When should I increase dose?

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Jen and Alfie, Jun 18, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jen and Alfie

Jen and Alfie Member

Alfie is on his second day of Prozinc.

I'm delighted with the readings I got yesterday, he came down much more gently and stayed down for a nice long time. He also seemed more like his old self and less zoned out. :)Fingers crossed I'll see the same today.

My question is, how long should I hold him at 2 units before increasing? And what should his next dose be, 2.25U or 2.5U?

Also, out of interest as I'm new to using syringes rather than the vet pen, which bit of the marking on the syringe do people take as the mark? Do you pull the plunger to the front, middle or back or the marking line (if that makes sense?!). I'm going to the back of the unit mark line.

2. Kris & Teasel

Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

I'm glad you got to see the benefits of ProZinc yesterday. :)

You can increase after 3 cycles on a dose that's too low. That's where you are right now. Once you're in better BG territory you'll be holding a dose longer to see its full effect.

We recommend increases of 0.25 u at a time so you don't accidentally zoom past a good dose. You can eyeball these on a syringe that has half unit marks fairly easily. Just be consistent over time.

You decide what your idea of a full/half unit it is and stick with that. Consistency is more important that absolute accuracy. Personally, I find it easiest to use the top or bottom edge of a mark line rather than the middle.

Re syringes: ProZinc is a U40 insulin so you're using U40 syringes. Later on, you have the option of using U100 syringes and a conversion chart so you can measure out even smaller fractions of a dose. We can discuss that later. :)

Have a look at the ProZinc stickies to learn more about dosing, etc. Ask any questions you have.

Last edited: Jun 18, 2017
    Yong & Maury GA, Rachel and Djamila like this.
  3. Djamila