Wondering if I should give reduced .25 or none at all?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Oldcatlady, Aug 5, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Oldcatlady

Oldcatlady New Member

Day 2 home from boarding at vet. Continuing the .5 she has been getting in the morning for about a week now. Because yesterday she was at 44 at noontime, I was going to only give .25 this morning. Just checked her before feeding and she was 126. Checked again, 118. I'm thinking of holding off on any shot. I am in a similar situation as Cheryl, I'm going to be gone most of the day, no guarantee I can run home at lunch today, so won't be back until after 5 pm. Here's my spreadsheet. Pay attention from 7/28 on as that is when she started being more stable....thanks. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... _web#gid=0

2. dirtybirdsoaps

dirtybirdsoaps Member

I have no experience with Lantus, but that is a normal number. If your not going to be home to monitor, Id stay on the safe side and not give a shot.

3. Oldcatlady

Oldcatlady New Member

Update. Thought about it some more, reviewed the Lantus page. Decided to try a very low amount. Put the plunger on a half unit syringe at the very top of syringe line, it could be a little less than .25 measure. Then realized it was about 7:20 am after she ate so hurried and took her BG right away, it was 139, so was beginning to rise after eating at about 6:40 am. I'll check again about 8:15 before I leave. I'll make a point of making it home mid day check.

4. Elizabeth and Bertie

Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

I'd have suggested no shot because those are normal numbers.

But you have given a reduced shot now.
    If it were my cat I would certainly want to get a test in at around 2 hours after the shot. That can often give an indication of how 'active' a cycle is likely to be (ie, how much of a drop you might expect).

(Just going to have a look at your kitty's SS)

Eliz