White-coat syndrome?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Kris & Motska (GA), May 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kris & Motska (GA)

Kris & Motska (GA) Member

I am new to the FDMB, but my cat Motska has been diabetic for the past year-and-a-half. My vet has rather discouraged me from doing home testing -- partially because he says it is stressful for the cat, and he didn't think it would help things much since I can just bring her in for tesing (at $25 each time), but also because we weren't sure I could do it. (I have a tendency to faint at the sight of needles and blood -- the first time I did her insulin at the vet's office, I came very close to passing out.)

So I haven't been testing at home, but I really think I need to. When I take her to the vet to check her fasting bg, it's usually somewhere in the 300's, so each time, he has suggested increasing her Vetsulin by 1/2 unit (yes - we do know about the halt in production -- we're currently debating what to do next with the insulin). We had her up to 3.5 units, and 5 days later she appeared to go hypo (lethargy and facial "ticks"). I was prepared, and she came around, and we (vet & I) dropped her to 2 units for a while. After weekly testing at the vet (always in the 300's), she gradually went back up to 3 units of Vetsulin. 4 days later she went hypo again. So we started over at 2 units and now have her at 2.5 units.

I asked the vet about the possibilty that her "white-coat syndrome" is giving us a bg reading that is WAY off from how she truly is at home and that we may be overdosing her insulin because of it. He stated that it would only throw off her bg reading by maybe 20-40 points, because she's used to the vet visits by now. I'm not so sure.

So my questions are: how much can white-coat syndrome throw off a cat's bg readings? 40 points? 100 points? 200 points?