well-Known Member

When are his shot times in relation to the babysitting times? Meaning: how far off will it be?

3. Yong & Maury GA

Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

Welcome to Prozinc! You did not manage to get away from me :p What time are his shots?

4. Yong & Maury GA

5. SamsonsMom

SamsonsMom Member

Haha, hi Yong! Well I haven't started the treatment yet but I'm assuming the schedule will be something like 8:30 am/8:30 pm. So on babysitting days the dose would have to wait until at least 11:30 pm (3 hrs. off)

6. Djamila

How often do you babysit? Anyone else live with you? It's not great to miss shots, so I'm just looking for any and all options.

7. Yong & Maury GA

Would you be able to change morning shot time to like 11:30am?

Djamila likes this.
  8. Djamila

Oh, and also have you been able to do any BG tests at home yet?

9. SamsonsMom

SamsonsMom Member